We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Manchester City Centre Arena
Ranked #31 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Very good location, good service and friendly staff.
The only problem at present is that there is a building site just in front of the hotel. Parking can be a problem,if visiting with a car.Very good breakfast is served.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tinu55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,439)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Manchester City Centre Arena
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

877 - 883 of 1,439 reviews

Reviewed August 29, 2013

Stayed here in Room 122 for 3 nights. The hotel is new-ish and therefore lacks a bit of character. Having said that, there's nothing wrong with it. Rooms are comfy, clean and compact. My daughter and husband with their young baby had room 124 which was an excellent size and a cot was provided free of charge. Tea/Coffee & kettle provided in room. TV with quite a few freeview stations. There's aircon too. Shower was good and the bathroom spotless.

Nearby is a Spar shop. Be careful about using the ATM at the Spar. It was faulty and blank screened during the withdrawal process. My wife used another private one up the road which debited her account but didn't give her the money. My advice to anyone staying here is to only use the ATM's which belong to the main High Street banks and use the in bank ATMs. Avoid the privately owned ATMs.

Near the hotel are several restaurants of which we found TNQ the best. Also, the Arnedale shopping centre within easy walking distance. The hotel doesn't have its own car parking. You have to find the car park which the hotel recommends at £4.50/day. There's others nearby but be careful the one I used was £15.00/day.

The staff at the hotel are friendly & efficient.

Overall, I would stay here again and would recommend to others without hesitation.

Room Tip: Room 124 on the first floor at the end of the corridor is slightly bigger than the other rooms.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EngelskRikky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlicjaTaranowicz, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester City Centre Arena, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

Thank you for your comments and feedback on the hotel. I'm glad you and your family enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you again in the future.
Thank you
Kind Regards
Alicja

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

I stayed at this hotel with my husband and mother - in law.
Great hotel !!! The location was perfect and the rooms were amazing.
The breakfast was good and the staff were friendly
Will def. stay there again

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sweet_maria1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We were booked in so easily, even though we did request our room be changed(hate heights and had been given 8th floor to start with). Had no problems getting the wheelchair through the doors, access was very good, more pillows provided very quickly when we asked for some. Help was offered during breakfast, plus made not to feel a nusance, (this has happened in some places) and helpfull when asked how to get to places. Shower was very good to, Hand rail on the wall and the shower floor had reasonable ridges that didn,t hurt your feet, plus it was very clean. Even the staff doing the rooms were helpfull, extra coffee/tea plus sugar/milk. This can be a pain in some hotels as you have to keep asking. Altogether a great weekend break.

Room Tip: our 1st floor room was quite and plenty of room for our family of three adults.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

great hotel for the price. had a family room which was an excellent size, 2 big beds and 2 chairs. nice and bright rood, very good air conditioning. great bathroom, superb shower with plenty of hot water, even at peak times. good breakfast, brilliant location. the would defiantly stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank guy b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Arrived at hotel in morning & was told we couldn't check in until 2pm, which I expected. Came back at 1.30pm, same member of staff said no rooms ready until 2pm, sit down & wait, which we did. 5 mins later her colleague called us that there were rooms available. T.V not working in room, informed reception at 1.45pm & again at 5pm, nothing done about it. Very disappointed with both the manner of the girl on reception and the negative response to my complaint. Breakfast was very basic, could do with a few slices of bacon. Don't think I'll be going back to this particular hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Korky56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester City Centre Arena, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Dear Korky56,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. I am truly sorry you received service which was unacceptable. We constantly strive to provide an environment of comfort and value to our guests, therefore, we are sincerely concerned when we fall short of your expectations. I have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality of services we offer to our guests.

I hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

Pros- new hotel, so its clean and modern. Breakfast was sufficient and effective.

Cons - No parking and location difficult to find. Got to another Holiday Inn hotel earlier and was told not their hotel, so not their problem! Wonder how the management works!

Provided them my IHG membership number during check - in but was not registered to my name untik this day. Screwed up my purpose of choosing a IHG hotel if thats the case!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ah_leng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester City Centre Arena, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

Dear ah_leng,

Thank you for being an IHG Rewards Club member and for leaving us a feedback. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your room and the majority of features provided. Providing excellent customer service is one of the things we pride ourselves on and we are sorry to read that in this case you feel we have fallen short of your expectations. I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your valuable comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually. Thank you again for your comments as this is very helpful to us to ensure we are able to meet our guests expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester East
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester CC-Oxford Road
0.6 mi away
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
0.9 mi away
Jurys Inn Manchester
Jurys Inn Manchester
#36 of 120 in Manchester
2,850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Manchester City Centre Arena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Manchester City Centre Arena

Address: Goadsby Street off Swan Street, Manchester M4 5JY, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Price Range: $87 - $243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Manchester City Centre Arena 3*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern and contemporary Holiday Inn Express Hotel Manchester City Centre Arena is situated right in the heart of Manchester. The Manchester Arena, Printworks, Arndale Centre, Selfridges, Harvey Nichols & Football Museum are just a few minutes walk from the Manchester Hotel. Located in the vibrant Northern Quarter with its cosmopolitan mix of boutique shops, captivating nightlife, fashion designers, creative agencies, art galleries, home to the iconic Afflecks Palace, popular cafes, bars and restaurants, the northern quarter is the cultural heart of Manchester. The Manchester Central convention complex, Man Utd and Man City Football Stadiums are all within easy reach. Ideally located for the business and leisure traveller the Manchester hotel provides you with the gateway to what the city has to offer. Please note you can use Printworks NCP parking and it costs £15 per 24hrs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, IHG, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Manchester City Centre Arena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing