We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good customer service”
Review of Khan Baba - CLOSED

Khan Baba
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: A new benchmark in Indian dining has been reached. From the fiery Tandoor - oven-grilled chicken and mild lamb khormas from the North of India to the spicy dishes of South India. Khan Baba Indian Bar & Grill Restaurant combine the traditional and modern cooking methods with the finest spices and freshest ingredients, which are sourced locally to ensure you experience the true exotic flavors of INDIA! Current offers include: Taster Tuesday - "2 for 1 Tuesday" - Cheapest main course will be free when 2 people order 2 starters, 2 mains and 2 sundries; "Make it a Party" Offer - Come in a party and for every five diners not only will one of you eat a main meal free but we will add a bottle of wine too, with our compliments; "Our Hero's" Offer - 40% discount on meals for NHS staff, Emergency Services, Police, Fire Brigade and Armed Forces! Bring your ID card with you and up to 6 people can benefit from the discount. Discount valid: Monday to Thursday.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

I had a take away - I asked for the veggie curry with no ghee - It was still quite oily. Other food was fresh, including the complimentary dips - But it all lacked flavor. I wouldn't go out of my way to go back

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Blue_Ahoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda K, Public Relations Manager at Khan Baba, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2013

Thank you for your valued feedback. We are very sorry to hear that your meal wasn't to your liking. We always cook our food to order and to the specifications given with regards to ingredients used and how spicy it should be. We apologise that on this occasion we didn't get it right and we hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you in the future. Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (305)
There are newer reviews for Khan Baba
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

279 - 283 of 305 reviews

Reviewed February 10, 2013

Having tried the other Indian restaurants in the vacinity we decided to give Khan Baba a go a couple of weeks ago (we have already been back since so that gives an indication of how much we like it here)

On both occasions it has been busy but this didn't affect the excellent service we received from the Staff. On both occasions we were seated straight away and on both occasions were allowed to choose where we could sit.
Drinks ordered and Poppadoms over in the blink of an eye, good choice of dips though personally I would like one with a bit more of a kick :)
Given enough time to settle with drinks before being asked about mains, I hate being rushed so I appreciated this, food ordered and asked for it spicey - no problem was the reply, spot on!

The Lamb here is superb, good portions and good quality tender Lamb, The madras had a real kick and coplimented really nicely with the superb Cheese and Chilli Naan.
The atmosphere is nice and relaxed (good lighting and decor), and the waiters very attentive and pleasant - neither in your face or too distant.

The only thing missing from Manchester is the option of a Naga curry, if this was on the menu here I wouldn't consider anywhere else again. Will be be back for our 3rd trip here? you Khan bet your life we will :)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SeedyBriggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda K, Public Relations Manager at Khan Baba, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2013

Thank you so much for your wonderful review! Our lamb is of the highest quality which gives it a tenderness that you won't find with mutton and we pride ourselves on our service so it's really great to be appreciated in this way. Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you soon :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Wanted a change from the other curry houses nearby so i gave this place a try, recommended by my friend.

Decor was nice and cosy and modern. Clean and just right

Shown to our tables promptly.

For starters we had the lambchops which are highly recommended
Mains I had the Rogan Josh mild hottness with some mushroom rice.

The food was fantastic and is certainly up there with the East z East and Akbars. The plus point is it isn't so busy at peak times so you don't end up waiting 2 years for a table.

Service:

Was very good and not rushed unlike other places who guve you the bill before you ask.

Summary:
Good food, decent prices and excellent service, highly recommended

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank csgohan4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda K, Public Relations Manager at Khan Baba, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2013

Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback. It is always lovely to hear such kind words and I will pass these onto the staff who will be extremely happy to hear it. We hope to see you again soon :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

Khan Ba Ba is on our doorstep and until recently we've walked past it and gone to Akbhars as it's always busy, which is obviously a good sign. The food in here though is a different level to Akbhars and tastes like it has been cooked to order, which presumably it has, as you can select mild, medium or hot on several dishes. Not too sure why people have complained that things are too spicy when you can choose how hot you want it yourself. It's also much more aesthically pleasing than Akbhars, which is need of a good refurb.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank TheOwlofRiceStreet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda K, Public Relations Manager at Khan Baba, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2013

Thank you very much for the wonderful comments! It's always a pleasure to hear such good feedback. Our food is indeed cooked to order and you can even watch us prepare and cook it via our open kitchen.

As a special thank you we would love to offer you a 20% discount on your next meal with us! We hope to see you again soon and if you would like to book a table please email us at info@khanbaba.co.uk and we will take care of the arrangements. Thank you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

Visited here last night it was very very busy, as was the whole of Manchester! We had to wait for 50 minutes for a table, but we sat in the bar & ordered a bottle of wine. The staff worked well under pressure. The food was good when it arrived & had good flavour. Would return if in central Manchester again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank moy34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda K, Public Relations Manager at Khan Baba, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2013

Thank you so much for your wonderful review and for taking the time to write one. We are always looking for ways to improve our service and will take your comments on board. When you are next in Manchester we would love to see you again. We can also reserve tables on our quieter evenings so you have the option to telephone ahead to book. Thank you again and see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Khan Baba also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing