We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice change from a hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Atrium Serviced Apartments
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A nice change from a hotel!”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights from Friday Janaury 4th, in a studio in Johnson House.

The Atrium was easy enough to find, search for the Whitworth Street NCP and you will be fine.

Check in was quick, with a nice gentleman working on Reception. We were given 2 key cards which was handy, and it gave us peace of mind that these were needed to get into the separate houses (of which I think there are 3), and then the rooms.

Our room was tricky to find as there was only 1 sign pointing in the general direction of the room, and none to direct us through an extra door.

The room itself was lovely. It was bright, clean and modern. The bed was huge! There were most things in the kitchen that people would normally need. The TV had plenty of channels. We were next to the canal and could see Canal Street but didn't experience any problems with noise/smell. However we did close our blinds as we were directly across from an office full of workers! There was the obvious wear and tear with scuff marks on the pillar and the bath, and the odd stain on the carpet, but we didn't mind as we would have expected them with cream walls and carpets!

The only major problem we had with the room was the lack of hot water. We followed the instructions given and 'boosted' the boiler, but the shower went cold on me half way through washing my hair which wasn't pleasant! I have seen this has been mentioned before so maybe it is an issue that needs to be addressed. Also housekeeping did not come into our room during our stay so we ran out of toilet tissue, so I had to go down to Reception at 9pm to get some.

We parked in the NCP car park next door to the Atrium, and we got our ticket validated when we checked out so that the price was reduced from £18 to £15.50 for 24 hours, not a huge saving but better than nothing we thought for central Manchester!

Overall our stay was good, just the odd thing that took it away from being excellent, but we would definitely stay here again and would recommend it to anyone fed up of hotels that likes the homely touches. It was also excellent value for money as we found the rooms to be of a high quality and better than some of the more expensive hotel chains.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CLW1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

601 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    255
    119
    30
    14
See reviews for
38
261
49
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Powys
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Helpful, friendly & efficient check in staff. We stayed for one night to attend an event at the Bridgewater Hall. The apartments are close to restaurants, rail stations & shopping. We had a comfortable night and the apartment was clean and well appointed.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
45 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

I stayed in the Atrium for 4 nights just before Christmas with my girlfriend to do all of our shopping and have a few days to ourselves before all of the family celebrations, etc.


Overall the stay was alright. I wanted to give 3 stars but my girlfriend said 4 - and she is the boss. The location is great for exploring the city - 10 minute walk from the centre, and just down the road from the Chinese area.

The room was nice, but a bit small. There were some noise issues - from the street, other guests, and the water heater humming away. But we were in one of the rooms closest to both the reception and street. The windows and walls did not help much with noise reduction, and at times if someone was talking in the hallway it sounded like they were right next to us in the room. It wasnt fine on week nights, but on Friday and Saturday night I had trouble sleeping and had to get some ear plugs.

The staff were very nice and helpful. They were happy to order a taxi for us and give us directions and advice. It would have been nice if they had some takeaway menus on hand as we wanted to order in one night and ended up having to buy internet usage time and order via just-eat.

I would return, but I think I would upgrade to the larger room and specify that I wanted to be in a quiet part of the area net time.

Room Tip: Specify a quiet room on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Le_SigNagE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armagh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We absolutely loved our stay in the Atrium, friendly staff right from the start. Too many to count but Rachel at check in was a star, got us checked in before check in time despite it being our fault we were early (airline changed our flight) and even rang the room to make sure we were settled in OK.

Rooms were clean and very comfortable. Kitchen well stocked with all equipment you would need. There was absolutely no noise pollution whatsoever from crowds at night time from bars etc...

The location is fab, a 5 minute walk from Picadilly Train station, and a 5 min walk to St Stephens tram stop.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DervlaO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
125 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

Think we had bad luck ? Booked in August for 2 nights for new year with late rooms.
On arrival check in was quick and pleasant .
we were given room 101 the stairwell not v clean we entered our apartment which was tiny compared to our previous stay and no view , only of the entrance glass roof . we unpacked , went for a walk came back with our shopping and chilled for a while with a drink then decided to have a shower . No water ? we complained , they sent a porter ? he said i cant fix this youl have to move . We packed up and went to 206 which was lovely , spacious , fantastic views and much cleaner , we even decided to stay in and cook it was that nice after a nice hot bath . BUT after a nights sleep interupted by dripping ??? i was about to put the water booster on and realised what the dripping was. I was welcomed by a flood and pouring water , so again complained and a maintenance guy came who said the tank had split and we would have to move AGAIN . He said he would recommend a refund and could have a choice of 3 other apartments . I must admit the staff were very helpful and efficient . None of the rooms were as nice as what we had just left but agreed to stay in 317 at the other end of the building .It was a disabled studio but hey we had water and a refund of one nights stay . This room was fine but no plug for the bath or sink and hot water only lasted long enough for a v quick shower so it was a race for hubbie and i to wash .
ok for overnight stay but in need of some tlc.
Thankyou to the helpful staff .

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YorkshireKebab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirton in Lindsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2012

We stayed overnight after seeing a concert at the Arena. The Atrium is fairly close to Picadilly rail station, a bit too far to walk with luggage. The one bedroom apartment we had was clean but basic. The bedroom had a queen sized bed, the settee in the lounge/kitchen converted to a small double. The fridge contained two small bottles of water & some milk satchets. The staff were polite & helpful. I know it's a very factual account but hopefully helpful.
The only negatives were the door of the washing machine enclosure was hanging off; & we had to ask for extra towels & bed linen for the make-up bed.
All in all, not bad for an overnighter.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank BurgmanRider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2012

We booked these apartments as an alternative to a hotel as it was for a works christmas night out for 6 colleagues. They were in a fantastic location as we were spending most of the evening at Canal street. The reception staff were very friendly and helpful and actually upgraded us from a one bed apt to a 2 bed apt which was ideal as we all had a bed to sleep in. There were a few little things which could be dealt with ie door handles but overall were really happy with the apartment and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheshirebabe85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.2 mi away
Roomzzz Manchester City
Roomzzz Manchester City
#6 of 117 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,321 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
0.2 mi away
Arora Hotel Manchester
Arora Hotel Manchester
#20 of 117 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
ibis Manchester Centre Princess Street Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#14 of 117 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,794 reviews
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Atrium Serviced Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Atrium Serviced Apartments

Property: The Atrium Serviced Apartments
Address: 74 Princess Street, Manchester M1 6JD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 77 Specialty Lodging in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Atrium Serviced Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A comfortable home from home. Serviced apartments which provide kitchen facilities and en suite bathroom. More space and privacy than a hotel! Situated in central Manchester, easy walking distance from train stations, Conference Centres, Shopping & Leisure activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Atrium Serviced Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atrium By Bridgestreet Hotel Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing