We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“marble arch keeps getting better”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Marble Arch

The Marble Arch
Ranked #130 of 2,246 Restaurants in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $24
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Brew Pub, International, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“marble arch keeps getting better”
Reviewed March 19, 2014

excellent choice of beer- some unusual keg beer- always busy but always great service- supports good local brewers as well as there own extensive range-good beer garden in summer out the back-this is pub I never want to leave- ranked no 02 in my current order of pubs in Manchester!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lee w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    202
    90
    23
    11
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Marble Arch Food!”
Reviewed March 17, 2014 via mobile

Visited for food through the week with my other half, food and service was excellent, I won't get the lager again though it was flat.
I understand this is a beer and ale pub but they should be able to cater for lager drinkers too.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gareth B, Manager at The Marble Arch, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Hi Paul, thanks for the review, i'm glad you enjoyed our food and service, we're very proud of what we do.

I'm sorry to hear that your lager was flat, I assure you that we pay the same attention to our keg lines as our cask, and offer 2 excellent German Pilsners, Krombacher and Jever, as well as Erdinger Weissbier. It's possible that the gas needed changing, please don't hesitate to let us know if you think something is not up to scratch in future.

Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent food 5*”
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Was told about this place and advised to book ahead if you wanted to eat there as the food was amazing. Some friends had gone saying they only went for the specialist beers but when they saw the food they had to go back and were not disappointed. I concur with that opinion. The menu is exciting and offers some quite sophisticated but flavoursome food. If you are a foodie, you will love this place. I almost didn't want to share this place with anyone as it might make it harder to get in. Staff were accomodating and friendly which is always a bonus in my book. Whoever tries the Marble Arch is for the first time is in for a real treat. Apparently they've just gone into a book on 'Best British Food' and I can't say I'm surprised. A real hidden gem.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jessieloola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely food, lovely beer, great service ”
Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

Spotted The Marble Arch in a piece about pubs with beautiful interiors. Wasn't disappointed. Well worth a visit - although you really want to be in the main (front) room to enjoy this lovely pub properly.

Helpful?
Thank NottinghamWoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
401 reviews
246 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“landmark pub”
Reviewed February 10, 2014

The marble has beautiful tiling and a sloping floor that can make you feel tipsy even before you have had a few.It has great micro real ale an superb food.What more do you want?just get there!I'm not bossy really I just want you to enjoy a superb pub.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank joseph850
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Marble Arch also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to The Marble Arch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing