We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A welcome return”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Novotel Manchester Centre
Ranked #43 of 116 Hotels in Manchester
GreenLeadersBronze level
Cheshire
Level Contributor
116 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“A welcome return”
Reviewed December 31, 2013

Once more at the Novotel, good value place to stay if you can get a deal, central location with clean rooms and comfortable bed.
This time we had some niggling problems but nothing serious, you just learn by your mistakes.
To be fair we use this hotel just for sleeping so I cannot comment on the general standard of service, although the receptionists are always polite and helpful.
Upside, conveniently placed, clean and comfortable.
Downside, car parking is a bit expensive at £14 for 24 hours, although I suppose it compares well to some other hotels and the car park does not belong to the Hotel (even though it is underneath the hotel) but you get a discount from the normal £20 car park charge.
Would I stay again, yes.

Room Tip: Try to avoid room 440 (top floor) fan droning noise on the roof could be annoying.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keyboardCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iain B, General Manager at Novotel Manchester Centre, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Thank you for your very kind feedback. They are very much appreciated and my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed yourselves. The car park does not belong to the hotel, charges are typical for a central location, thank you for pointing out the 30% discount we have secured for our guests. I look forward to welcoming you back at Novotell in the future. Kind Regards Iain Black
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,554 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    512
    704
    225
    77
    36
See reviews for
278
410
122
517
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

I paid £80 for a double room on a Sunday night. The hotel is modern and stylish and the location couldn't be better. Despite a great location the room was really quiet with no noise disturbance at all. The room was ultra clean and well equipped with free wifi and a mega comfy bed. The bathroom with separate toilet was immaculate. The reception staff were friendly and efficient. I had dinner in the bar. The food was good but the price was outrageous. When I gave this feedback to the waiter he said "I know, it's embarrassing". I was charged £23 for a very small portion of beef stew and a vodka tonic. The portion size would have been OK for a starter but as a main it felt like a rip off. The hotel is adjacent to a good secure car park which offers hotel guests a discount. Well worth it.

Room Tip: As for a quiet room on the side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iain B, General Manager at Novotel Manchester Centre, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Thank you very much for your review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit at Novotel. I look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards, Iain Black
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Stayed just one night and found the hotel to be well located for anything you need to do in the city centre. The hotel is modern and generally clean and the staff are helpful and friendly. The breakfast was superb in terms of quality of food, choice and service.
The rooms were nice. Clean (though the carpet in our room could have done with a bit more attention) and modern. I'm not sure whether the standard is that much higher than - say an Ibis - to warrant 4 stars and the price. But I would say that it is an excellent 3.5 star hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank jerryatrick7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iain B, General Manager at Novotel Manchester Centre, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Novotel Manchester Centre. I look forward to your next visit. Kind regards,Iain Black
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Good location everywhere in central Manchester within 10 min. walk. Castlefield museums, Deansgate, Spiningfields, Market Street and the Arndale Centre and Piccadilly etc etc. Car park right next door with 30% discount was a bonus as normal over night is £20, We paid £64 per night B+B for 2. The Ibis next door would have been £32 per night but no B+B. Shame about the room carpet

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a clean carpet!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Philip19482013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iain B, General Manager at Novotel Manchester Centre, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Thank you for feedback, pleased to read you enjoyed your stay. Not sure which room you stayed in but as part of our reguler maintenance we have just replaced 20 bedrom carperts. Hope to welcome you back to Novotel soon. Kind regards Iain Black
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

This was our first visit to this hotel having previously stayed in several other city centre hotels and we were really impressed by the overall experience.
I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Manchester as is central to all city amenities; all staff were attentive, courteous and friendly;the entire hotel was immaculate, clean and quiet. Our room was very comfortable even for our 12 year old son whose needs have not been well catered for during other hotel experiences.
The food is delicious and the drinks bill was very reasonable however I would also recommend the Swadesh Indian restaurant located immediately opposite the entrance the best Indian meal we have experienced.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iblack, General Manager at Novotel Manchester Centre, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Thank you for your very kind words. They are very much appreciated and my team will be delighted to hear that you and your family enjoyed yourselves. I look forward to welcoming you back at Novotel Manchester Centre. Kind regards, Iain Black, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NW England
Level Contributor
112 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Stayed at the Novotel in Manchester after the office Christmas party in December 2013.

It's very business orientated, clean, and with decent sized rooms (at least mine was).

The WC in a small, separate room is very odd, though, especially since there is no wash basin in there. This means that after using the WC, you nee to then go into the bathroom to wash your hands. I assume that they have put the WC in a separate room to avoid disturbing your companion (should you have one) while they are using the bath or shower. But you still have to disturb them to wash your hands - so what's the point? It could be that they are constructed using prefabricated pods - other hotels seem to manage with the WC in the bathroom, however.

The bed is also somewhat squeeky, which might be an embarrassment...

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeicaUser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iblack, General Manager at Novotel Manchester Centre, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. I am glad you had a good time at Novotel manchester Centre! Hope to see you again. Kind regards, Iain Black, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancashire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2013

Lovely hotel to stop in, staff friendly,stayed boxing day in an executive room,very clean and warm. Queen bed and sofa bed,large TV fixed into wall, kettle,coffee expresso machine, fridge, iron and board. All the mod cons, dressing gown and sleepers. Definitely recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathrine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iblack, General Manager at Novotel Manchester Centre, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments and compliments. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Novotel Manchester Centre and look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards, Iain Black, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.0 mi away
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
0.1 mi away
Arora Hotel Manchester
Arora Hotel Manchester
#20 of 116 in Manchester
2,452 reviews
0.0 mi away
Roomzzz Manchester City
Roomzzz Manchester City
#7 of 116 in Manchester
1,330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Manchester City Centre
0.1 mi away
Townhouse Hotel Manchester
Townhouse Hotel Manchester
#45 of 116 in Manchester
1,644 reviews
0.3 mi away
INNSIDE Manchester
INNSIDE Manchester
#8 of 116 in Manchester
1,528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Manchester Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Manchester Centre

Property: Novotel Manchester Centre
Address: 21 Dickinson Street, Manchester M1 4LX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Manchester
#25 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#25 Business Hotel in Manchester
#31 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#44 Family Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Manchester Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Manchester Centre is an AA 4 star hotel in an ideal location for business travellers, just 3 minutes walk from the Conference Quarter and the Central Business Core of Manchester. Take a break at the Novotel and explore the surrounding Chinatown area, visit Old Trafford (the home of Manchester United FC) and discover designer shops, nightlife and local attractions. eXchange Food and Drink Lounge is the place to kick back relax and unwind after a busy day. 24 hour room service, gym, sauna, steam room and seven meeting rooms for up to 90 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, ACCOR, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Novotel Manchester Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Manchester Centre Hotel Manchester
Accor Manchester Centre
Manchester Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing