We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My new favourite place in Manchester!”
Review of Sugar Junction

Sugar Junction
Ranked #3 of 45 Dessert in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Reviewed September 22, 2012

My boyfriend recently moved to Manchester and as we love to go out for breakfast, we've been trying a few different places. This morning we had planned to go to another place nearby that we've been wanting to try, however after looking at the menu it just seemed ridiculously overpriced. We went for a bit of a wander, stumbled upon Sugar Junction, and decided to give it a try -- what an excellent decision! Staff were very friendly and the food was wonderful, probably the best eggs benedict I've had. We each had breakfast, tea, and shared a cake, and it was a very reasonable £18. We'll definitely be back!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank hannahrw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SugarJunction, Owner at Sugar Junction, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2012

Thank you so so much taking the time to review Sugar Junction, we are absolutely over the moon to hear that you enjoyed your first visit to Sugar Junction and your Eggs Benedict. We are so looking forward to you visiting us again soon. Warmest Regards Sue and Cheryl Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (642)
There are newer reviews for Sugar Junction
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

567 - 571 of 642 reviews

Reviewed September 21, 2012

My husband and I visited again today, we live on the Wirral so it's not our local, only wish it were! The place is gorgeous, really well thought out. The staff are the friendliest for miles around, the food the tastiest, the drinks the most exquisite.

Try the Chai Lattes, they are the best we have ever tasted, not too spicy, just perfect.

This place is perfect for a quick tea, brunch, afternoon tea for a treat. I am just jealous of those who live closer.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank seahorsesparkle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SugarJunction, Owner at Sugar Junction, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2012

Wow!! Thank you both so much for taking the time out to write such lovely things about Sugar Junction, we are absolutely delighted to hear that you enjoy your visits to see us, we are all looking forward to seeing you both again soon. Warmest Regards Sue and Cheryl Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Sugar junction is a great place to relax and enjoy fantastic food and a selection of teas that is the best in Manchester by far. The staff are very friendly and efficient. I have visited several times and found everything great each time ( which is a wonder as my friends will tell you I'm very choosy lol).
The place is small but cosy and a good atmosphere. Whatever you do girls don't change a thing.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank john1476
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SugarJunction, Owner at Sugar Junction, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to review Sugar Junction we are so glad you enjoy your visits to our tea room, we work very hard to ensure that our customers have a nice time when they visit us. We very much look forward to seeing you again soon. Warmest Regards Sue and Cheryl Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

My wilfe and myself chose to go on the basis of the reviews on this website . We were not dissapointed ! From the moment we entered we were taken care of, the waitress was wonderful answered any questions we had and could not be any more helpful. The range of food is great and the quality is great too . Next time we are in Manchester we will defiantly return .

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Frank D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SugarJunction, Owner at Sugar Junction, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2012

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such lovely things about Sugar Junction we are so pleased both your wife and yourself enjoyed your visit to our tea room, we very much hope you visit us again soon. Warmest Regards Sue and Cheryl Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

I visited this restaurant with my partner and mother in law after it was recommended by a colleague. First impressions were good. We were seated immediately and the staff were friendly. The place is cosy and down to earth. The porcelain was of good quality and I did enjoy the fact that everything was mixed up. It was like an Alice in Wonderland tea party. The restaurant filled up quickly and so clearly this place is popular, probably due to word of mouth and building a strong reputation. My mother in law greatly enjoyed the 'Northern Quarter' blend of tea and my partner enjoyed her chai latte. We ordered mac'n'cheese, which was very good, and also cauliflower and cheese soup (soup of the day), which was the highlight. Our deserts were macarons and bakewell tart. The macarons were not perfect but they are very difficult to get right, and more to the point, to keep right. Kudos for the effort. I would absolutely recommend this place to anyone who wants a top quality afternoon tea without some of the stuffiness you find at the Radisson Blu or Harvey Nichols. It is neither particularly expensive nor particularly cheap. Be warned, if you wish to book for the weekend you are not able to do this on the day and you must be in a party of 4 or more.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank MarkWJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SugarJunction, Owner at Sugar Junction, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to review Sugar Junction we are all delighted you enjoyed your visit. Our mac and cheese is a firm favourite with our customers and we are so glad you liked it. We are very much looking forward to welcoming you back again in the near future. Warmest Regards Sue and Cheryl Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sugar Junction also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Sugar Junction? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing