We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”
Review of Sugar Junction

Sugar Junction
Ranked #3 of 43 Dessert in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
437 reviews
319 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed September 22, 2012 via mobile

Went here today, they didn't have a lot of choice for breakfast, the coffee was ok but I didn't like all the cakes sat open at the side of us, dread to think how many people have breathed or worse on them, surely more hygienic to cover them?

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank spendleb48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SugarJunction, Owner at Sugar Junction, responded to this review, September 23, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to review Sugar Junction, we are really disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your visit. With regards to our Breakfast Menu, we are a small family run tearoom and have taken the decision to produce high quality food and specialise in a small but well prepared menu to ensure each and every dish is homemade to the highest standard rather than offer a huge menu and compromise on quality. With regards to our cakes being uncovered please be assured that hygiene is one of our highest priorities and would never compromise this. We do hope you will come back and visit us. Warmest regards Sue and Cheryl Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

629 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    350
    149
    72
    37
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“My new favourite place in Manchester!”
Reviewed September 22, 2012

My boyfriend recently moved to Manchester and as we love to go out for breakfast, we've been trying a few different places. This morning we had planned to go to another place nearby that we've been wanting to try, however after looking at the menu it just seemed ridiculously overpriced. We went for a bit of a wander, stumbled upon Sugar Junction, and decided to give it a try -- what an excellent decision! Staff were very friendly and the food was wonderful, probably the best eggs benedict I've had. We each had breakfast, tea, and shared a cake, and it was a very reasonable £18. We'll definitely be back!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank hannahrw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SugarJunction, Owner at Sugar Junction, responded to this review, September 23, 2012
Thank you so so much taking the time to review Sugar Junction, we are absolutely over the moon to hear that you enjoyed your first visit to Sugar Junction and your Eggs Benedict. We are so looking forward to you visiting us again soon. Warmest Regards Sue and Cheryl Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tommypip
Level Contributor
165 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Our favourite cafe/ tearoom”
Reviewed September 21, 2012

My husband and I visited again today, we live on the Wirral so it's not our local, only wish it were! The place is gorgeous, really well thought out. The staff are the friendliest for miles around, the food the tastiest, the drinks the most exquisite.

Try the Chai Lattes, they are the best we have ever tasted, not too spicy, just perfect.

This place is perfect for a quick tea, brunch, afternoon tea for a treat. I am just jealous of those who live closer.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank seahorsesparkle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SugarJunction, Owner at Sugar Junction, responded to this review, September 23, 2012
Wow!! Thank you both so much for taking the time out to write such lovely things about Sugar Junction, we are absolutely delighted to hear that you enjoy your visits to see us, we are all looking forward to seeing you both again soon. Warmest Regards Sue and Cheryl Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best tea shop in town”
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Sugar junction is a great place to relax and enjoy fantastic food and a selection of teas that is the best in Manchester by far. The staff are very friendly and efficient. I have visited several times and found everything great each time ( which is a wonder as my friends will tell you I'm very choosy lol).
The place is small but cosy and a good atmosphere. Whatever you do girls don't change a thing.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank john1476
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SugarJunction, Owner at Sugar Junction, responded to this review, September 23, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to review Sugar Junction we are so glad you enjoy your visits to our tea room, we work very hard to ensure that our customers have a nice time when they visit us. We very much look forward to seeing you again soon. Warmest Regards Sue and Cheryl Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Cannot Find a Fault”
Reviewed September 15, 2012

My wilfe and myself chose to go on the basis of the reviews on this website . We were not dissapointed ! From the moment we entered we were taken care of, the waitress was wonderful answered any questions we had and could not be any more helpful. The range of food is great and the quality is great too . Next time we are in Manchester we will defiantly return .

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SugarJunction, Owner at Sugar Junction, responded to this review, September 23, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to write such lovely things about Sugar Junction we are so pleased both your wife and yourself enjoyed your visit to our tea room, we very much hope you visit us again soon. Warmest Regards Sue and Cheryl Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sugar Junction also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Sugar Junction? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing