We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Silent Night”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Travelodge Manchester Central Arena
Ranked #29 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 3, 2014

No-one at reception, so we used the self-service check-in machine, which was ok except that it allocated us a double room (when we had clearly booked a family room), so when we got there, there was no duvet etc for the spare bed (They were eventually sent up later, after having to ask twice). The check-in machine may be faulty (which hardly inspires confidence in future use). The room itself was fine. The only problem was that the extractor fan in the bathroom was not working. Having stayed in many Travelodges over the years, this is (in my experience) almost guaranteed to happen to us, so these days we just put up with it. Otherwise, the room was consistently peaceful during all of our two-night stay. This may have been partly because only a few rooms in the hotel were occupied, but also possibly because (I would like to think) Travelodge these days seems to have learnt from experience (even though it’s not ‘rocket-science’) to place quiet people well away from noisy people. Thanks for that, Travelodge. The worst thing was my making the mistake of filling in the feedback form, which Travelodge said would only take a few minutes (but which took me over half an hour, for no reward). My advice would be, don’t bother to fill in a Travelodge feedback form. Post your comments directly on a website like ‘tripadvisor’ instead.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 85Dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,583)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,394 - 1,400 of 1,583 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2014

Only a 7 minute walk in to the city this Travelodge is ideally situated and recently refurbished. It is also all you need for the Arena as it is 3 minutes away. The hotel is clean in all areas, comfortable and has pleasant staff who tend to your needs. The rooms are quite large and equipped with what you need.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graham W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

The staff were friendly and helpful, the food is ok and cheap, the booze is cheap. The room is plain, no fridge, no phone, no paperwork but clean and comfortable and hot as other reviewers have stated. The location is an easy walk to downtown. However, this stay reminded me how the chain has really become US style procedure oriented. We arrived at 1.30pm and, because we hadn't paid for an early check in, had to wait even though rooms were available. The staff had no authority to approve anything more than a half hour concession, ie check in at 2.30. When I asked for a late check in, the immediate answer was "yes, for 10GBP". The staff cannot make any bookings for you either in their hotel or elswhere.
So, in spite of all that, the hotel is a cost effective place to stay, 106GBP, for two nights, is comfortable, if hot, with a good location.

Room Tip: If you think you might need to open a window, ask for a room away from the main road, Ducie Street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2013

Great location, clean, friendly staff etc. Slept better than I sleep at most Travelodges - was in room away from lift and stairs. No pressure to shower - just a pain when washing hair and means it takes forever. Was on 3rd floor, 331. Overall good stay though and will definitely return!

Room Tip: 331 was good - away from noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruth F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2013

The room was basic and clean. Comfy beds and good nights sleep. Only draw back was the room was so hot

Hotel is close to the phones 4 u arena and Victoria station.

Excellent value for money if you are looking for no frills

The guy on reception was brilliant, most friendly welcoming and helpful.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
Thank moredela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

Hotel looked nice and Clean, the room had an overpowering smell of air freshener upon arrival and was boiling hot.
We turned off the radiator straight away however even with this turned off, we roasted and unfortunately had a terrible nights sleep because of it.
When you opened the window you could hear the sounds of Manchester city so that wasn't a viable alternative.
Which is a shame as the hotel looked lovely and was very clean just would of preffered not to spend the night sweltering.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
1  Thank CommGhost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeUK, Sophie from Customer Care at Travelodge Manchester Central Arena, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2013

We do expect all of our customers stays to be as comfortable as possible so we are really sorry to learn that you were unable to have a good night sleep to the temperature in your room CommGhost. Unfortunately not all of our hotels have air conditioning, however we do have a number of fans available from reception on a first come, first serve basis.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

I can only praise this hotel & staff they were very friendly & welcoming we had a great stay it's in a really good location for the Phones for you Arena (MEN) and a great location for the city centre.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
1  Thank misspertwee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Manchester Central
Travelodge Manchester Central
#33 of 120 in Manchester
1,143 reviews
0.7 mi away
Travelodge Manchester Piccadilly Hotel
0.2 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Manchester, City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street
2.1 mi away
Travelodge Manchester Upper Brook Street
0.4 mi away
Mitre Hotel
Mitre Hotel
#95 of 120 in Manchester
925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Manchester Central Arena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Manchester Central Arena

Address: Rajan House 61 Great Ducie Street, Manchester M3 1RR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in Manchester
#33 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
Price Range: $59 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Travelodge Manchester Central Arena 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Travelodge Hotels Ltd and Evoline ltd so you can book your Travelodge Manchester Central Arena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Manchester Central Arena Hotel Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing