We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff - Great breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Novotel Manchester Centre
Ranked #39 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed January 5, 2010

We stayed here whilst visiting the nearby Palace theatre on a very cold snowy night. It was very convenient as it was only three minutes walk away. The room was spacious, clean and warm and the breakfast was the best we have ever had in this country. We had a nice welcome and all the staff were friendly and smiling. When we were leaving they offered to keep our luggage for the day and informed us that trains were still running, despite the bad weather. We got a good deal from Laterooms at £69 for room and breakfast and would certainly choose to stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pendlewitch1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iain B, General Manager at Novotel Manchester Centre, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2013

Thank you for your review. Kind Regards Iain Black

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,643)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,411 - 1,417 of 1,643 reviews

Reviewed December 23, 2009

My husband and I stayed here for 1 night in December.
Location - good central location
Rooms -Good sized rooms, smartly furnished/decorated if a bit boring (standard chain hotel decor)
Cleanliness - Looked clean on first inspection but found a couple of hairs in the bed, a dirty patch under the sink that had been missed and a few hairs in the shower.
Staff - friendly staff on reception
Value - expensive at £99 per night without breakfast and I believe the rack rate is actually £165!!
Would I stay here again? I'd shop around first to find something better value but I wouldn't rule it out completely.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank donnalovescheese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2009

Well, this really is the ultimate business hotel. I don't know why, but it always seemed to be full of single travellers in suits. I suppose this would be bad on a holiday, but on business, it means a quiet hotel where everything is pretty smooth and easygoing.

The location is quite good - loads of places to eat nearby, as well as places to grab a drink. You won't want to bother staying in the hotel for food. That said, the room service is pretty good if you're stuck inside working, though the portions seemed to vary from absurdly large to absurdly small over the few weeks I was there.

All in all, if you're in Manchester for business, this is a good bet.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Captain_RandomName
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2009

A flying visit to Manchester to watch Chelsea unfortunately get beaten by a much improved Manchester City at the Eastlands stadium

We decided to let the train take the strain and had an easy 15 or so minute walk from the Piccadilly Station to the Novotel which was easy to find. Although we arrived half an hour before check in time we were able to go directly to our room. Checking in was super efficient (we almost felt guilty at turning down the receptionist’s offers of arranging taxis for us and providing directions etc preferring instead to be self sufficient).

The hotel building is bright and modern with quite a new feel to it (although I wouldn't describe it as "swanky"). Second floor “executive” room was street-facing with triple glazing keeping pretty much all of the noise out with the exception of passing police sirens (which I was to notice throughout the night at 1:00 a.m. and also at 2:00 and 3:00 a.m. – a non-street facing room might have been quieter). The room was an odd “L” shape but was large enough for a sitting area with coffee table and a separate desk. We made use of the tea-making and espresso making facilities although only one bathrobe (were we supposed to share?) – good sized bath with ample selection of toiletries.

The hotel is well located – right on the edge of the China-town district of the city – near to the tram and easy walking distance into the exceptionally busy city centre. Reception staff were knowledgeable re nearby places and quite willing to give recommendations or suggestions for bars & restaurants.

Breakfast on the Sunday morning was efficient and well managed (with breakfast being served right through to 12:00 midday). Very good choice from the inevitable buffet which most hotels go for now – good quality of food though and service at breakfast very good indeed.

Overall a pleasant enough stay – very friendly staff (always a hello and smile – other hotels could learn from this). We’d probably use this hotel again if staying in Manchester (hopefully next time with a better result at the football).

Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
Thank Sub_three
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2009

This is my first stay at the accorhotels Novotel Range, I was hoping for a comparison against the ibis which is directly opposite this hotel in Manchester Central City,
Upon arrival, very friendly staff, and booked a special rate on the web, against the £150 walk in fee. Rooms spacious and clean, very similar to the ibis style, apart from a separate toilet and combi shower/bath system,
There is a excellent sauna/fitness gym on the top floor, a very relaxing addition.
Right next to china town, its a simple 2 mins walk to a excellent range of local shops and bars..

Unique Qualities: Fitness/Sauna for guests, or a £5 charge for ibis residents.
Location,, good breakfast, very professional staff

Comparison: more expensive than average
Prices: US$80-120 » Currency Converter
Phone: [--]
Address: 21 Dickinson Street
Directions: # 21 Dickinson Street
# M1 4LX MANCHESTER
# UNITED KINGDOM
Website: http://www.accorhotels.com/gb/hotel-3145-novotel-manchester-centre/index.shtml

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank johnretroreload
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2009

My husband and I have stayed at Novotel on Friday 13 Nov.

We had a fourth floor room, which was very clean and tidy. When we got to the room, we found that the bed settee had been pulled out and made up. Off course we did not need it, but if needed, then, as another traveller said, there would not be much room, once we put the bed settee back, we found we had loads of room.

There are tea and coffee making facilites, a very large desk area with two chairs, a telephone, although we did not use, so I don't know how much it would cost to use. There is also a T.V, and at the time of our stay, it did not work, we couldn't get any channels at all. This did not bother us, but, if we had stayed with our children, then I would have asked at reception.

The bed was very comfortable, quite a low one, but very good. The duvet and sheets were clean. There were two pillows each, a regular size one and a square one.

The bathroom was clean with complimentary toiletries, and enough towels. The only downside was the shower curtain could have done with a clean, it was dirty on the bottom. There was a seperate toilet, which is always a bonus.

There was an iron and ironing board and a small safe.

The breakfast in the morning was superb. It was a buffet style, and you go and help yourself. Literally help yourself to as much as you want. There was a cooked breakfast, cereal, fruit, yogurt and croissants. Brilliant.

As for location, it is perfect for nightlife and shopping, and it is right in the heart of chinatown. We didn't know there was a carpark underneath, so we parked in the NCP, around five mins walk away. But we are coming back on New Years Eve, and shall definitely use it.

The staff were very helpful and polite, and all in all, we had a fantastic stay and are looking forward to New Years Eve!!!

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DobbyDerbys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2009

We stayed for two nights using our Tesco Clubcard points. On arrival we were warmly welcomed, the receptionist engaged us in conversation and dealt with us very efficiently. Our rooms were spacious and very comfortably appointed with refrigerator, safe, tea/coffee making facilities and they were very clean. The double glazing was very efficient and kept the room quiet despite the fact we were in the centre of the city, so we slept well. Breakfast was a buffet affair and absolutely scrumptious, just about anything you wanted was on offer. The bar area is very contemporary and welcoming and there's a free spa and gym on the fourth floor. Checkout was efficient and the whole experience was better than many allegedly superior hotels we have stayed in. Even the maids were friendly and chatty. The only downside is the lack of free car parking, but having said that they do offer a discount at the underground car park next door which is very well lit and secure. The location is spot on, so if you're thinking of taking a break in this great city then I can't recommend the Novotel too highly.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kitsmash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0 mi away
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Manchester
Jurys Inn Manchester
#55 of 120 in Manchester
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Arora Hotel Manchester
Arora Hotel Manchester
#17 of 120 in Manchester
2,647 reviews
0.3 mi away
INNSIDE Manchester
INNSIDE Manchester
#3 of 120 in Manchester
1,775 reviews
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Manchester Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Manchester Centre

Address: 21 Dickinson Street, Manchester M1 4LX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Manchester
#21 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#25 Business Hotel in Manchester
#31 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#44 Family Hotel in Manchester
Price Range: $89 - $292 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Manchester Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Manchester Centre is an AA 4 star hotel in an ideal location for business travellers, just 3 minutes walk from the Conference Quarter and the Central Business Core of Manchester. Take a break at the Novotel and explore the surrounding Chinatown area, visit Old Trafford (the home of Manchester United FC) and discover designer shops, nightlife and local attractions. eXchange Food and Drink Lounge is the place to kick back relax and unwind after a busy day. 24 hour room service, gym, sauna, steam room and seven meeting rooms for up to 90 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, ACCOR, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Manchester Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Manchester Centre Hotel Manchester
Accor Manchester Centre
Manchester Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing