We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Manchester City Centre Arena
Ranked #31 of 116 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed November 14, 2013

Stayed here for one night.
Great hotel with a great staff. Especially the manager Chris who was a great help for us.
The room was not to big but it was good enough for us.
Chris also arranged a taxi transfer for only 20 pounds instead of 30+ pounds.
Breakfast was basic but tasty.
Also the hotel is on a great location with the Phones4U arena right around the corner, next to the mall and lots of restaurants where you get discount because you stay in the holiday inn.
I will definitely come back to this hotel when there is another show in the Phones4U arena

Room Tip: Ask them to arrange a taxi when you arrive at the airport. Its way cheaper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GMV_KFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,362 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    547
    604
    160
    40
    11
See reviews for
198
443
54
235
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubrovnik, Croatia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2013

Comfortable room,great shower. Had one of the best nights sleep in a hotel. Really good breakfast too.We stayed on the third floor which was great as the lift is fast. The different nationalities gave it a very cosmopolitan feel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kajunbeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with my brother and father for the weekend and it was great. Chris on reception was especially helpful and he made our stay even better. It is unusual to meet a genuine friendly and helpful person at reception in hotels so this was a nice surprise. Cheers Chris.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
Thank alanandco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2013

Comparing to other hotels based centrally in Manchester I would really recommend the Holiday Inn Express. Friendly and efficient staff (they are always able to go the extra mile for guests), good breakfast, comfortable and clean rooms.
If you are planning to do the shopping trip to Manchester that would be a good choice as the location is excellent.
Only one downside though. When I arrived there was no coffee, tea and milk in the room. I had to call the reception to get it topped up. I know I am fussy calling it a downside but that is the first thing I need after arriving - a cup of tea/coffee.
Anyway - I really do recommend this hotel

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Layla T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013

This is the first time I have stayed at this particular Holiday Inn express and found the staff very friendly and efficient.
This appears to be a fairly new hotel, and the room was very clean and the bed and pillows comfortable. The shower in the bathroom was excellent.
There is limited car parking and you will need to park at the NCP in Shudehill, which is a 2 minute walk. £15 to park overnight.
One observation. The hotel could quite easily fill its bar area, especially on a Champions League night by having Sky Sports. I overhead other guests asking the same question at the bar and reception. I was the only one in the bar and I then left to go out and find a local pub with the games on.
Overall a very nice, clean and comfortable hotel with friendly staff. I would definitely stay there again.
A good location close to the MEN arena for all music buffs.

Room Tip: The 8th floor rooms are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornton Cleveleys, null, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Had a fantastic stay at the Holiday Inn Express Men arena, room was very very modern with an extremely cumfy bed and a huge shower. TV was on so didnt have to rent from reception etc, breakfast was included which i thought would just be cereal but there was sausage, scrambled eggs and beans which was lovely!
Would definetely recommend this hotel to anybody whether its for business or vacation.
Cant wait to stay there again!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

People in the north are generally friendlier anyway however the staff at this hotel were a credit to the industry. They couldnt be more helpful. Very chatty, always checking you had a good night and all was ok. I was even given my own room for a small fee as i couldnt sleep in the other one for reasons i cant discuss.

Customer Service in the UK is very patchy and ive stayed in some holes and then the staff make it even worse by showing no friendliness. When you are away from home you need to know there are friendly people you can turn to if you have any problems.

The staff appear to work very hard in this hotel in what were difficult situations. Example breakfast on the Saturday where up to 300 could come down as its included in the room price and they had to receive some comments from winging guests when its not their fault at all.

Very poor layout of the restaurant self service. People crammed trying to manouvere with hot drinks etc. that really needs to be looked at.

Location was good. Free shuttle buses to take you round the city only 5 mins walk. Arndale centre 5 min walk. Victoria station and metro a 5 min walk. The print works also a 5 min walk. The Spar shop opposite was great and had a free cash machine.

Hope to stay there again one day.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester CC-Oxford Road
0.1 mi away
Premier Suites
Premier Suites
#43 of 116 in Manchester
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Arena/Printworks) Hotel
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Manchester, City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Manchester City Centre Arena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Manchester City Centre Arena

Property: Holiday Inn Express Manchester City Centre Arena
Address: Goadsby Street off Swan Street, Manchester M4 5JY, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 116 Hotels in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Manchester City Centre Arena 3*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This brand new, modern and contemporary Holiday Inn Express Hotel Manchester City Centre Arena is situated right in the heart of Manchester. The Manchester Arena, Printworks, Arndale Centre, Selfridges, Harvey Nichols & Football Museum are just a few minutes walk from the Manchester Hotel. Located in the vibrant Northern Quarter with its cosmopolitan mix of boutique shops, captivating nightlife, fashion designers, creative agencies, art galleries, home to the iconic Afflecks Palace, popular cafes, bars and restaurants, the northern quarter is the cultural heart of Manchester. The Manchester Central convention complex, Man Utd and Man City Football Stadiums are all within easy reach. Ideally located for the business and leisure traveller the Manchester hotel provides you with the gateway to what the city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, IHG, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Manchester City Centre Arena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing