We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, friendly staff”
Review of Giraffe

Giraffe
Ranked #1,051 of 2,295 Restaurants in Manchester
Cuisines: Fast Food
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
DUBLIN , IRELAND
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Good food, friendly staff”
Reviewed August 4, 2014

There was time to spare before our flight from Manchester Airport, so my wife and I had a look around to choose a restaurant to have a meal.

We had not yet tried Giraffe, so we thought why not give it a go!

My wife had fish and chips. The batter slightly thick was otherwise very good.

I had a jambalaya risotto with a side of sweet potato chips, both of which were good.

Most importantly, being an airport hotel, the food was served quickly by friendly staff.

Well done to all concerned.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PATJORDAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    98
    45
    39
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Much too long of a wait for an airport”
Reviewed August 3, 2014

Flew out of Manchester airport late 7/2014. Decided to eat here for lunch due to friendly atmosphere, plus appears busy with a lot of people working but some tables available. Menus clearly state that they strive for food to be delivered within 15 minutes from ordering. From time of arrival we had close to 60 minutes to eat.

Waited 10 minutes for waiter/server. Then waited another 35 minutes and still no drinks or food. Finally got ahold of a manager (was not obvious who this was and had to find him) and it wasn't clear what happened. Did get beverages/food 10 to 15 minutes later after this confrontation. They were apologetic, did give us 50% off bill, and also did give one of us a free dessert as we were leaving the restaurant in a hurry to board our plane, but obvious that they are not careful at keeping up with supervision. Organizations can't do this at time constrained locations like an airport.

Food was good, but we had to eat so fast that we were unable to enjoy it.

Warning for anybody willing to come here about timing issues.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank drbryguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northen Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
208 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Recommended”
Reviewed July 12, 2014

I was delayed in traffic and didn't have long time in the airport to get a meal before my flight. I went into Giraffe and was quickly and efficiently served. The food was very good and very reasonably priced for an airport based restaurant. Recommended.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tully22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A tall order”
Reviewed July 11, 2014 via mobile

Very atmospheric! Just what you need as a couple or a family. Great food. Portions are a little on the large size for my liking. Parking, theatre and Coronation street your nearby

Helpful?
Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MANCHESTER
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Impressed”
Reviewed July 2, 2014 via mobile

We had breakfast before our flight. Staff were attentive and the restaurant clean in comparison to the cafe next door which we initially went in. I had Mexican breakfast which was big and tasty. My companion had the English big breakfast option and really enjoyed it. Seemed good quality and good portions. Moroccan mint tea was lovely too. Worth treating yourself.

Helpful?
Thank manchesterlulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Giraffe also viewed

Ringway, Greater Manchester
Ringway, Greater Manchester
 
Ringway, Greater Manchester
 
Ringway, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Giraffe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing