We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Birthday trip” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of O2 Apollo Manchester

O2 Apollo Manchester
Ranked #35 of 171 things to do in Manchester
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The O2 Apollo Manchester opened on August 29th 1938 and is one of the premier concert venues in England, with shows from every major rock, pop and comedy act on the touring circuit. The breadth of styles of events covers every market - the cutting edge of modern British music, through some of the biggest artists from overseas, popular comedy, and music for older generations. With both fully seated and part-standing formats, this versatile venue increases its footfall and presentations year on year. Art Deco in style, the Grade II listed building has been central to the British touring circuit for decades, attracting Best Venue nominations and patrons from across the globe.
Irvine, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Birthday trip”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

The door staff were very friendly to us while we waited and when we got into the venue we had plenty of help finding our seats

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank GingaNinja1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    142
    61
    24
    26
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Alright, but...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Seen a few shows here, and there are plus and minus points.

It's easy to get to vis taxi from the station, and we didn't have a problem finding a taxi afterwards.

However, during an Ed Byrne gig a few years ago, we were extremely annoyed by the fact the bar seemed to be open during the entire show, and hence there was a constant stream of people leaving and returning to their seats. It beggers belief that these people would spend good money on a gig and then go and miss half of it because they need a drink!

Also, during the rare-and-hard-to-get-tickets-for Flight of the Conchords gig, we missed the visual impact of the first song. This was because some people arrived late, and instead of making them wait at the side until a suitable point in the show, a member of staff was 'helping' them to find their seats by standing in front of us in the aisle for about 5 minutes. This ruined the first song for us, as we couldn't see the stage and missed the Conchords entrance, despite being sat on the aisle. Very frustrating, and remains a lasting memory of the gig.

However, when we saw the Mighty Boosh here, there were no problems.

Would visit the venue again only if there was no other choice in Leeds or Sheffield.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Multi_taskers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great concert”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

We went to see George Thorogood & The Destroyers who were amazing!

We queue jumped using the O2 priority lane, this is a great idea and an added bonus, as it saved waiting in the cold.

I couldn't believe how many touts were around the entrance though and at times it was quite uncomfortable.

No problems with staff or stewards and it was great the bar was shut during the performance but I was annoyed by the constant movements of others at the gig (during the performance) with people going in and out for cigs and to the kiosk at the entrance but that was up to them I suppose.

We phoned a taxi, Metro Taxis on 0161 480 8000, straight after it finished and it arrived 5 minutes later. We paid £20 to Stockport. I noticed a couple of car parks beside the venue which were only £5.

Would return if there were any other gigs I fancy.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank sparksteph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“George Thorogood concert”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

We went to see George Thorogood last night at the O2 Apollo and it was fantastic. Yes the venue is old but that didn't matter to us. We had a great view in the stalls and because this is a small venue I think all of the seats would be okay. The sound was amazing. We didn't want it to end. We got a taxi to the venue as we were staying in the city and it was cheap. There were plenty of taxis about at the end of the night and we got one very quickly. I would go back again especially if George was playing .

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank sheila34945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Brilliant concert - Appalling venue”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

The Josh Grogan concert last night was brilliant. It's a great venue in terms of being 'intimate' but it needs updating. O2 Apollo is letting Manchester down. As the audience was definitely more than 50% female the toilet facilities left much to be desired.... endless queues. The toilets situated off the foyer (2) did have a sign inside directing us to others... but it was hidden behind another door and having queued for over 20 minutes to get that far no-one left to go elsewhere. There were a more (5) in room off the auditorium (again very long queue) and apparently others behind the stalls bar. At the end of the performance the queues were there again and the stalls bar doors were closed so that option wasn't available. This all really spoilt our evening.
Parking was secure for a fee (£7) on rough ground nearby. Arrive early if you plan to use this. This cars are packed in nose to tail so we had to rush back to our car so that those we were blocking in could leave. It doesn't make for a relaxed evening.
Fortunately it was a lovely evening but if it had been raining (as it can in Manchester!) we'd have been queuing for a long time in the rain to get in.
Also all caps are removed from bottles, even from water purchased at the bar. Holding a plastic bottle without spilling through a concert isn't easy - and I ended up wasting what was left at the end. (Didn't want to drink too much in the performance because of the aforementioned 'loo' problem!)

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank mingulayann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed O2 Apollo Manchester also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to O2 Apollo Manchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing