We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing food!!”
Review of The Rose Garden

The Rose Garden
Ranked #156 of 2,254 Restaurants in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $19 - $40
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: New to West Didsbury’s Burton Road, The Rose Garden serves exciting contemporary British food created by owner and head Chef William Mills. It’s very much a family affair — William’s elder Brother Tom constructed the interior to a design created by their architect father, the restaurant’s striking visual appeal is complemented by professional but informal table service from William’s younger siblings.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing food!!”
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Just had Sunday lunch there. Im from london but been in manchester for four months, this was the best food I've had since being up north. The roast beef was better here than the roast beef I was served in gordon ramseys michelin star claridges. Seriously good food here and wine was excellent too!! Go, you won't be disappointed.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Foodyfoodyfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

497 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    329
    108
    36
    15
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
MANCHESTER
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fantastic food, pretentious decor”
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Visited here on recommendation of a friend and after reading the Tripadviser reviews. Food was fantastic and deserves all the previous accolades but I felt it was a little over priced for quite small portions. Don't miss the bread and butter pudding, that was sublime. We visited early evening on a Friday. The bill for two for 3 courses each, 2 soft drinks and 2 coffees was £85. Service was excellent particularly from the waitress. The decor was a bit too trendy for it's own good as were the 2 waiters.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Hero17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Not over keen”
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Small restaurant but never cosy, for me the decor was a real turn off, too bright and garish - the food was OK nothing amazing - wine was good. Maybe its me, I prefer lower lights and warmer surroundings - I felt like I was stuck inside a mint. Have been to lots better and won't be going back.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MelManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burgess Hill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Twist on modern classics”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

A Saturday night visit to this lovely little restaurant on the Disbury strip. Full to capacity, the atmosphere was great and everyone seemed to be enjoying themselves. The menu is fantastic and the food is incredible. I thought it was very good value for money and the staff were very friendly. Again my Wife got stuck into the drinks menu, so no room for dessert. I see a pattern emerging here......

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Sussex_Reviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wish we had discovered sooner...”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Have sampled majority of restaurants in Didsbury and West Didsbury and these guys take the top spot for me. They have got the atmosphere spot on - friendly, relaxed and tasteful. The service was very good. Our server was very attentive and you could see she was really trying hard to do a great job. It was also good to see the owner keep an eye on everything going on - it was clear she expected to see tables cleared and customers not want for anything. The menu was solid, seasonal and it was good to see they change the specials regularly. They got the balance right in terms of offering choice and not overwhelming you. I ordered the novel 'chip shop prawns' followed by the 'double duck'. Both choices were not typical for me, but I like a restaurant which presents food in a way which encourages you to try new things. I enjoyed both dishes enormously and my only slight criticism was that the main was slightly too large. No biggie though :) The wine list was also good, we opted for a reasonably priced pinot and were not disappointed. Would wholeheartedly recommend and will be back.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Max1894
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Rose Garden also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to The Rose Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing