We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tuesday taster menu”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of 63 Degrees

63 Degrees
Reserve with OpenTable
63 Degrees is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #260 of 2,242 Restaurants in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $23 - $52
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Our celebrated restaurant is re-opening in bigger and better premises in the former Market Restaurant on High Street in the Northern Quarter. A brand new location. A brand new menu. The same exquisite French cuisine And to celebrate our move, we have new menus and a new wine list. Our goal has always been to bring you a taste of Paris, with dishes such as our Pea consomme and poached quail egg, Pan fried sea bass, Duckling fillet, chocolate fondant and, of course, coffee served at the perfect temperature - 63°. As well as more covers, our wonderful new premises means we can now offer our diners an outside terrace and private function room. One thing that hasn’t changed is our commitment to serving exquisite French cuisine in a relaxed and welcoming environment. We look forward to welcoming you to our new home.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Tuesday taster menu”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

very nice taster of authentic french food for £25 per head with a couple of reasonable proced (£24) bottles of wine. Overall a very nice birthday meal we both enjoyed

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mor50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

608 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    352
    130
    69
    34
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level Contributor
652 reviews
366 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 277 helpful votes
“Exemplary”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

Sacre bleu! What a fantastic place. The horror of turning 40 was eased somewhat by a fantastic evening here. The service was charming, friendly and attentive and the decor muted but classy. The food was fantastic though from the creamy cauliflower soup served as an amuse bouche, everything tasted beautiful.......I had the scallops, duck and cheese and can't think of a single criticism. My wife hasn't stopped raving about the pear and chocolate pudding to this day...I am genuinely stunned by Troupe99's review, my experience was 100% positive and I can't wait to go back!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Howellsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

Really enjoyed a saturday lunch at 63 degrees. The chicken signature dish was especially good, served with a beautifully balanced sauce with a hint of truffle and an imaginative potato pie. And a starter of pumpkin soup was skilfully cooked. Well selected wine choices and friendly attentive staff.

For those that have complained about the mains coming with a single vegetable, please, it's a 'French' restaurant.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Yvonne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Sorry but it was really bad”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

I'm really surprised by the reviews here for this restaurant so much so that I feel compelled to write. This was one of the worst meals I have had in Manchester in this price range, if it hadn't been for the company I was with I would have sent at least the starter (burnt dried out snails - you've NEVER had snails like this in France) and the creme brulee 'surprise', the surprise being that it was actually scrambled egg. My friend had deep fried chocolate truffles that tasted of old fat and garlic mushrooms, I had to spit it into a napkin, yum. The main course: the chicken cooked at 63 degrees was dry and served on a sickly sweet vegetable bed was passable but only just. I can only assume that the chef had called in sick or something. The waiter was nice though. The price of the bill however wasn't.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Troupe99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Worth a visit - make sure you book!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

Church Street is not where you would expect to find a restaurant of such quality and class – but the reputation it has built made us make some dinner reservations and hop in a taxi.

Despite the broader surroundings, the restaurant has lovely décor and ambience, the seating is well layed out – although if you are a table for two, I would ask for a banquette seat as a preference as there are quite a few couples tables in the middle of the restaurant, but that’s just me! It was full all evening, so I would strongly advise reservations.

The food and service is very classy, but with a relaxed elegance – not fussy at all. The menu has a breadth of choice, with the signature dishes of the house noted – I had all of them! They did not disappoint, with the sauce on the chicken being a particular highlight. There are also specials, including a cocktail of the day which was delicious.

Only criticism is that we had to order vegetables in addition to our mains – I feel restaurant should serve complete dishes! This is clearly very minor criticism and this did not detract at all from the dining experience.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BayBeeSham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 63 Degrees also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to 63 Degrees? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing