We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Only fair”
Review of Sugar Junction

Sugar Junction
Ranked #3 of 44 Dessert in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Only fair”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Visited this cafe after reading the reviews, they seemed very impressive . It really did not live up to the reviews, are the cakes freshly made? Are they bought from a bakers, or home -made? I asked for more tea and the pot was filled with hot water, but the tea leaves were in my strainer. I was not happy.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SugarJunction, Owner at Sugar Junction, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review Sugar Junction. We are really disappointed that you did not enjoy your visit to our tea room. Our cakes are all homemade by Myself and My Daughter who own the tea room. With regards to your teapot refill. We do offer a free top up of hot water for your pot, however if you would like a fresh pot of tea of course we are more than happy to do this for you. Some of our leaf teas are finer than others and tend to pour into the strainer more freely, I am sorry this seems to have been the case here. We do hope you will come back and give us another try and sample another of our home made cakes. Many thanks Sue and Cheryl Owners.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

619 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    344
    148
    70
    36
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oldham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Sweet as sugar”
Reviewed February 8, 2013

OMG ! I've now found my idea of sweet heaven .
Had the pleasure of Sugar Junction just before Christmas, a lovely Sunday afternoon with friends .
As soon as we arrived , warm friendly smiles from the staff who all looked like pin ups from the 1940/50s, stunning I must say !
We were taken downstairs as our party was of larger size, to beautifully laid out tables with china cups and saucers awaiting us.
Felt at home and very cosy indeed .
We all had the sandwiches , cakes and gorgeous tea (manchester tea) , well and truly scrummy.
Well worth a visit as I know you will be over the moon with this little haven on tib st , I surely was and cant wait to go back and try more teas and have first class service

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stacey b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SugarJunction, Owner at Sugar Junction, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Thank you so much for writing such lovely things about our tea room, we are absolutely over the moon to hear that you enjoyed your visit. We do hope we have the pleasure in welcoming you back to Sugar Junction in the very near future. Warmest Regards Sue and Cheryl owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lovely find thanks again to trip advisor”
Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

Really lovely little tea rooms, amazing sandwiches with great fresh ingredients! Didn't try te cakes but will definitely be back to try them! Staff all friendly and polite xx

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sueaust76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SugarJunction, Owner at Sugar Junction, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time out of your day to review Sugar Junction we are absolutely delighted that you enjoyed your visit to us. Please do pop in again and sample one of our home made cakes we would love to see you. Warmest Regards Sue and Cheryl Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Lovely Afternoon Tea”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

A group of 6 of us went for afternoon tea last Saturday. We were expecting great things having read the Trip Advisor reviews, and certainly weren't disappointed.
The first thing we noticed was that the place was very busy and people were queueing for a table.
As we had booked, a big table had been reserved for us downstairs. It was quieter downstairs and lovely to be away from the hustle and bustle.
Afternoon tea consisted of a good choice of tea available to order, substantial and tasty sanwiches, and a great choice of cakes including macaroons, bakewell tarts and massive fondant fancies. Plus the scones were huge!
One of our party had the dairy free afternoon tea, which looked really nice also.
Glad I didn't have lunch beforehand, but still couldn't eat everything, so we had it boxed up to take home.
Everything was really tasty, service was great, I'll definitely go back.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank daftblond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SugarJunction, Owner at Sugar Junction, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Wow thank you so much for taking the time to write about your visit to Sugar Junction, we are over the moon to read that you all enjoyed your Afternoon Tea, we try our very best to offer the highest quality food along side great customer service so it is always fantastic to hear such positive feedback. We really do hope you will come back and visit us soon. Warmest Regards Sue and Cheryl Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Lovely cakes”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Had afternoon tea here today, with cakes and sandwiches. The cafe is nicely decorated, and the staff dressed in what I think is a forties way. Not what you expect to find in central manchester.The food, though, was delicious. The cakes were very tasty, the scones in particular being very light and scrumptious.. The service was very good, and the waitresses were friendly and polite. The people on another table were having a tuna melt of immense proportions, that I would like to go back and try myself. Very well situated for anyone on a shopping trip, as I was.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Patricia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SugarJunction, Owner at Sugar Junction, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Thank you so so much for taking time out from your day to write such lovely words about your visit to Sugar Junction, we are so pleased you enjoyed your visit to our tearooms. Our scones are indeed a firm favourite with our customers and we are delighted to read that you enjoyed them. Please do come back and visit us soon. Warmest Regards Sue and Cheryl Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sugar Junction also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Sugar Junction? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing