We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Left with a bad taste in my mouth”

47 King Street West Restaurant, Bar & Tea Rooms
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Left with a bad taste in my mouth”
Reviewed December 1, 2012

After after a short wait we were shown to our seats. It was 4.30pm on a busy Saturday afternoon. When we were given the menus we asked (2 waiters) if the dinner menu was being served. We were then given the dinner menu and ordered a bottle of wine and some water. At 4.45pm we were asked for our order and when we tried to order from the dinner menu were told that dinner did not start until 5.30pm. By then we had started our wine.. We asked if we could substitute something from the daytime menu as a starter for dinner and order dinner at 5.30 pm. The rudeness, of what I presume to have been the manager when he refused our request and told us we should not have been given dinner menus, was unbelievable. We were then told we could leave our wine and go. We did this with out hesitation.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
17 Thank Anderson43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

838 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    502
    183
    74
    40
    39
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Mediocre”
Reviewed November 29, 2012

The food was ok though the cheese souffle was bland and there were very long waits between courses and drinks. The service was not great and when one of our group asked the waiter what the black specks were in her margarita, he was very defensive and only offered to change it after appearing to have been prompted by one of the other staff.

Overall ok, but that was with 50% off - would have felt ripped off if we'd paid full price.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Catface H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
39 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great early evening menu”
Reviewed November 29, 2012 via mobile

Had the early evening menu and the food was excellent! Had the ribeye steak which had a £3 supplement but it was well worth it. Tempura prawns to start were also great. Service was friendly and efficient but a little slow although there was 13 of us so can't really complain. Will definitely go back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jellypop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“fantastic food slow service”
Reviewed November 25, 2012

four of us went at 6pm on sat 24 nov. the food was amazing could not fault it, but the service was verry slow . 40 mins for the starters and 30 mins for main had to call the waiter each time. also had to ask for drinks . hopefully this was just a one off and it would not stop us from returning.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank daveb36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Excellent Choice”
Reviewed November 18, 2012

I chose this restaurant for dinner on Sat 17th Nov as a belated birthday get together for my daughter who recently turned 21 and my 'young at heart' but elderly mother, and it was a perfect choice. Chic and smart but with a lovely ambience that suited all of us. We walked in and were immediately greeted and offered our table or a drink at the bar. We chose to go to our table where the waiter took our coats, seated us and 'unfurled' our napkins. We ordered drinks which came immediately and then ordered food. We waited the right amount of time for them to prepare our well done steak, lamb and brie souffle (my mother was having a starter as a main) but they presented us with a small canape to keep us going. The mains were excellent and we all had clean plates. After an interlude we ordered desserts, which again were delicious. The staff were all very friendly, happy to take photos of our small party, ordered our taxi for us and helped us on with our coats. Bill of £99.00 for two mains, one starter, two sides, three desserts, soft drinks and a good bottle of Rose, was good value for money. I would recommend this restaurant to friends and family visiting Manchester

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sheila B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 47 King Street West Restaurant, Bar & Tea Rooms also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing