We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Manchester City Centre Arena
Ranked #30 of 116 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Petersburg, VA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stayed here for two nights as we were in town for a football game. The hotel was very nice and clean. The room was spacious, we stayed in a double with a sofa. It was very nice that breakfast was included, plenty of selection: juice, coffee, pastries, eggs, sausage, beans, yogurt, cereal, fruit. It's about a 5 minute walk to the shopping mall. There are plenty of places to eat and drink within a few minutes walk. There is a bar in the hotel if you don't want to venture out. The staff was very nice and very helpful in directing us where we needed to go. We took the train and then the tram in from the airport for 5 pounds each and then a taxi back to the airport for 20 pounds. I would recommend this hotel and if we ever return to Manchester, we would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cmaldon2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michelle_lonsdale, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester City Centre Arena, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Thank you for your great feedback on the hotel, I am delighted that you found us suitable for your visit to the football and that we are able to welcome you back again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,394 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    556
    623
    162
    42
    11
See reviews for
204
454
56
244
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
85 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

After much thought booked this hotel as it was a really good deal. It's not the grandest of hotels but its new so really nice.

The room was clean, the bathroom lovely and public areas clean and tidy. Breakfast wasn't up to much but it was good enough for the price we paid.

The location is great, just across from the Arndale Centre and within walking distance to most things.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon81W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michelle_lonsdale, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester City Centre Arena, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Thank you for your 5 star review on the hotel, I am pleased that you found the hotel had a high standard for cleanliness. I will pass your comments on to the housekeeping team and we hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here one night Friday 8th March just as a treat as my partner and I were going on a night out. The entrance is located right around the back not best signposted! Reception was great, we were asked what room we would like so chose one on the top floor defo worth it for the views! Parking is 15 quid so not cheap, 5 min walk to bars n restsurants of the northern quarter and the bar has happy hour on from 7 to 8 with 25% off! Defo go back very nice, clean and modern!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nixy23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michelle_lonsdale, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester City Centre Arena, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Thank you for your excellent review about the hotel, I agree that it can be difficult at the moment to see our entrance however we have new signage due soon that will hopefully eradicate any issues about how to get us. We hope to welcome you back soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontarddulais
Level Contributor
66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Stayed overnight for a concert at MEN to which the hotel is vary close. The other bonus is that it is also close to the Printworks and Arndale Centre. The staff on reception were fantastic, very welcoming and helpful. The room was great, very clean, nice big television, fantastic shower, choice of pillows. The beds were very comfy and we had a good nights sleep.
The breakfast was very good in particular as it was complementary. Everything was available and at 8.30am there was no queuing and plenty of seating available. Checkout was immediate and the taxi called was there in minutes to take us to Piccadilly. I will definitely book this hotel the next time I visit Manchester, I have stayed in 3 others in close proximity and this hotel comes out on top for service and value in my opinion.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kaz91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michelle_lonsdale, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester City Centre Arena, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
I was delighted to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us and the fabulous comments on the team and breakfast. We hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
73 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one night when visiting Manchester to see the one and only rihanna, the hotel is very modern and exceptionally clean! Really good selection of breakfast in the morning (buffet) a lovely hotel :) would defiantly stay in this hotel again when visiting manchester! It's only literally a ten minute walk to the MEN arena and to the city centre as well as basically around the corner from the print works :) good place to have a hotel as you don't need to pay out for taxis!! :)

Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Bpj240795
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michelle_lonsdale, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester City Centre Arena, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you for your fabulous feedback on the hotel, I am delighted that you found we suited for your trip to see Rihanna. We hope we are able to welcome you back next time you come to Manchester maybe even in June or July when she plays the arena again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakewell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Stayed here overnight with my husband as we were attending an event at the MEN Arena and the location and price of this hotel were spot on. We were more than happy with this hotel, it's good value for money, very clean, good staff, very comfy beds, the only thing we were slightly disappointed with was the size of the room, and the wifi wasn't great; but as we were only here for one night it wasn't the end of the world. Breakfast was included in the price of the room. There was a good selection of cereals, toast and a small hot buffet too (although not the greatest quality). We had a few drinks in the bar in the evening and it wasn't too pricey either! We did struggle to find the entrance to the hotel upon arrival so be prepared for this! We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HBez27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michelle_lonsdale, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester City Centre Arena, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you for the positive comments on your stay at the hotel, I am pleased you and your husband found the hotel well suited for your visit to the arena and that the team were good. We have complimentary Wi Fi throughout the hotel but if you found that to be a bit slow we do offer an upgrade to our premium Wi Fi for only £3.50. We hope to welcome you back again next time
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sliema, Malta
Level Contributor
256 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

we stayed here for 3 nights. we did book a twin and were given a double but there was a decent sofa bed in the room. the room and hotel are v modern but still comfortable. the room and shower were clean. there is not much room for luggage and the bed is a double ( not king).. the breakfast is buffet style and there is a good selection of fruit, cereal, yoghurt, Danish pastries and scrambled egg and sausage. there are also juices and herbal teas. the reception staff were helpful. would def stay here. it was the cheapest hotel we could find but were v happy with it's location in particular as it was close to the bars and shops.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaveMay09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michelle_lonsdale, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester City Centre Arena, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you for your 4 star review on the hotel, I am pleased that our team where able to demonstrate our great service. I will pass your comments on to the guys and we hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester CC-Oxford Road
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Jurys Inn Manchester City Centre
0.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Manchester, City Centre
0.0 mi away
Premier Suites
Premier Suites
#42 of 116 in Manchester
366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Manchester City Centre Arena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Manchester City Centre Arena

Property: Holiday Inn Express Manchester City Centre Arena
Address: Goadsby Street off Swan Street, Manchester M4 5JY, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 116 Hotels in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Manchester City Centre Arena 3*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern and contemporary Holiday Inn Express Hotel Manchester City Centre Arena is situated right in the heart of Manchester. The Manchester Arena, Printworks, Arndale Centre, Selfridges, Harvey Nichols & Football Museum are just a few minutes walk from the Manchester Hotel. Located in the vibrant Northern Quarter with its cosmopolitan mix of boutique shops, captivating nightlife, fashion designers, creative agencies, art galleries, home to the iconic Afflecks Palace, popular cafes, bars and restaurants, the northern quarter is the cultural heart of Manchester. The Manchester Central convention complex, Man Utd and Man City Football Stadiums are all within easy reach. Ideally located for the business and leisure traveller the Manchester hotel provides you with the gateway to what the city has to offer. Please note you can use Printworks NCP parking and it costs £15 per 24hrs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Manchester City Centre Arena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing