We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New clean hotel close to city centre”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Manchester City Centre Arena
Ranked #31 of 118 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“New clean hotel close to city centre”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Nice place close to Manchester MEN arena and 5 mins from the city centre. Rooms were clean and modern if somewhat simple. Breakfast was very basic but included in the price. Efficient helpful staff.
This is not a luxury hotel by any stretch but it is brand new and therefore everything is in great shape.

The only caveat would be that it is hard to find first time as it is set back from front of street (it is next to the Crowne Plaza Hotel (that is best way to describe way to find it). Recommended.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe4stage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michelle_lonsdale, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester City Centre Arena, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank You for your 4 star feedback regarding the hotel and its cleanliness. I am pleased to see you describe the hotel as brand new as we have in fact been open for 18 months but our team take great care in ensuring that it stays looking brand new! I hope to welcome you back to see us soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,423 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    568
    632
    169
    43
    11
See reviews for
213
467
57
247
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

A great location, 5 mins walk from Arndale Centre. The recommended car parks nearby did not inspire any confidence that our car would be in one piece on our return so we opted for the NCP car park at the nearby Printworks, only fifteen pounds for 24 hours. The hotel room was very good although the bed was small compared to the Premier Inn beds. We had a good nights sleep and went down to breakfast at 0720hrs, the restaurant is cafeteria style with cheap wooden seating, the toasters were not on and we watched a cabaret display of staff and a couple of guests trying to work out how to turn the toasters on. The hot buffet breakfast consisted of sausages and beans, when a guest asked when the bacon was coming out he was told "we don't do bacon here". A tray of overcooked scrambled eggs came out 5 minutes later, if you wanted bacon, mushrooms, tomatoes, hash browns and fried eggs it seems you needed to go to the Premier Inn nearby! It was fully booked or we would have gone there. This is an ideally situated hotel, fairly modern and clean and a reasonable price. I wouldn't rush to stay here again though.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rockpig666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michelle_lonsdale, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester City Centre Arena, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank You for your feedback. I am sorry that you found some aspects of your stay not up to expectation; we have recently had a change in layout for the toasters to ease the flow of the buffet and I believe this caused slight confusion when the team came onto shift the first day. Our complimentary breakfast is part of Holiday Inn Express standard and all the hotels provide 3 hot items which are beans, sausage and egg but not bacon however with the toast, yogurts, fresh fruit and pastries we hope that there was enough for you to have a great start to the day. I am sorry you wouldn’t stay again but appreciate you taking the time to review your stay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed at the holiday inn express for one night whilst going to see the Killers gig in Manchester.
We got a really good deal through olohotels and only paid £40,bed and breakfast, it was a bargin, the hotel is well placed to the MEN arena, and the city centre.
Our room was like brand new, super clean, the bathroom looked like it had never been used,with a lovely big shower cubicle. The staff were helpful and friendly.
The brekfast was also a suprise with good choice from cereals to sausage egg and beans,pastries, coffee and juices.
There are a lot of cool bars just two minutes away, would recommend the hula/tiki bar just down the road.
We will definitely stay here again when visiting Manchester

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joenkatie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michelle_lonsdale, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester City Centre Arena, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel I am glad you found our central location suited your visit to the MEN and that you would stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

I booked double room and they said its taken we only have accessible room for disabled and this one got no sofa. The rooms are so close to each other I was able to hear the next room tv and conversations. Beside we staid in room 524 the room smells marijuana. You should have control on who you rent the room to. The next room was full if teenagers partying till 3 am and smoking marijuana.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sol9116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michelle_lonsdale, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester City Centre Arena, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank You for taking the time to review your stay. I was sorry to hear that you did not find the accommodation suitable. We have a clear no smoking policy throughout the hotel and this is strictly monitored. We have had recent feedback on a smell similar to “marijuana” in the rooms which we have been informed is not drugs but the solution used on the carpets and we are investigating this further. If you had called down about anti-social behaviour team would have rectified this immediatley.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for the week end and really loved our room as we had great views of the city! The staff are very friendly and recommended great restaurants for us and were very helpful! Will come back here when we are back in Manchester :)

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wendy k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michelle_lonsdale, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester City Centre Arena, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
I was delighted to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us and the fabulous comments on the team. We hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here last night although not originally not booked but had to move from brittania sachas as was so bad. The lady on phone was so helpful, all cleaners had gone home by time we rang for a room but she personally made a room up for us. Absolutely brilliant hotel, so clean and staff all so friendly. Would definitely recommend this hotel and will only be stayin here next time I come to manchester!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meljames84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michelle_lonsdale, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester City Centre Arena, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you for your positive comments & I am glad you enjoyed your stay, I will ensure this is passed on to our team
We hope to welcome you back soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley, Lancashire
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Had a great one night stay this weekend. Definitely value for money (we payed around £60), brilliant location near the bars and cafes of the Northern Quarter and a few minutes walk away from shops and Victoria station.

We ended up with an accessible room (mine or the booking websites fault, not the hotel) which meant wide doors and a wet room instead of shower, nice decor and very clean. Friendly and efficient reception staff, no problems leaving luggage there for the day. Great views of the city from high floors and the lift.

Only negatives were the noise from doors closing loudly in the morning and the lack of hot items at breakfast. I see management have already commented that it's standard for all HIE hotels, but a hot brekkie just isn't the same without bacon (just beans, sausage and scrambled egg available), lots of other choice though such as fruit, cereals and pastries.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sooty123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michelle_lonsdale, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester City Centre Arena, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
I was really pleased to read your review and also to view your photographs. It is always good to have guests post the pictures so that other potential guests have a good idea of what to expect! Thank you for your feedback and I take on board the comment about more hot items.. we hope to welcome you back to see us again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester East
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester CC-Oxford Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.9 mi away
Jurys Inn Manchester
Jurys Inn Manchester
#35 of 118 in Manchester
2,813 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Manchester City Centre Arena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Manchester City Centre Arena

Property: Holiday Inn Express Manchester City Centre Arena
Address: Goadsby Street off Swan Street, Manchester M4 5JY, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 118 Hotels in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Manchester City Centre Arena 3*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern and contemporary Holiday Inn Express Hotel Manchester City Centre Arena is situated right in the heart of Manchester. The Manchester Arena, Printworks, Arndale Centre, Selfridges, Harvey Nichols & Football Museum are just a few minutes walk from the Manchester Hotel. Located in the vibrant Northern Quarter with its cosmopolitan mix of boutique shops, captivating nightlife, fashion designers, creative agencies, art galleries, home to the iconic Afflecks Palace, popular cafes, bars and restaurants, the northern quarter is the cultural heart of Manchester. The Manchester Central convention complex, Man Utd and Man City Football Stadiums are all within easy reach. Ideally located for the business and leisure traveller the Manchester hotel provides you with the gateway to what the city has to offer. Please note you can use Printworks NCP parking and it costs £15 per 24hrs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, IHG, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Manchester City Centre Arena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing