We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$206
$120
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$162
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$68
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$129
$112
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$147
$111
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$167
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$183
$152
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Midland(Manchester)
$220
$161
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$101
$87
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of $103/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (1,593)
Filter reviews
1,593 results
Traveler rating
627
694
207
46
19
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
627
694
207
46
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnorthern quartercity centrescrambled egg and beansstayed hereminute walksofa bedlarge showerfree breakfastthe breakfast areayogurtcar parkvictoria stationmodern hotelwould stay againsat navprint worksbars and restaurants
Filter
Updating list...
809 - 814 of 1,593 reviews
Reviewed July 6, 2014

Pretty standard rooms for a Holiday Inn Express, so clean, comfortable and a reasonable amount of space. The hotel is well located on the edge of the Northern quarter, close to anything in Manchester city centre. The free wifi is pretty slow as others have said but just about OK for general internet use. The breakfast is quite nice food-wise but absolute chaos logistically - everyone is channelled into a thin side room where the food is laid out, but because the coffee machines are slow / people want to go back and forward it ends up being a complete log jam. Overall very good for the price though.

Room Tip: go for a low room so that you don't have to wait for the lift - one always out of service for cleaning at peak breakfast time which always strikes me as odd timing
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank senaUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2014

Was on a short business trip and would stay again. Room is new and clean and the hotel is well located, at 15 min from the train station and 10 min to the main Arndale shopping center. Would stay there again!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ela24022012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2014

Just returned from a night's stay at this hotel on Monday, while myself and a friend attended the Robbie Williams concert at the arena. Had to write a review to counteract some of the negatives said about the breakfast, for starters!

Our stay was totally hassle free. Room was modern, spotless and comfortable, with quiet air condition and a great en suite. Check in was fast and friendly, and we felt welcome straight away.

The staff are a credit to this hotel; they could not do enough for us, including charging my friend's iphone twice as she forgot her charger; and they called us a cab the morning we left, which was ready as we checked out. They were chatty and attentive at reception and bar service/room enquiries and directions to walk to the MEN were all excellent and delivered in a friendly and professional manner.

I was pleasantly surprised at the breakfast after some of the negative reviews. Firstly, it is free, which is something you don't get with certain other similar chains, and choice was perfectly adequate; buffet-style, with plenty of sausages, beans and scrambled egg; bread/toast, croissants, jam, yoghurt, cereal, and plenty of fruit juice, tea and coffee. What more do people want?!! The atmosphere in the bar/breakfast room area was relaxed and informal, and again,. the staff on duty were all excellent.

I will not hesitate to stay here again; we are at the arena fairly regularly,and I will certainly be back. The other chains need to look at this hotel's pricing and service, and use it as an example to improve themselves.

Thank-you all for a great stay. Staff are a great credit; hope the management know this!

Aside from the hotel itself, location-wise, you can walk to the arena in about 10 minutes, and it's very handy for the Arndale Centre and surrounding shops too. Bit of a cobbled area at the front of the hotel; something to bear in mind for anyone with walking difficulties, but it's not major at all.

All in all, highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vicki O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlicjaTaranowicz, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester City Centre Arena, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2014

Dear Viki, I wanted to respond to your comments to say thank you for such wonderful feedback, we read your comments with big smiles on our faces. You express a lot of thoughts that we also share and it is always wonderful to read that the work we do makes a difference. I am very happy to hear that you will be returning to us again and we all look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2014

Staff friendly and comfortable surroundings. Room a bit small but overall happy with the price I paid. £53 inc breakfast which was a full English. Website said on site parking but upon arrival I found out it was a multi car park which cost £10 for 24 hours which for central location is very good for Manchester.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KevinGallacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2014

Good greeting , room and trimmings First class , after all it is still brand new excellent value for Money great location for The Arena . To get a drink at the bar the que was 10/ 12 so forwent night cap and breakfast , uncleared tables and a free for all at the buffet , to state the obvious a budget price , budget service hope the right people read this and act on the constructive criticisms .

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Skoosh
1  Thank nickyntim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlicjaTaranowicz, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester City Centre Arena, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2014

Dear Nickyntim

Thank you for your recent stay and your honest feedback. I am very happy to read that you enjoyed most aspects of your stay. I have taken your feedback on board and we are currently looking into our options in improving the buffet area. We hope that you will stay with us again in the near future.

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews