We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Why did I stay here?”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Smithfield Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Manchester
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Smithfield Hotel
Ranked #18 of 26 Manchester B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Why did I stay here?”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Me and the wife planned to stay here for three days but could only bear 1. Seriously, it has to be the most grotty, run-down B+B in Manchester. Holes in the wall, staff incredibly rude, blocked fire exits, damp carpets and beds so lumpy sleep is virtually impossible. Rooms really small and stink of damp. I wasn't expecting 5 star quality like some people do but I wouldn't even recommend this hotel to my worst enemy. The staff need lessons on how to treat customers, and the rooms need re-plastering. The bathroom walls and ceiling were covered in mould, toilet was filthy, lighting didn't work. NEVER EVER EVER book a stay here, you will regret it just as we did

Room Tip: Don't stay here!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kalahari234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    2
    1
    0
    14
See reviews for
4
6
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

Good point-close to big shopping centre and within walking distance of Etihad stadium.

Bad points-everything else. Dingy, stinking back street pub where noone seems to know anything. Tried to charge us more than agreed via email, didn't tell us on booking that check in was 2.30pm-we arrived at 9am!-told us check out was 12 noon but manager came to our room at 11.30am to tell us we should have checked out at 10.

The place is dirty and stinks. You have to use a coded back door to enter and exit outside opening hours, which is down an alley which at night was full of drunk people smoking. You can enter through the pub if it is still open but it is also stinking. The stairs up to the rooms are disgusting and a fire hazard-no lighting, littered with tools and paint tins. We booked a double room but got one with a single bed and bunk beds. Bunk beds not comfortable at all.

I could go on.... just don't stay here if you can possibly find anywhere else. They also only accept cash, no credit cards. We paid £40 per night, £39 too much in my opinion.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jjhorner6669
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Manchester hotels

Great Yarmouth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

smithfield hotel where do we start we arrived to find the price had gone from 120 pounds to 150 pounds,next we where showen the room could not belive it holes in the walls wallpaper hanging off the walls mould on ceiling walls a door that did lock properly two beds pushed in one jamed up against the wall single bed had large screws sticking out holding the legs on, a bedside table but no bedside light. next i looked for the bathroom one floor down it was clean but shower left a lot to desire you had to keep moveing bout to get wet, i hpe they never a fire there as a lot people could not get down the narrow stair case. the place had feel of a rabbit warren i could go on but just give the smithield a wide beath if booking a bed for the night in manchester i well not be recommending to my friends

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peter813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swansea
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

We should have realised when we went up the stairs past the piles of paint pots and cement bags etc! The room itself had had some work done on it, but nothing was finished. We were shown up, but the key didn't fit, so were left while the right key was found. We should have run out there and then! The old fashiond lampshade on the ceiling had no bulb in it, bare plaster was on one wall, complete with holes to acces the shower controls from behind. On 3 walls was a wallpaper of huge black, grey and white stripes - not pleasant to wake to, especially if you've had a drink the night before! There were 2 beds, double rammed up against one wall, and a single but no bedside light and a small rickty table with a kettle on it. Nowhere to put our clothes at all!! Tea, coffee and sugar provided as well as little cartons of milk. Pity there were no mugs or teaspoons! On to the en-suite - as wide as a shower cubicle and as long as the room. Toilet one end, shower the other, and an eyebath sink, really handy for you to wash your hands while you are on the loo as it's SO close! Oh yes, and a light bulb (didn't have to ask for it either!) which was positioned too low and was hit everytime the door was opened or closed! Lovely! It would have been so much better if the shower had actually worked as well. (We had to use a grotty bathroom which we found.) They had obviously only just finished the main tiling, but not finished as the smell of adhesive was strong along with an aroma of fresh plaster! The tiles were, however, lovely! The only reason we stayed for the two nights, was that there was nowhere else available, and we were meeting up with friends.
We weren't even told how to get out of the accomodation in the morning, nor the door code to get back in! Maybe they thought we weren't going to come back! It was almost worth staying for the entertainment value!!!! The really worrying part was that the way out was the fire exit as well, and if a fire had stared, we wouldn't have known how to get out, and considering the way was strewn with old beds, DIY tools etc, as you can see in the photos, we wouldn't have guessed it was the fire exit.

Room Tip: A room in another hotel!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bigbirdSwansea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

One would like to have given a full review of our 1 night stay in the Smithfield Hotel if one had actually had access to the bedroom that was booked in advance and paid for when we got there. Upon arrival it was clear that there was some sort of confusion. My friend had booked 2 weeks in advance over the phone for us to stay one night for £50, we read the reviews on journey up and were a little apprehensive but being girls who like to give people chance we needed to see for ourselves what the place was like. When we got there it was clear another colleague had let our room out so the barmaid on duty had to make the beds in another room, we were given a free drink for this inconvenience. This wasn't a problem for us. We were shown to our room 20 minutes later which clearly hadn't been cleaned, it wasn't the end of the world as I had some hand sanitizer and cleaned the toilet and the sink, however the bedding was fresh. All we needed was a place to stay for one night as we were heading out most of the night to a party in central Manchester. The barman came to our room with a key and the code to the outside side door which we were able to get into the hotel with. I told the barman we would be back after 12 am and he said that was fine just use the code and the front door would be locked. We returned at around 3am tried the code........................... tried the code for 30 minutes, knocked,banged and tried the code again, we never got to our room, we rang the hotel also, no answer!!! Freezing, frustrated and annoyed we managed to hail a taxi and stay at a friends house till 10 am luckily. At 10 am we went back to the Smithfield and tried the code again, it still didn't work, we banged and the door opened, the barman who was on the night before asked us what had happened, he did apologise profusely and said that the door code we had been given was wrong, we did get a full refund, ......................... personally do not book this Hotel ever

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sue r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Shields, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 17, 2013

For 25 pounds a night I wasn't expecting the Ritz. Just somewhere safe and clean with a bed. Not somewhere with stained carpets, faulty electrics, holes in the walls and door, doors hanging off hinges, fleas, and my personal favorite was the windows that were secured by pegs. The list could go on. Though the staff were really helpful and friendly I'd be ashamed to show this to the public.

Just pay the £120 for somewhere decent. In my line of work I have traveled all over the country and stopped in many different kinds of hotel, this is by far one of the worst.

Room Tip: Just pay the £120 for a decent central hotel or just learn to commute.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Myself and my son stayed here 22/12/12. Like most people I was a bit dubious about staying in a room above a pub. We are frequent visitors to Manchester, and normaly stay in one of the Premier Inn, Holiday Inn chains etc. Alas this time I left it too late to book hotel accomondation and was quoted £120-£140 respectivly....for one nights stay. Evan after reading the previous negative reviews here we opted to stay at the Smithfield. "any port in a storm etc"
I can prove all the nay-sayers wrong as we were given the warmest welcome ever "at 10.o clock in the morning"to check in, and shown a lovely room, that was clean and airy with tea/coffee set up etc.
The Manager Chris was amazing, even let us check out at 2pm and continualy showed an interest about our stay etc. A massive bonus for me and my son was the amount of Take-Aways adjacent to the Hotel. If you are over for shopping the Arndale is a 3 minute walk away, or like me Man Citys ground is only a 15 min walk away.
At night the bar is a lovely place to relax in with lovely "proper beer and cider". 10/10 for me.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank terryot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester City Centre Arena
0.1 mi away
Premier Suites
Premier Suites
#43 of 116 in Manchester
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#14 of 116 in Manchester
4,728 reviews
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.2 mi away
The Light ApartHotel
The Light ApartHotel
#1 of 81 in Manchester
837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smithfield Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smithfield Hotel

Property: Smithfield Hotel
Address: 37 Swan Street, Manchester M4 5JZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing