We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“absolutely wonderful”
Review of Sugar Junction

Sugar Junction
Ranked #5 of 48 Dessert in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Reviewed December 16, 2012

I've been here a number of times, and each time the service has been great - friendly and quick service. They have a large range of teas, including a few which are a beauty in the glass tea pots. Sugar junction also do coffees and milkshakes, and have some Christmas drinks out at the moment too, as well as Christmas sandwiches. The seasonal products are a nice thought. The sandwiches are offered in both white and brown bread - thick slices of bread with a generous filling. Their macaroni cheese is served in a generous portion, and is rich and cheesy - unlike some watery macaroni cheeses I have had elsewhere. So much choice in homemade cakes - they have traditional British cakes, as well as exciting different flavours. I've tried a number of their cakes now. All of which have been very yummy and the portions a good size.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank huge_appetite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SugarJunction, Owner at Sugar Junction, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2013

Thank you so so much for taking the time to review Sugar Junction Tea Rooms, we are absolutely over the moon to read that you have enjoyed your visits to us. We are constantly trying out new cake recipes and are so happy to hear that you have sampled a few of them. Our Mac and Cheese is one of our most popular dishes and is indeed a firm favourite. We do hope we have the pleasure in welcoming you back to Sugar Junction in the very near future. Warmest Regards Sue and Cheryl Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (654)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

552 - 556 of 654 reviews

Reviewed December 14, 2012

My husband, Mum and I went to the Sugar Junction based on their excellent reviews. The venue decor was very welcoming and the staff were friendly.

My Mum and I ordered scones while my husband had the chocolate Guinness cake. My Mum and I agreed that the scones were lovely and the little jars of jam and cream were a nice accompaniment but *shock horror* the Guinness cake was burnt around the edges and very grainy! It was like the sugar or salt hadn't been mixed in properly. Perhaps this was a one off though and we were unlucky enough to catch the chef on a bad day.

I would have rated the restaurant a four rather than three but after having the bill brought to us we were left waiting for a very long time for a waitress to come and take the money and return our change. We then noticed that the tables around us were having a similar experience. Our change was never returned and we eventually decided to leave. Although we could have reminded someone that we were expecting some change it bothered me that they either forgot or even worse, automatically assumed that they were entitled to what was rather a large tip.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Punchy_but_accurate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SugarJunction, Owner at Sugar Junction, responded to this reviewResponded December 15, 2012

Hello and thank you so much for taking the time to review Sugar Junction, firstly may I say how delighted I was to read that you found Sugar Junction a pleasant environment and the staff friendly. I am deeply concerned however to read that your husband's Chocolate and Guiness Cake was not up to our usual high standard. It was myself that baked the cake and I made 2 from the same batch of mixture I have checked the other cake and the consistency does seem to be in keeping with the recipe however you are quite right in saying they were slightly overdone on the outside. We have just recently purchased new ovens and are still getting used to them. We are really sorry for this. My main concern is that you had to wait for an unacceptable length of time for your bill to be sorted out and even more so that you did not receive your change. This is 100% an oversight on our waitresses part and for this I sincerely apologise. If you would be so kind as to email me at sue@sugarjunction I will arrange for payment of your change along with a voucher by way of apology. We take our customer feedback extremely seriously and are only happy when we know we have met and exceeded our customers expectations when visiting Sugar Junction. We very much hope we have to opportunity of welcoming you back to our Tea Room. Warmest regards Sue and Cheryl Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2012

While wandering around the Northern Quarter looking for somewhere nice to have a decent breakfast, we were recommended Sugar Junction by the staff at North Tea Power. Both of us had eggs florentine, with delicious fresh English muffins, home made hollandaise sauce which was rich and smooth, and some free-range eggs poached to perfection: definitely what we needed on a cold morning, and couldn't recommend it enough.

The staff were very helpful and friendly; trying to accommodate us in a busy café, but it was worth the wait for the table, and not only was the breakfast delicious, it was also very reasonably priced.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SinLancelotSin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SugarJunction, Owner at Sugar Junction, responded to this reviewResponded December 15, 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time out from your day to write such kind words about Sugar Junction. We were absolutely over the moon to read that you enjoyed your Eggs Florentine, they are a firm favourite at Sugar Junction. We very much hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Sugar Junction in the future, perhaps for some of our Tea and Cakes. Warmest Regards Sue and Cheryl Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

I visited here with a Livingsocial voucher with a friend so was excellent value. Afternoon tea was fab! The best I've had! The service was excellent, very friendly and inviting! Cakes to die for! Will 100% visit again!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Chloelouise1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SugarJunction, Owner at Sugar Junction, responded to this reviewResponded December 15, 2012

Wow, thank you so much for the lovely review, we are absolutely delighted to hear that you enjoyed your Afternoon Tea with us, We do hope you will join us again for some of our Tea and Cakes. Warmest Regards Sue and Cheryl Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

Been here a couple of times, the staff are friendly and all dressed from the 40's. The coffee is basic but nice, but its the cakes where this place comes alive. every cake is tasty as is the food off their menu. Not many seats so get there early.Milk shakes are also awesome.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank gingerAndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SugarJunction, Owner at Sugar Junction, responded to this reviewResponded December 15, 2012

Hi and thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review on Sugar Junction, we are so delighted to read that you enjoyed your visit to our Tea Rooms and enjoyed your Coffee and Cakes. We do hope we have the pleasure in welcoming you back in the very near future. Kindest Regards Sue and Cheryl Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sugar Junction also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Sugar Junction? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing