We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great aside from no water pressure in shower!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Travelodge Manchester Central Arena
Ranked #35 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 22, 2013

Great location, clean, friendly staff etc. Slept better than I sleep at most Travelodges - was in room away from lift and stairs. No pressure to shower - just a pain when washing hair and means it takes forever. Was on 3rd floor, 331. Overall good stay though and will definitely return!

Room Tip: 331 was good - away from noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruth F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,688)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,502 - 1,508 of 1,688 reviews

Reviewed December 21, 2013

The room was basic and clean. Comfy beds and good nights sleep. Only draw back was the room was so hot

Hotel is close to the phones 4 u arena and Victoria station.

Excellent value for money if you are looking for no frills

The guy on reception was brilliant, most friendly welcoming and helpful.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
Thank moredela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

Hotel looked nice and Clean, the room had an overpowering smell of air freshener upon arrival and was boiling hot.
We turned off the radiator straight away however even with this turned off, we roasted and unfortunately had a terrible nights sleep because of it.
When you opened the window you could hear the sounds of Manchester city so that wasn't a viable alternative.
Which is a shame as the hotel looked lovely and was very clean just would of preffered not to spend the night sweltering.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
1  Thank CommGhost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeUK, Sophie from Customer Care at Travelodge Manchester Central Arena, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2013

We do expect all of our customers stays to be as comfortable as possible so we are really sorry to learn that you were unable to have a good night sleep to the temperature in your room CommGhost. Unfortunately not all of our hotels have air conditioning, however we do have a number of fans available from reception on a first come, first serve basis.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

I can only praise this hotel & staff they were very friendly & welcoming we had a great stay it's in a really good location for the Phones for you Arena (MEN) and a great location for the city centre.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
1  Thank misspertwee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013

We stayed for one night at the travelodge because we had a jls concert at the phones for u arena/m.e.n arena. The hotel was perfect location for the arena, just across the road!
The hotel reception was quick with polite, helpful staff, the hotel was clean and the room was really nice as it has just had a re-furbishment! The food off the menu was nice and the breakfast buffet was nice with plentiful of choice. I would recommend this hotel for short stays if you have a concert at the arena, it is about 2mile from picadilly station and 2/3 mile from deansgate and shopping areas but a taxi is approx £6-8. A really enjoyable stay

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ks81977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2013

They won't tell u clearly but Check in time is 3 pm, they charge u over $20 if u want to check in early! They won't even allow u to leave ur luggage at the hotel! Even though they have empty rooms they won't let u check in nor allow u to leave ur bags at the hotel. They didn't even allow us to pay that later as we didn't have GBP with us at the time of check in. It's their way or the highway. It's their way of making extra $ from each guest. The location is far and unsafe and you will end up paying more money for taxi.
The room also smelt like urine. It was quiet awefull that u couldn't stay in the room.
Do urself good by choosing another hotel near the CBD which in the end will probably cost u less and won't cause u hassles.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Ethan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeUK, Amy from Customer Care at Travelodge Manchester Central Arena, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2013

Thank you for your review Ehsan F. Our check in time is 3pm across all of our hotels however should you need to access your room early you can check in from 12 noon at a £10.00 charge, which is subject to availability. Unfortunately we do not provide storage facilities at our hotels and are therefore unable to offer a left luggage service. We are sorry to hear you felt the location was unsafe; we take the safety and security of our customers seriously and ensure that our hotels are secure. Our housekeeping staff are fully trained to make sure our rooms are up to a great standard and they should notice any unpleasant smells and air the room thoroughly. We would like to take this opportunity to investigate the concerns that you have raised, please use the contact us button on our website to provide us with more information which will allow us to offer a resolution.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2013

For a two day business trip, this made a great base for my team and it was a good location for various events in the heart of Manchester.

The rooms had been upgraded and were very well decorated although the carpet in my room was unsettlingly wet in places.

I had a problem on the first night, which another guest echoed - some sort of boiler or heating system kicked in and made so much noise that it felt as if I was in the bowels of an oil tanker. I moved the next night and it was fine but got no sleep on the first night.

The speed of service on the reception was quite slow with a number of errors made during the check-in process but the man on the desk was very nice and it was difficult to be too annoyed despite being on deadlines.

Breakfast was good but is overpriced. There should be an option with or without cooked food.

While I had cooked breakfast, my team had a tea and a bowl of cereal and to pay £8 for that seemed steep.

It would have got four our of five from me if not for the noise on the first night and as long as you have a quiet room, this is a good place to stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David_W_Alexander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Arena/Printworks) Hotel
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Manchester Central
Travelodge Manchester Central
#37 of 120 in Manchester
1,217 reviews
0.2 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Manchester, City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mitre Hotel
Mitre Hotel
#92 of 120 in Manchester
980 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street
0.7 mi away
Travelodge Manchester Piccadilly Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Manchester Central Arena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Manchester Central Arena

Address: Rajan House 61 Great Ducie Street, Manchester M3 1RR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Manchester
#33 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
Price Range: $50 - $186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Travelodge Manchester Central Arena 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Travelodge Hotels Ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Travelodge Manchester Central Arena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Manchester Central Arena Hotel Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing