We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely atmosphere but cocktails were poor”
Review of The Oast House

The Oast House
Ranked #70 of 2,329 Restaurants in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $23
Cuisines: Barbecue, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Reviewed April 11, 2014

My rating for the Oast House is based purely on the atmosphere; there was a lovely relaxed, friendly vibe and the live music was good. This was in stark contrast to the other more upmarket bars in the Spinningfields area, which my friend and I felt were a little on the pretentious side. The bar service was also friendly, albeit a tad slow. What let the experience down slightly however were the cocktails; the mojitos were the worst I've had and tasted like very watered down lime cordial. I'd recommend trying the beers instead and although we didn't order any food, it did look excellent. The outdoor area also looks good and I can imagine this is a great place to spend a relaxed afternoon on a sunny day.

Thank PebbleL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannah S, Manager at The Oast House, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2014

Hi

Glad to hear you had a good time at The Oast House! Sorry you didn't enjoy the cocktails on offer. We're launching some new ones for SpinFest starting this Sunday, hopefully you can come along and try one! Let me know and I can arrange this for you :)

Kind Regards,
Hannah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (783)
There are newer reviews for The Oast House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

543 - 547 of 783 reviews

Reviewed April 1, 2014 via mobile

Grabbed a couple of beers, some kebabs and platters to share. Casual relaxed service, a great afternoon listening to music and had a lazy Sunday afternoon. Friendly, knowledgeable and helpful staff, would recommend.

1  Thank shirlyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2014

What pretentious rubbish. Extortionate prices, over hyped food and rude staff. By all means take photos of the quirky building but don't go inside

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank JeffandLes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Been here a few times before but just for drinks as it's always busy and there's never been any tables free. This time however we went early Saturday afternoon and as it was a sunny day we managed to get a table for 5 of us outside. There was a bar area set up outside with limited drinks which had everything we needed and so saved the hassle of having to go into the bar itself to order drinks. You order your food yourself at the deli counter giving your table number with your order and then the food is delivered to your table. We all ordered the hanging chicken kebab with ginger and sweet chilli marinade, it comes with fries and garlic butter which is poured through a hole in the top of the kebab stand and drips down over the kebab and then the chips deeeelishious! The service was quick and efficient, the food was tasty and had a bit of theatre to it and managed to keep 5 women quiet - that's a recommendation in itself!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Off-Work-4-a-hol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2014

Nice place with good pub food. Outdoors seating is good.
Unfortunately... always busy (especially afternoon in weekends) therefore I understand bad reviews on service and queues to order.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank evm2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Oast House also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to The Oast House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing