We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent room at this price point”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Manchester City Centre Arena
Ranked #30 of 119 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 21, 2014

Only missed out on a 5* review because breakfast was a nightmare trying to fight through the millions of greedy, rude Chinese so we gave up.

If you can overlook breakfast, then the hotel is modern, clean, great rooms and a good location in Manchester City Centre along with free Wifi.

I'd definitely stay here again if the price remained at £52/night for a Friday!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnpb78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,439)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Manchester City Centre Arena
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

665 - 671 of 1,440 reviews

Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

My family (husband and 2 year old) and I stayed for two nights at this hotel and we found the location excellent, nearby car parking was very reasonable (£4.50 per 24 hours) the room size was good however would be tight if there were four people in the room. The bathroom was a good size, nice plasma TV, tea and coffee making facilities and hair dryer. The breakfast is also very good. Given they advertise it as free I wasn't expecting much but it was really good.

My only complaint about this hotel is the bed. It is far to soft. If either my husband or myself moved the other was woken up as the bed moved.

Apart from that I would recommend this hotel

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Loulabell_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2014

This hotel is a good solution for who is traveling for business in Manchester.
The location is good and the rooms are not bad at all. The staff is very friendly and open to help.
I kindly recommend this hotel in case you're visiting this city.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Nicola D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2014

This is one of the newer Hi Express hotels with nicer decor and bathrooms than some of the older ones.
I used it for a city break and the location was excellent and so was the price. Staff were helpful and they have a great taxi booking app at reception. Walking distance from the main Manchester attractions and lots of good eating places nearby.
Breakfast is only so so but it is free so hey!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Sally J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights and enjoyed everything about the hotel,,, very central and in easy reach of all shops bar's and restaurants, ,, hotel was very clean rooms were also spotless,,, fresh towels each day and room tidied,,, breakfast was what I expected and no complaints there,,, would stay there again and staff very friendly and helpful

Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank eltel35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2014

I chose this hotel due to the great location (its fantastic, especially if you want to visit the northern quarter) and also its very reasonable parking rates. Upon check in the staff were very friendly and informative and our room was clean and very well decorated. Negative points included the fact that the wi fi was shockingly poor and the bathroom lights had to be kept on all the time otherwise they didn't get bright enough for us to even see when we were in the bathroom. The worst point though was the breakfast. Upon arriving at the breakfast area we weren't even able to find a seat. After waiting for a while we were able to perch up at the bar. I went up to get some breakfast while my partner stayed seated. Everything was empty, there was no pastries or hot food, it was all waiting to be replenished. I returned to my partner and as we waited for the food to come out the queue was getting bigger and bigger so in the end we left it and went and got some food from the Spar opposite the hotel, very disappointing.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Chelsea B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2014

The hotel was spotless, staff were friendly and efficient. Breakfast was self service with a very good selection of food. The bedroom was quite sufficient for our needs, beds comfy,bathroom very spacious with a very big shower with subtle lighting, it had TV and coffee making facilities

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ellmarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester East
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester CC-Oxford Road
0.6 mi away
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
0.9 mi away
Jurys Inn Manchester
Jurys Inn Manchester
#36 of 119 in Manchester
2,854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Manchester City Centre Arena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Manchester City Centre Arena

Address: Goadsby Street off Swan Street, Manchester M4 5JY, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 119 Hotels in Manchester
Price Range: $86 - $243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Manchester City Centre Arena 3*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern and contemporary Holiday Inn Express Hotel Manchester City Centre Arena is situated right in the heart of Manchester. The Manchester Arena, Printworks, Arndale Centre, Selfridges, Harvey Nichols & Football Museum are just a few minutes walk from the Manchester Hotel. Located in the vibrant Northern Quarter with its cosmopolitan mix of boutique shops, captivating nightlife, fashion designers, creative agencies, art galleries, home to the iconic Afflecks Palace, popular cafes, bars and restaurants, the northern quarter is the cultural heart of Manchester. The Manchester Central convention complex, Man Utd and Man City Football Stadiums are all within easy reach. Ideally located for the business and leisure traveller the Manchester hotel provides you with the gateway to what the city has to offer. Please note you can use Printworks NCP parking and it costs £15 per 24hrs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, IHG, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Manchester City Centre Arena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing