We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Jewel in Beech Road's crown” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Parlour

The Parlour
Reserve with OpenTable
The Parlour is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #256 of 2,185 Restaurants in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $25
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Manchester
Level Contributor
45 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“The Jewel in Beech Road's crown”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

Fine ales, good food, reasonable jukebox, friendly staff and a crowd of handsome regulars. What more can you want from a bar.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Alidas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    50
    25
    9
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level Contributor
107 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Best pub/bar food in Chorlton”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

The Parlour does the best pub/bar food in Chorlton. The atmosphere is relaxed and the service is informal but very good. There is usually a limited choice of dishes which I quite like. On Sundays the roast is great, amongst the best I've had in a pub. They also do a good range of beers to accompany your food (or not!).

As an aside, if you're taking a baby or toddler (like we do of late) there are no specific food choices for them, the kids stuff is just smaller portions of the adult meals. I'd advise them having bits of yours or what you bring. They do have high chairs but space for that and all your paraphenalia can be limited when it's busy.

All in all a great place, my default for beer these days and for food along with the Lead Station.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelTidge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
134 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Just average - been now - no need to return!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

Food was okay but was slightly disappointing. Good atmosphere. Good staff. Very homely. Don't understand all the rave reviews at all. Thought the Yorkshire pudding and roast potatoes were close to burnt. Think the place needs some money spending on it. Carpet disgusting and toilets not very clean at all.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sanroc2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Rather underwhelmed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

After reading the amazing reviews, visited with a friend for an early evening mid week meal.

I don't mind a limited menu as it means your not spoilt for choice and it avoids taking hours to decide what to have.

I chose the roast chicken and pancetta salad, I had visions of crispy hot roasted chicken and crispy pancetta, whereas I got cold slices of chicken and rather floppy streaky bacon. There was practically a whole lettuce on the plate with a good variety of leaves, however, most were very bitter. The broccolli spears were also cold, although this may have been intentional.

My friend had the ham and leek pie, which when she took the puff pastry lid off, was disappointed to find a very watery filling. My friend originates from Wigan, so knows a good pie when she sees one! She did however say that it tasted amazing, but it was a pity about the consistency.

We shared some amazing chips. Big, fat and homemade - chip heaven!

We were lucky to enjoy a lovely sunny evening so were able to sit outside for the evening, the atmosphere is very relaxed and the service is excellent. I will definitely return, albeit for the Sunday lunch which appears to be the star of the show here.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank hanson23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
139 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Best Sunday roast I've had for a long time.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

The title says it all, it was by far Best Sunday roast I've had for a long time and deserves all of the accolades that have been should about it.
There is always a good vibe in the place and even my OAP mother thought the atmosphere was lovely. Ales are kept well, desserts were lovely, toilets well maintained and clean.

There is however one criticism.

Why oh why is there a penchant for too many of their staff to have there jeans belted half way down there backside. It's Chorlton in the twenty first century - not Compton in the 90's.
It's not too nice for me, never mind OAP's to look up in the middle of a beautiful meal to see a waiters underware staring back at you from one foot away... DELIBERATELY! Put trying too hard to be cool to one side and a bit more professional and the place would be PEEFECT as they are otherwise very good staff.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve1221612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Parlour also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to The Parlour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing