We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great facilities... take comfy daytime (& dancing) shoes!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Novotel Manchester Centre

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Novotel Manchester Centre
Ranked #38 of 115 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Great facilities... take comfy daytime (& dancing) shoes!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

My best friend and i stayed at the Novotel Manchester Central in October for a fun city break....

Hotel Location: Mixed! Its central Manchester, you cant deny. However, out of the central hotels, its not 'perfect' (if one can ever strive for perfection. For day time, not the best, it was a good 15 min walk to and from the shops. When you had as many bags as we had (taking some back mid way through) this was quite a problem. For the night life though, it couldn't have been better. Literally 5 mins from great eateries and canal street.. perfect!

Rooms etc: Amazing. One of the best for facilities i have stayed in for a while. Ipod dock station, mini bar, brilliant bed, seperate toilet and bathroom (great for sharers), great air con... fab.

Food & Drinks: We didnt eat at the hotel... too close to some other fab places to go to eat in :o)

Staff: Cheerful, friendly & helpful.

We paid £95 for one night, which personally i don't think is too bad. I would recommend and stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iblack, General Manager at Novotel Manchester Centre, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit at Novotel Manchester Centre. Thank you for your kind comments and compliments with regards to our facilities. I hope we will be your first choice when you are next in Manchester! Kind regards, Iain Black
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,506 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    493
    691
    218
    71
    33
See reviews for
264
398
120
504
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chester UK
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

Booked into the Novotel to attend a function at another hotel.
For some reason had the perception that the hotel was a budget chain rather than a four star.
Pleasantly surprised as the whole experience exceeded expectations from the professionalism of the staff to the quality of the room.
Really liked the extended breakfast hours for the weekend (12 noon) which suited given our late function as many hotels have a last minute rush at 10am which generally causes issues with tables and food availability.
Appreciate it can have knock on effects on check out but a good call for guests.
Staff were really helpful and pleasant which always helps.
Only used limited facilities as we purely needed a room for the night although will certainly use again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveJuliet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iblack, General Manager at Novotel Manchester Centre, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments they are very much appreciated and my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed yourselves at Novotel Manchester Centre. I look forward to seeing you again hopefully soon. Kind regards, Iain Black
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed for the Rugby Grand Final weekend! We arrived and were pleasantly greeted by a clean, modern reception area, this is as pleasant as my stay got. We checked in, not being told times that breakfast was served, what time check out was etc. After checking in we went to our so called room to open the door and be greeted by someone else's belongings. When we headed back down to reception we were given no apology and just a lame excuse! Having worked in hospitality for a while now I know this is the least someone could do! The rooms were nothing special for what was paid for them and they were very simple. I did not like the fact the toilet was in a different room to the sink, very unhygienic! Beds were very uncomfortable resulting in a very sleepless weekend! The rugby was brilliant, shame the hotel let the weekend down! Wont be staying again!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gemx2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iain2, General Manager at Novotel Manchester Centre, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay at Novotel Manchester Centre. I was sorry that we failed to deliver in a number of areas. I have discussed your comments with my team to ensure we take immediate steps to overcome these issues. Please contact me when you next plan to stay in Manchester and I will personally ensure you have great stay. Kind Regards Iain Black
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vantaa, Finland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

Hotel has feeling like a 5 stars but there were couple of small things that didn't work.
Extra bed was not straight (another end was higher than other), bathtub drain cork was "stuck" and we removed it by our selves.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Timo1976_Fin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iain2, General Manager at Novotel Manchester Centre, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
I was sorry you encountered a few problems during your stay and I have taken the opportunity to discuss these issues with my team. Be reassured we welcome your feedback. I do hope we will be able to welcome you to our hotel once again. Kind Regards Iain Black
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
77 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

Close to Manchester Piccadilly, China Town, the tram network and the city centre.
This hotel has been refurbished since my last visit in 2009. It now has a really contemporary look.
Good breakfast really nice bar.

Room Tip: In a quiet area, rooms at the back are probably the quietest
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mr_Pablo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iain2, General Manager at Novotel Manchester Centre, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay here at the Novotel. Hope to welcome you back in the near future. Kind regards Iain black
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

I was in Manchester to watch the worlds most wonderful football team..thats City not not the other mob..On to the review..the Hotel is centrally located..the rooms are small but so are most of the newly constucted/refurbished hotels these days ..so no change there..As with most Novatels the food is good..in this case very good so no complaints there..

The Novotel/Pullman chain has been splashing a great deal of money lately on revamping ..I am not sure it is well spent..Three large Televisions in one bar/dining area spaced around seven feet apart appears to be overkill to me..even if they were showing Chelsea getting thrashed by Athletico Madrid..I would recommend this place for a short stay..

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank avalonsilver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iain2, General Manager at Novotel Manchester Centre, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Thank you for your feedback following your stay at Novotel Manchester Centre. We look forward to welcoming you once again in the future. Kind regards Iain Black
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.0 mi away
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
0.1 mi away
Arora Hotel Manchester
Arora Hotel Manchester
#19 of 115 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,378 reviews
0.0 mi away
Roomzzz Manchester City
Roomzzz Manchester City
#6 of 115 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.1 mi away
Townhouse Hotel Manchester
Townhouse Hotel Manchester
#43 of 115 in Manchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Manchester Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Manchester Centre

Property: Novotel Manchester Centre
Address: 21 Dickinson Street, Manchester M1 4LX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Manchester
#22 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#25 Business Hotel in Manchester
#31 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#44 Family Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Manchester Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Manchester Centre is an AA 4 star hotel in an ideal location for business travellers, just 3 minutes walk from the Conference Quarter and the Central Business Core of Manchester. Take a break at the Novotel and explore the surrounding Chinatown area, visit Old Trafford (the home of Manchester United FC) and discover designer shops, nightlife and local attractions. eXchange Food and Drink Lounge is the place to kick back relax and unwind after a busy day. 24 hour room service, gym, sauna, steam room and seven meeting rooms for up to 90 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, ACCOR, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, HotelsClick, HRS, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Novotel Manchester Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Manchester Centre Hotel Manchester
Accor Manchester Centre
Manchester Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing