We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing place to relax and gorgeous food”
Review of The Oast House

The Oast House
Ranked #67 of 2,254 Restaurants in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $23
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Amazing place to relax and gorgeous food”
Reviewed December 18, 2012

This place is a hidden gem for me. I visit this place every lunch time & never come away disappointed, apart from the fact i have to go back to work hehe. I recommend the Hanging Chicken Kebab as it is gorgeous and every bite just gets better and better. Friendly management and staff make this place a great place to chill and enjoy good beer/wine and food. Highly recommended, i would live here if i could.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

729 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    327
    281
    78
    23
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
177 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great!!”
Reviewed December 17, 2012 via mobile

This is a great, quirky venue in a good location serving really good food. Located in Spinningfields, just off Deansgate the Oast House is a pub style venue. The range of food includes burger, hanging kebabs, half and full rotisserie chickens, ploughman a, salads etc. There isn't table service you need to order your food and drinks at the bar. Even at a fairly busy lunchtime we were served quickly and the food came quickly too. I would recommend the burgers, the chickens looked good too! If I have one small criticism it is pretty small and at busy times you tend to get people hovering for your table. There is a lot of outdoor seating but it is Manchester so not used all that often ;-)

Helpful?
Thank Johnathan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wilmslow
Level Contributor
74 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“ENJOYABLE LUNCH”
Reviewed December 16, 2012

Visited last Saturday after exhausted from shopping and Christmas markets. There were no tables available in the main bar/restaurant area so we made our way outside to the Teepee Christamas themed tent. There was a pop up bar with limited drinks but most people went to the main bar and brought there drinks across to the tent. The seating area is comprised of wooden tables and long bench seats but they have provided faux fur rugs to sit on. During the meal we did keep our coats on as it wasn't very warm. However, we did enjoy the whole experience.
We all had the chicken kekabs which were very tasty. The service was good and the staff were friendly even they were pulled out at the time. Definatley visit again.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Berniexx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Quirky and Fun !!”
Reviewed December 7, 2012

Went here on a busy Saturday after visiting the Xmas Markets, it was great fun..although the fire could have been a bit more impressive, was only a small one in the middle of the pit !! The food was really good and very well presented. The staff could have been a bit more attentive but as it was a busy christmas Saturday they can be forgiven!! Well worth trying !!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cityslicker01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Let down”
Reviewed November 29, 2012

Firstly I made a reservation for a family of 4 and was told that's not a problem and its sorted. So me and my family turn up at the booked time to what could only be described as a free for all and no member of staff anywhere. When I finally located a member of the staff and told them about my reservation they said "we don't take reservations, just wait for a table and grab it before someone else does" to which he shrugged and walked off. I couldn't believe this at all. Needless to say we left and went to another restaurant. All in all I was gutted about the service and treatment I was given, it's a really nice looking place until you get inside and meet the non friendly staff.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Drew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Oast House also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to The Oast House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing