We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well designed room, good location, quiet despite being close to bars/restaurants”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Manchester City Centre Arena
Ranked #31 of 116 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Wandel
Level Contributor
305 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
“Well designed room, good location, quiet despite being close to bars/restaurants”
Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

Absolutely fine hotel, clean and with nice touches like aircon and big shower. Breakfast was included, sausages/ beans/ scrambled eggs hot and toast / croissants as well as cereal and yoghurts. Good start to the day. Quiet location despite being a very short walk to several bars and restaurants on the High St. See my other reviews for recommendations. Spotlessly clean. Spar opposite with cash machine, alcohol etc is very handy.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,362 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    547
    604
    160
    40
    11
See reviews for
198
443
54
235
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

Good location for both the MEN arena and shops. Rooms well designed and respectable size. Nice to have a sofa rather than one pointless chair. Breakfast is busy and not the best quality but sufficient to get you started for the day. One word of warning... the machine coffee is vile...avoid at all costs

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PuddingSwords
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries
Level Contributor
201 reviews
173 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We arrived mid- afternoon and parked in the Printworks Multi storey car park which is the nearest secure car park to the hotel. The walk from the car park to the hotel takes less than 5 minutes and sited behind the Crowne Plaza. Check-in was extremely quickly processed and we soon entered our room on the 8th floor which afforded fine views across the city. The hotel is in the Northern Quarter with its many bars and restaurants. The main shopping areas of Piccadilly, Market St, and the Arndale Centre are only a few minutes walk from the hotel. The MEN Arena is also a short walk away. Our room was quite well furnished with adequate hanging space for our 1 night stay. The bathroom also had a very good size shower cubicle. The bed was also extremely comfortable.
Breakfast the next morning in The Great Room was very busy with it becoming quite crowded in the food serving area. On nice days breakfast can also be taken on the Outside Terrace.
The hotel lift is mainly glass and became extremely unpleasant in the heat of the day this week.
This was our first visit to this relatively new Holiday Inn Express having stayed previously at the Crowne Plaza or the excellent Holiday Inn Media City.
We would not discount staying here again the future as this is one of the better hotels in the Holiday Inn Express chain.

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floors offer better views of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank legend14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Hotel was spotless, staff really nice and polite.
Breakfast was yummy, yes it is self service but nothing wrong with this. Sausages and toast for me but a choice of eggs, beans, yoghurts, cereals and pastries. Didn't try coffee as had apple juice. For the price it was great. Room was large, bathroom great - shower was big enough for two! Very quiet location, air con was a god send. Bed was very comfy as was the sofa. The lifts weren't for the quesy as one side is entirely made of clas. I wouldn't stay again purely because there are lots of hotels to stay in in Manc.

Room Tip: High floor offers nice views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheesy-Puff23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John O'Groats, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
224 reviews
203 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

I decided to try this hotel instead of the Crowne Plaza next door. No reason other than that I thought that I'd try it out.

But as soon as I entered it I realised that I'd made a mistake. Noisy, crowded, inattentive and uninterested staff. The reception is particularly loud.

Room was ok -standard express room. And the location is good - one can easily walk into the town centre.

But I don't like the hotel. Crowne Plaza next time.

Room Tip: I always ask for a room with no connecting door. But the reception staff were uninterested in helpin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank canoepunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester City Centre Arena, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Dear ebookpunkie,

Thank you for staying with us and providing us with your valuable feedback. We regret our hotel did not live up to your expectations. We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually.

Despite your disappointment I do hope you will return to stay with us again at some future date when you can be assured of our very best attention.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llandudno, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

Location quite good bit tricky to find though&thought it would have been nearer to the men than it was. Check in was quick and easy. Double room was nice bit small for £99 but nice big shower. Did not go down for breakfast as didn't fancy the idea of cafeteria style serving so went to 47 king street west instead which was lovely. Check out was quick and staff all friendly.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Martiwilma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Hotel is in a great area, walking distance to the arena, shopping, restaurants and museums. The breakfast was good, staff was nice and the rooms were comfortable-small but comfortable. I would totally recommend eating at Luck, Lust, Liquor & Burn if you stay here, it's about a two minute walk and the food is amazing.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fjewel95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester CC-Oxford Road
0.1 mi away
Premier Suites
Premier Suites
#43 of 116 in Manchester
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Arena/Printworks) Hotel
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Manchester, City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Manchester City Centre Arena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Manchester City Centre Arena

Property: Holiday Inn Express Manchester City Centre Arena
Address: Goadsby Street off Swan Street, Manchester M4 5JY, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 116 Hotels in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Manchester City Centre Arena 3*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This brand new, modern and contemporary Holiday Inn Express Hotel Manchester City Centre Arena is situated right in the heart of Manchester. The Manchester Arena, Printworks, Arndale Centre, Selfridges, Harvey Nichols & Football Museum are just a few minutes walk from the Manchester Hotel. Located in the vibrant Northern Quarter with its cosmopolitan mix of boutique shops, captivating nightlife, fashion designers, creative agencies, art galleries, home to the iconic Afflecks Palace, popular cafes, bars and restaurants, the northern quarter is the cultural heart of Manchester. The Manchester Central convention complex, Man Utd and Man City Football Stadiums are all within easy reach. Ideally located for the business and leisure traveller the Manchester hotel provides you with the gateway to what the city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, IHG, Expedia, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Manchester City Centre Arena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing