We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Travelodge Manchester Central Arena
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Mitre Hotel(Manchester)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Premier Suites(Manchester)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (1,763)
Filter reviews
1,763 results
Traveler rating
793
608
231
73
58
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
793
608
231
73
58
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscar park next doorstayed heretravel lodgeroom was cleanminute walkattending a concertexcellent locationmain roadearly checkall you can eatfamily roomwould stay here againbusy roadbudget hotelshort staydouble roomexcellent stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,580 - 1,585 of 1,763 reviews
Reviewed December 14, 2013

They won't tell u clearly but Check in time is 3 pm, they charge u over $20 if u want to check in early! They won't even allow u to leave ur luggage at the hotel! Even though they have empty rooms they won't let u check in nor allow u to leave ur bags at the hotel. They didn't even allow us to pay that later as we didn't have GBP with us at the time of check in. It's their way or the highway. It's their way of making extra $ from each guest. The location is far and unsafe and you will end up paying more money for taxi.
The room also smelt like urine. It was quiet awefull that u couldn't stay in the room.
Do urself good by choosing another hotel near the CBD which in the end will probably cost u less and won't cause u hassles.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Ethan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeUK, Amy from Customer Care at Travelodge Manchester Central Arena, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2013

Thank you for your review Ehsan F. Our check in time is 3pm across all of our hotels however should you need to access your room early you can check in from 12 noon at a £10.00 charge, which is subject to availability. Unfortunately we do not provide storage facilities at our hotels and are therefore unable to offer a left luggage service. We are sorry to hear you felt the location was unsafe; we take the safety and security of our customers seriously and ensure that our hotels are secure. Our housekeeping staff are fully trained to make sure our rooms are up to a great standard and they should notice any unpleasant smells and air the room thoroughly. We would like to take this opportunity to investigate the concerns that you have raised, please use the contact us button on our website to provide us with more information which will allow us to offer a resolution.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2013

For a two day business trip, this made a great base for my team and it was a good location for various events in the heart of Manchester.

The rooms had been upgraded and were very well decorated although the carpet in my room was unsettlingly wet in places.

I had a problem on the first night, which another guest echoed - some sort of boiler or heating system kicked in and made so much noise that it felt as if I was in the bowels of an oil tanker. I moved the next night and it was fine but got no sleep on the first night.

The speed of service on the reception was quite slow with a number of errors made during the check-in process but the man on the desk was very nice and it was difficult to be too annoyed despite being on deadlines.

Breakfast was good but is overpriced. There should be an option with or without cooked food.

While I had cooked breakfast, my team had a tea and a bowl of cereal and to pay £8 for that seemed steep.

It would have got four our of five from me if not for the noise on the first night and as long as you have a quiet room, this is a good place to stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David_W_Alexander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2013 via mobile

Best thing about the hotel is location for Men arena or phones 4 u as it is now. Accommodation very basic but after all this is the Aldi of the hotel world. All in all good value for money and two minutes from the back of the arena. Only down side was the sole less area it's situated in but what do you expect for under 50 pounds if you book early.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank familytraveller247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Hotel is clean and in a good location.
Check in is at 2.30 pm. Arrived at 2pm but despite rooms being ready and reception staff being free were not allowed to check in early. Instead we were directed to sit in the bar. No doubt so that we could start spending money.
No luggage room available to leave bags despite hotel being in the middle of Manchester City centre.
I was very unimpressed with no soap in the bathroom. Unable to wash hands after using the toilet. Every public toilet has a soap dispenser.. I think this is a basic requirement and could pose a health risk for the hotel and people staying in it.
Lovely flat screen on room wall, unfortunately no remote control to go with it.
Not a bad hotel if you can get it cheap. We paid £120 and it was definitely not worth that.
Given a choice would choose Premier Inn over Travelodge any time. Basic standard is much better.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pauline V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeUK, Dianne from Customer Care at Travelodge Manchester Central Arena, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2013

Thank you for your review Pauline V, our check in time is 3pm in all of our hotels however we do give our customers the option to purchase an early check in service which costs £10.00 and allows our customers to check in from 12 noon. Unfortunately our hotels do not have storage rooms and we are unable to offer a left luggage service. However we would expect our guests to be provided with soap in all of our rooms and we are sorry to learn of the lapse in service on this occasion, we’ll be sure to pass on your feedback to our hotel management team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2013

Overall this travelodge is much better than some I have stayed in and this is largely due to the refurbishment and cleanliness of the hotel. The hotel is located within walking distance to the arena and the shopping centre. A taxi is needed for nights out in Deansgate Locks and the street aimed at students etc but this is only around £5 each way in a pre booked taxi. There is also a bar and food available for guests.

I was annoyed that staff do not allow you to check in prior to the 3pm check in time unless you have paid £10 for early check in at noon, even if the room is actually ready and waiting for you, which ours was. I arrived at a Premier Inn recently at 08:30am and was allowed to check in as the room was ready. Sadly the same can't be said for a Travelodge. Obviously paying £10 for guaranteed early check in is a useful service to offer, however I can't help thinking that it is way of Travelodge making more money. It is my opinion, that should your room be ready, whilst it not being guaranteed, you should be allowed to check in.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SarahM90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeUK, Amy from Customer Care at Travelodge Manchester Central Arena, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2013

Whilst we are pleased to learn you found our hotel to have a high standard of cleanliness Mooseman100, it is regrettable to learn you were unhappy with our early check in service. Our rooms are available from 3pm, however should our guests wish to check in at 12pm then we do offer an early check in service which costs £10.00. We ensure that we have a few rooms ready before 3pm to accommodate guests who wish to arrive early. This is so that we can continue to offer competitive rates in great locations. Thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews