We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Manchester City Centre Arena
Ranked #30 of 118 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Staffordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for an overnight stay ,we checked in early, the room was lovely,clean,cosy and nicely decorated...great shower too.staff very friendly , also bar prices were not extortionate.breakfast was self service and served from 6:30-10:30 ,we arrived to breakfast at 10 and whilst stocks were running low there was still plenty left. Great location as literally a 2 minute walk to the Arndale Centre, the only thing I would say is to be wary if using the postcode. We entered the postcode when we arrived at the station and entered the one as given on the book it.com confirmation form but we ended up walking in to the middle of a really horrible area...pretty unnerving.The hotel...once located stated that it was the 1 for the old site! so better to head for the Crown Plaza as it is only next door. Overall could not really fault the hotel, would def recommend and would def stay again. Oohh there is a lovely oldie worldly pub..the English lounge located opposite the Arndale ..nicer in than out and serves lovely homemade soups,sandwiches etc (plus a range of other food..steaks etc) much better vaue than eating inside the shopping centre.

Room Tip: We were high up on the 8th floor...great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stottieja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michelle_lonsdale, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester City Centre Arena, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thank you for your positive feedback on the team, location and the rooms here at the hotel I am delighted you enjoyed your stay . We try to give as many options as possible for finding us but Manchester is ever changing and it is always best to check on our website or call the hotel for the most up to date directions
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    499
    551
    144
    33
    9
See reviews for
176
397
49
214
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Stayed in this hotel for an overnight stay whilst visiting the Christmas Markets. Lovely clean modern hotel in a residential block area, next to the Crown Plaza. Hotel only 5 minutes walk from the Triangle, Arndale, Printworks etc. Asked for a high level room and was on the 6th floor, so views of the city and nice an quiet. Lovely and warm when we arrived in out room. Room had double bed ( a bit soft for me) sofa bed, desk flat screen TV. Great en-suite with large shower and abundant hot water. Basic self service breakfast with hot and cold food, toast, fresh fruit, cerials, pastries so a good start to the day. Plenty of nearby parking and close to railway and tram stations.

Room Tip: Ask for a high level room to get the view of the city and so above any possible street noise. Rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Greenfamily2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michelle_lonsdale, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester City Centre Arena, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thank you for your positive comments & am glad you enjoyed your stay,I agree it is is always worth asking for a higher floor as you can benefit from our fantatsic city views
We hope to welcome you back soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

In common with most other reviews found the staff to be helpful and the room lovely and clean with excellent views over the city.The bed was also very comfortable .

The one big let down was the breakfast. Ok so this hotel is not the most expensive but it is not particularly cheap either.

Breakfast is self-service in a soulless room which is best described as a college refectory (complete with signs asking one to return the trays on which you load your food into the tray holder thingy once you had finished your meal) This would be OK in a youth hostel but to be honest I did expect better. It was actually quite a stressful experience jostling with fellow guests for food in a tiny area then having difficulty in finding a seat

It's a shame really - I would return because of all the good things mentioned above but would forgo the breakfast here and eat elsewhere.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 186356Nelson44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michelle_lonsdale, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester City Centre Arena, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
I was pleased to read your 4 star review and your positive feedback on the team, comfy bed and cleanliness at the hotel. I am sorry that breakfast was a let-down for you.; our free hot breakfast is limited and is a self-service buffet so guests collect their own food and clear their own trays however we do have team members hosting breakfast who point guests in the right direction and manage the queues. I do hope that you stay with us again soon even if you find an alternative breakfast spot
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury, England
Level Contributor
75 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Virtually brand new, and built to a standard design familiar across various chains, this is in a perfect location for the city centre attractions. We paid the equivalent of £49 (using Avios) for a Friday night in December. Easy, swift check-in, even though it was busy. Room was perfect - everything we needed for the night. Excellent bed, quiet night with no noise from other residents or roads. And a free (if basic) breakfast.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor, away from the lifts (we had 414, which was fine)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michelle_lonsdale, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester City Centre Arena, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thank You for taking the time to review our hotel , I am delighted you rated us 5 stars and I hope we see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

this should be very good to excellent review but was let down by poor breakfast quality and how it was set out in a small room off the setting area - it got very busy and it was a struggle to get to things - the hotel itself is in a good location and parking is close and we paid £6 for 24 hours on a weekend - the rooms are of a good standard and have good standard fixtures and fittings only issue was the kettle was on a very small shelf and hard to get too and no mirror over the desk and lighting was very poor -- we had to pay an extra £22 to change the booking to the date in December which took the price to £100 which I feel is a little expensive for a budget hotel - would stay again with a cheaper offers

Room Tip: away from the lift area
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank runningraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michelle_lonsdale, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester City Centre Arena, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Thank You for the feedback on your stay. I am sorry that you found some design aspects poor however I hope this won’t deter you from coming to visit us again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
167 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

We arrived at 3pm on a Friday and were swiftly checked in by smiling faces. For the first time ever we were asked if we would like a room key each (which we normally have to ask for ourselves). We asked for a room on the upper floors and were rewarded with the best view available of the city.
The abiding memory of this hotel is how really sparkling clean everything was. It was like new!
We couldnt fault it, nether could our friends who also had a room on the 7th floor.
Great accessibility for the MEN but it was pouring down and so we called a taxi - which took 20 minutes to travel as far as we could have walked in 10 minutes!
The cost at £6.50 was worth it so as to avoid the drenching we would have had. Luckily we allowed an hour before the show began (and we needed all of that). The hotel is hard to find and walking back was a nightmare;12,000 people made the taxi queue hours terribly long. If lost look for the much larger Crown Plaza hotel - (the Holiday Inn Express is behind it up an unadopted road). On return at 11.15pm we found the bar inundated with customers -another queue! We waited for 20 minutes to be served. The bar staff are not able to serve quickly enough to satisfy demand. Hidden away in all the paperwork was the fact that takeaway meals can be ordered and delivered to the reception for guests to collect. We ordered an indian curry and enjoyed it. After a really good nights sleep (must mention the showers which are quality ones) the breakfast was very acceptable (although served in a very tight galley servery - why couldnt the tea and coffee be placed somewhere else more accessible?)
Overall we really rated this place - mainly for the sparkling cleanliness.We will return!

Room Tip: Take some drinks up to the room - saves queueing at the bar. Take some nibbles too or take a takeawa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FraternalEdward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michelle_lonsdale, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester City Centre Arena, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Thank you for the positive comments on your stay at the hotel I am pleased you found the hotel well suited for your visit and that the room clenliness was of a high standard I will pass this on to Maria & her team. I am sorry you ahd to wait for your drinks our bar area can get busy afer a concert as you can imagine and we try to plan for this however it usually only lasts about 30 minutes and then it is manageable again. I hope we get to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

I stay in a lot of Holiday Inn's but usually stay in the crown plaza when in Manchester but decided to give this one a try since it is new and looks very smart. The room was lovely and big and clean. However after a 5 hour drive I was faced with a 20 minute queue to check in, only one and a half people on check in - one was flitting between the desk and bar. When I got to the desk he just walked off to serve at the bar, no apology, no acknowledgement I was even there. No Priority Club desk to jump the queue but then that shouldn't be needed. When I eventually got served and I mentioned that they should have more people on at the desk I was told that it is always busy at 6.30 cos everyone comes at that time. Well der yeah - do something about it then. 'Premier Wifi' was practically dead and useless. Room a little noisy. Asked for a double and got a twin. No Platinum Priority Club upgrade. I won't return again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michelle_lonsdale, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester City Centre Arena, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay here at the hotel , I apologise that the service was slow and that you felt the team were not helpful. We did have a shift that was short staffed due to an unforeseen absence and this is certainly not the norm. The guest service assistants do work between both the bar, reception and breakfast as per Holiday Inn Express standards but I am sorry that they didn't offer any acknowledgement whilst prioritising the queue situation. I appreciate your feedback and will follow it up with my team to prevent issues arising in future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre
4.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester CC-Oxford Road
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Arena/Printworks) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Piccadilly) Hotel
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.0 mi away
PREMIER SUITES Manchester
PREMIER SUITES Manchester
#61 of 118 in Manchester
4.0 of 5 stars 281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Manchester City Centre Arena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Manchester City Centre Arena

Property: Holiday Inn Express Manchester City Centre Arena
Address: Goadsby Street off Swan Street, Manchester M4 5JY, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 118 Hotels in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Manchester City Centre Arena 3*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This brand new, modern and contemporary Holiday Inn Express Hotel Manchester City Centre Arena is situated right in the heart of Manchester. The Manchester Arena, Printworks, Arndale Centre, Selfridges, Harvey Nichols & Football Museum are just a few minutes walk from the Manchester Hotel. Located in the vibrant Northern Quarter with its cosmopolitan mix of boutique shops, captivating nightlife, fashion designers, creative agencies, art galleries, home to the iconic Afflecks Palace, popular cafes, bars and restaurants, the northern quarter is the cultural heart of Manchester. The Manchester Central convention complex, Man Utd and Man City Football Stadiums are all within easy reach. Ideally located for the business and leisure traveller the Manchester hotel provides you with the gateway to what the city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, IHG and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Manchester City Centre Arena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing