We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magic!”
Review of Sandinista

Sandinista
Ranked #406 of 2,329 Restaurants in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Latin, South American, Spanish, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Inspired by a love for music, food, drinks and Latin culturewith the maxim ‘nuestra casa es tu casa’ – our home is your home.And as the Eagles sang...“you can check out anytime you like, but you can never leave” MusicMusic is our passion and Joe Strummer is at our heart. The Clash inspired us to name our bar after their 4th album ‘Sandinista’. We play an eclectic mix that covers rock, indie, funk, soul, reggae, 80’s and more. Central American CultureSandinista!s revolutionary theme is influenced by the political movement in Nicaragua - The Sandinista National Liberation Front . They liberated Nicaragua with an oppressive right-wing regime in 1979 to 1990. The Central American influence is carried throughout the Latin inspired food and drink menu as well as the décor. Rock ‘n’ Roll and Food For the SoulIt's more fun to eat in a bar than drink in a restaurant!Our menu focuses on Spanish Tapas. Our dishes embody Sandinista!’s Latin inspired food ethos: simple great tasting cuisine that reflects the culture it was born out of. Drinks (open every day till 3am)Why did the Mexican push his wife off the cliff?...............Tequila!!!!Sandinista!'s impressively stocked bar offers an impressive range of cocktails from the four corners of the globe, our top sellers being fruity, tangy twists on Mojitos, Daiquiris, Mai Tais, Margaritas and Juleps. Our back bar boasts an array of quality tequilas, rums and spirits with a fine selection of beers.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Had some friends over and chose Sandinista for food and drinks. Had a great night, lovely food, great atmosphere and brill music !

Overall a great night out and I would highly recommend the tapas as the quality of all the dishes we had was top notch !
Friendly staff and choice of cocktails/drinks was great to.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Cantona0707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandinista_manager, Manager at Sandinista, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Hi Cantona0707,
Thank you for your lovely comments!
Let us know next time your heading down (k.johnson@sandinista.co.uk) for some great cocktails or tapas and I'll get you a drink on us!
Thanks,
Katy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (236)
There are newer reviews for Sandinista
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

212 - 216 of 236 reviews

Reviewed March 12, 2013

Great grub, great staff.
Perfectly situated for a scran during the lunch run or shopping errands.

If you fancy a nice chilled time get there before 7pm as it is a bar and these get rowdy like no other past 7pm.

Sandy ROCKS!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank ManchesterWillH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandinista_manager, Manager at Sandinista, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2013

Hi ManchesterWillH,
Thank you for your lovely comments!
Let us know next time your heading down (k.johnson@sandinista.co.uk) for some great grub or for a rocking night out and I'll get you a beer on us!
Thanks,
Katy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

I love this place because it is not rammed packed. It's chilled out and the drinks are terrific.

The downstairs bit is great !

Thank Kai K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandinista_manager, Manager at Sandinista, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Hi Kai K,
Thanks for taking the time to write this lovely post! please let me know in advance next time your heading down (k.johnson@sandinista.co.uk) & I'll get you a beer on us,
Many thanks,
Katy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

This is fastly becoming a favourite spot for a post work bite when we cant be bothered cooking.

Food comes quickly, and its good value for money - we dont normally go for the 3 for £10 including a drink - becasue our faves arent on there - but its not overpriced for what you get. We always leave so full that we have to roll home on three dishes each.

Great choices on the menu and the staff are always friendly and accommodating, good beer, good music, good food - what else do you want?

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank KDG1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandinista_manager, Manager at Sandinista, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2013

Hi KDG1989,
Thank you for your lovely review of Sandinista!
It's always good to hear our guests have had a great experience!
Let me know when your planning to visit us again (email me on k.johnson@sandinista.co.uk) & we'll hook you up with a beer on us!
Thanks,
Katy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Perhaps it was the really loud britpop and indie music that caused the waiter to mishear us and get the order wrong.

We ordered six tapas (for two of us). Five dishes were brought to the table, of which one was something that we hadn't ordered. It was taken away to eventually be replaced when we had almost finished eating, and when the elusive sixth dish arrived, it was cold tough beef that was inedible.

Note to chef: a tomato and olive salad needs some olives and not just thick slices of cheap catering tomato and a lettuce leaf.

Note to self: never go back to this bar. We should have known something was wrong when they could give us a table immediately (both chop houses were so busy we couldn't set foot in the bar, much less the dining room).

Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandinista_manager, Manager at Sandinista, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2013

Hi David,
Thank you for your feedback & I'm so sorry that you had such a disappointing visit to Sandinista.
We take all feedback extremely seriously & would really like to make sure that this never happens again. It would be great If you could contact me to discuss this further at k.johnson@sandinista.co.uk. I would also really like to invite you back to try us again.
Many Thanks,
Katy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sandinista also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Sandinista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing