We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This is no Boutique PUB!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Mitre Boutique Pub

The Mitre Boutique Pub
Ranked #908 of 2,184 Restaurants in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Drinks, Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Tewkesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
305 reviews
162 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“This is no Boutique PUB!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2014

Its opposite the Old Wellington and the Oyster bar. How pretentious to call it's self 'boutique' its a boozer.....

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Thomo61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    41
    17
    12
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Extremely friendly staff, with a great sense of humour.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2014

Two of my friends and I were staying in Manchester for the weekend so wanted a place quite central, we found The Mitre to be in a fantastic location and we were able to avoid taxis when going out.
Upon arrival, the staff were extremely welcoming and jovial, laughing with us and maintaining a relaxed and comfortable atmosphere. This continued throughout the weekend as it seemed nothing was too much trouble for them, if it meant our stay was improved.
The food was fine, we ate a breakfast on that Saturday before heading off out for the day.
My friends and I will go out of our way to ensure we get a booking in this location next time we visit the city.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ScouseLads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
79 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Expensive Bar Prices”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2014

This 'Boutique' Pub is surrounded by 3 other pubs in the centre of the outside summertime drinking quarter. This place is nearly double the price of the cheapest pub in terms of drinks prices. £4.50 for a bitter! No wonder it was the quietest of the 4 on a sunny Friday lunchtime. The food looked ok but not as good as the Crown or Wellington. So here's the tip - if you want a nice drink outside in the sunshine - don't go here. Sinclairs is cheapest, but not the best beer. The Old Wellington has lots of choice and is cheaper than the Mitre and the Crown next to the Mitre serves better and cheaper food.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrWWilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brill”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for a hen party lvd it rooms wa spot on n staff wa great wi 12 very loud girls will deffo go back again especially for the breaki

Helpful?
Thank Zowie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“worth a visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2014

Visited here on a weekend away, had passed it before & from the outside it looks like a really old, quaint pub, inside does not match the outside. Has been done out really well, funky velour booths and throne like seats give a very modern feel to it. We had a few drinks & bar staff were very friendly. Only gripe would be the embellishment on the menu! We ordered a sharing platter, which was very nice, but the menu said it came with a 'mountain' of chicken wings, 4 chicken wings does not a mountain make! Other than that we had a really good afternoon, well worth a visit.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jmcg71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Mitre Boutique Pub also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Salford, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to The Mitre Boutique Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing