We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely vintage tea rooms”
Review of Sugar Junction

Sugar Junction
Ranked #3 of 44 Dessert in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Brunch, Free Wifi, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
bolton
Level Contributor
78 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Lovely vintage tea rooms”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

I visited with my daughter and loved this lovely little but very popular tea rooms. Everything was delightfull will certainly be back againt

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank bodrumgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SugarJunction, Owner at Sugar Junction, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank you so much for the lovely feedback regarding your visit to Sugar Junction, we are absolutely delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit to us. We do hope you will join us again for Tea and Cake. Many thanks Sue and Cheryl Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

623 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    347
    149
    70
    36
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Breakfast- no scrambled eggs!!”
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Visited SJ for the second time in two months. Was very disappointed to see a "Robinsons Bakery" delivery van pull up outside SJ and delivery bread and what looked like filled rolls and sandwiches- thought...maybe not so "home cooked & baked after all...." Overheard a customer ask for scrambled eggs with her breakfast...waitress replied, sorry we font do scrambled eggs!! Could hardly believe our ears. The customer on hearing this walked out. Overall- tea and cake was nice, if slightly over priced. Not sure if i'll be back again, given my observations during my visit.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DucatiBiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SugarJunction, Owner at Sugar Junction, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review Sugar Junction. Yes we do have our bread and rolls delivered from Robinsons bakery, the oldest family bakery in Manchester but NO they are not filled rolls or pre made sandwiches, our sandwiches are all freshly made on the premises, but we do not bake our bread, not sure if there are many Tea Rooms do bake their own bread but we do not buy mass produced bread and rolls we buy from a local bakery who have the highest quality bread available. With regards to Scrambled Eggs, you are correct we do not have Scrambled Eggs on our menu, instead we have Eggs, Benedict, Eggs Royale and Eggs Florentine, this has been offered as prior to changing our menu we consulted with our customers as to what they wanted and they indicated they would prefer this to Scrambled as we are a small family run business we prefer to offer high quality food rather than compromise on quality with an extensive menu. We do hope you will visit Sugar Junction again and sample one of our FRESHLY made sandwiches prepared on the premises. Warmest Regards Sue and Cheryl Owners.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheadle Hulme, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
168 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Still brill!”
Reviewed October 5, 2012

I added Sugar Junction to Trip Advisor after going and falling in love with it last year. I've been a few times since and it is still going strong. Took my mum a few weeks ago and now she's also a huge fan. Is their success thanks to me adding them to Trip Advisor? Does that mean free cakes...?

Definitely worth a visit but be warned, you will want to eat all the cakes and then redecorate your house in cutesy vintage wallpaper.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank shadeofshyness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SugarJunction, Owner at Sugar Junction, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Thank you so much for your lovely review. We do love to hear from customers who have been visiting us on a regular basis. We are absolutely delighted to hear that both you and your Mum enjoy your visits to Sugar Junction. Of course free cake next time you visit or being so lovely. Sue and Cheryl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Little Gem”
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Called in to Sugar Junction late afternoon today. From the outside it looks nothing special but once inside the atmosphere was great. We usualy go to Nero or Starbucks and have the usual custom coffee. In here we opted for tea, Ive not drank tea for years but the variety in here was great. I opted for a Nutty Tea and it was great my friend had a flower tea which I have never seen before, Good selection of cakes and snacks, Well worth a visit. See you again soon.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vegasguy6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SugarJunction, Owner at Sugar Junction, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Thank you or taking the time to write such lovely things about Sugar Junction. We are glad you enjoyed your tea. I think you bought some of our loose lea tea to take home with you, so hopefully you are enjoying it as your morning cuppa. Hope to see you both again soon Sue and Cheryl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Had a really nice time”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Food was great, the tea was lovely and service was very good as well. We got a Living Social voucher so it was excellent value for money as well. Had a really nice time and we are looking forward to going again. The only very minor issue was it did get a little bit warm but once they opened the door it was fine.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Will025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SugarJunction, Owner at Sugar Junction, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review Sugar Junction. We are so pleased you enjoyed your Afternoon Tea, we really hope to see you again soon. Sue and Cheryl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sugar Junction also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Sugar Junction? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing