We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find”

47 King Street West Restaurant, Bar & Tea Rooms
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great find”
Reviewed November 9, 2013 via mobile

Having been exasperated by terrible service at San Carlos, we visited 47 across the road. Welcomed at the door, table set up within a few minutes. We went for lunch which was excellent accompanied by very good wine. Had two courses, steak cooked perfectly for me, medium rare and my wife had vegetarian option. Service friendly - San Carlos could learn a lot from their neighbour.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank William B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

838 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    502
    183
    74
    40
    39
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Superb Afternoon Tea”
Reviewed November 9, 2013

As a treat ibooked Afternoon Tea here for a friend's birthday. It was an excellent experience. The staff were excellent, the venue spotlessly clean and, all round, the service was faultless.
The food was delicious. Initially I thought the portion seemed small but as we worked our way through the sandwiches and cakes I was proven wrong. They have balanced the portion size of the great food to mean that we left feeling very/pleasantly full.
All in all, it was worth every penny

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MrMault
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancs
Level Contributor
47 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Excellent first visit”
Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

We visited this restaurant for the first time as a party of four as part of the £25 per head plus glass of Prosecco offer. Warm welcome was awaiting us. Service was efficient and unrushed. Food was a very good standard, scallop dish was the favourite starter and the lamb main won the most praise. We liked the fact that we werent restricted to a set menu. Friday nights also offer entertainment which for us was a high standard female singer. We thoroughly enjoyed getting involved and thought it added to our nights enjoyment but romantic couples may disagree. The experience was enjoyed by all and we will be back.

Helpful?
Thank KJBee72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Afternoon tea could be improved”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Went for afternoon tea with a friend. Having been to the Radisson a few weeks ago and being rather disappointed I am pleased to say that this was better however there are several things that were irritating and really need to be improved. The first thing is that when you order tea and it comes loose leaf in a pot you really need to bring a pot of hot water. I had to ask for hot water and it came in a small milk jug. The milk came in an even smaller weeny jug, so smaller we had to ask for a refill four times. The tea strainer was brought in on top of the cup with no stand so there was nowhere to put it down after use. Again we had to ask for the saucer for it. The sandwiches were good and not too big so you could easily try everything. The flavours were varied but not every inventive. The scones were very good and the fresh strawberries were a lovely touch. The cakes were just the right size although we had to cut each one in half to be able to both try all of them. Again, the flavours could have been better and more inventive. All in all not bad but please learn to serve a proper pot of tea!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Amanda80l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Loved it - simple as that!”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

We were lucky to be able to use my Gourmet Society card here so we got 50% off the food but even at full price I'd have been happy to pay it.
5 of us in a party and every one was more than happy with the quality of the food. I went for the moules mariniere with lamb main and it was some of the best food I've had in Manchester. Others enjoyed the scallops, risotto and duck.
Service was very quick and friendly, will definitely return soon.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DanHuckle81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 47 King Street West Restaurant, Bar & Tea Rooms also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing