We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy...tasty...good prices....”
Review of Jack Spratt - CLOSED

Jack Spratt
Price range: $8 - $23
Cuisines: International, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: A favourite local hideaway brimming with bohemian charm, Jack Spratt offers relaxed continental-style cuisine. Showcasing a homemade menu, wholesome Jack Spratt favourites include sizzling grill cuts, hand-pressed burgers and flavoursome vegetarian options, whilst a selective wine list showcases carefully chosen international bottles. Jack Spratt is renowned for its eclectic music playlist, and draws in a following with its regular live music sessions.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
375 reviews
272 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Cosy...tasty...good prices....”
Reviewed February 9, 2014

I've been here a few times now, with different people for different events....to catch up with a friend, for my wedding anniversary and again for my husband's birthday. Each time I have opted for the set menu, and each time I have enjoyed the food very much. Prices range from around £15-20 for 3 courses, per person and £14-20 for a bottle of house wine. The staff are friendly and helpful and the service is good too. I would recommend this for any occasion, have a look at their website as their menu does change seasonally. I have had burger, braised ox cheeks, ham hock terrine, kedgeree, pasta.....all kinds..it's traditional food presented in a modern way....enjoy!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank worldwide002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

503 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    281
    136
    49
    23
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Mill town
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Good food- bad toilets”
Reviewed February 8, 2014

Visited Jack Spratt on a voucher deal midweek. The front of house is eclectic.and a little quirky. The staff were very pleasant and the food was tasty and well presented.
Where this establishment falls down massively is the terrible washroom facilities. For a city centre restaurant the toilets were akin to what you would find in a field at a pop festival. The management need to improve on this quickly.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tartanteaser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Vegetables”
Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

If you like an meat alternative to a dish It's the place to be. No faults. Good atmosphere and service.

Helpful?
Thank Zack C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Poor toilet facilities”
Reviewed February 1, 2014

Visited 31.1.14. Meal was lovely,.staff very pleasant and helpful, would have made another visit in the near future until I visited the toilets. What a disgrace, one was a building site, the other looked like a few pieces of chip board had been nailed together with big gaps ever where. This really needs sorting.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank warwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WEST YORKS
Level 6 Contributor
1,015 reviews
688 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 294 helpful votes
“Average food at a premium price”
Reviewed January 27, 2014

This is a comfortable restaurant which offers good service and a reasonable range of comfort food.
We came for lunch and decided to go for a couple of signature dishes. We shared the Pulled Pork and Smoked Cheese sandwich and the Fish butty. We decided to share a portion of the onion rings as they were highly recommended both on Trip Advisor and by our waiter.
The sandwiches were reasonable with the pork the better in our opinion and there was a little shortage in the fish sandwich with the bread easily winning.
The onion rings could have being better but they should have had at least 30 seconds to drain the excess oil from them as the top two were nice but the longer they sat in the bucket the greasier they become.
The bill cam to just under £20 with two cokes which was a little on the expensive side but with a little more care and attention this may have being worth the money.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ANDY K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jack Spratt also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing