We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holiday Inn Expressxcellent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Manchester City Centre Arena
Ranked #31 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 9, 2014

We visit Manchester often and on this occasion we stayed at the HIE MEN. This is a modern hotel and we were allocated an excellent room on the 8th floor with a great cityscape view of Manchester. The room was trendy and clean with plenty of light coming in through the floor to ceiling windows. The bathroom was compact but the shower was big. Breakfast was good although a little manic due to the size of the food area - it felt like a galley kitchen with a long queue of people waiting for food. This was the only downside. We would certainly stay here again. The staff were extremely polite and very efficient. Thanks for a great stay.

Room Tip: High floor even numbers have a great view of the Manchester cityscape
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cymrobangor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,453)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

772 - 778 of 1,453 reviews

Reviewed February 9, 2014

Congratulations to the management at this hotel - I can honestly say this was the best hotel stay I have had in Manchester city centre in the last 5 years. The outstanding thing was the quality of staff on duty Saturday 9 Feb pm to Sunday 10 Feb am. Reception, Housekeeping and the staff on duty at breakfast we all smiling, pleasant, efficient and appeared to be enjoying their jobs. The staff seemed to be a mix of eastern European and English but there was a sense that they all got on. Parking is a slight issue especially when the weather is awful but bang in the middle of the city it is never going to be easy. A good value, enjoyable stay with an excellent breakfast included. Well done.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jackie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2014

This place gets very high marks based on location, cleanliness, spaciousness and most important of all staff friendliness and competence. The location is perfect for city center activity, proximity to trains and especially proximity to an old part of Manchester with excellent restaurants. The reception, bar and rooms were immaculately clean and fresh. Most importantly for me, the staff were friendly, welcoming and could not have been more accommodating when I had a (rief) problem with WiFi. I will be back

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank InLondonAgain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2014 via mobile

With the free city centre shuttle right outside the front door, this is a great place to stay at a very reasonable cost. New, modern hotel with spacious (for Europe) rooms, plus free wifi and breakfast. The only negative is no onsite parking. Great place to stay.

Stayed: February 2014
Thank pmmorgan003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2014

I booked this hotel pretty much at the last minute for a friend and I. We had a twin room (605) which gave us everything we needed. The beds were comfortable, the bathroom was modern and clean (and the shower was huge!). I can't say anything about the breakfast offerings as the curtains in our room were such an effective blackout that neither of us were awake early enough. Locationwise the hotel is well situated- in the Northern Quarter of the city with lots of nearby bars and restaurants. Didn't notice any noise when in the room though. The reception staff were really helpful, and provided us with maps and advice on where to go. I would definitely return here for my next short break to Manchester!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SojoP16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014

The whole experience was amazing stayed here for one night for my boyfriends birthday and we loved it from start to finish really made the experience lovely, the staff were so kind to leave him a birthday card in the room which gave it that lovely touch ... We had a great view in our top floor room and very comfy bed.. very clean room and spacious shower and as it was our first time in Manchester the staff gave us a map to help us get around, thank you for the great experience we will deffinetly be back again! Paige.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paige-Rgriffiths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014 via mobile


Rooms are well sized and very modern and very clean!
Hotel staff are very helpful and friendly,Breakfast is nice but not a massive range to choose from but still very nice. Very comfortable beds didn't wake up once.
Overall brilliant stay at a cheap price

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank waltersh26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester East
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester CC-Oxford Road
0.6 mi away
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Manchester City Centre Arena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Manchester City Centre Arena

Address: Goadsby Street off Swan Street, Manchester M4 5JY, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Price Range: $89 - $242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Manchester City Centre Arena 3*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern and contemporary Holiday Inn Express Hotel Manchester City Centre Arena is situated right in the heart of Manchester. The Manchester Arena, Printworks, Arndale Centre, Selfridges, Harvey Nichols & Football Museum are just a few minutes walk from the Manchester Hotel. Located in the vibrant Northern Quarter with its cosmopolitan mix of boutique shops, captivating nightlife, fashion designers, creative agencies, art galleries, home to the iconic Afflecks Palace, popular cafes, bars and restaurants, the northern quarter is the cultural heart of Manchester. The Manchester Central convention complex, Man Utd and Man City Football Stadiums are all within easy reach. Ideally located for the business and leisure traveller the Manchester hotel provides you with the gateway to what the city has to offer. Please note you can use Printworks NCP parking and it costs £15 per 24hrs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, IHG, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Manchester City Centre Arena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing