We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent and modern hotel at a quiet location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Manchester City Centre Arena
Ranked #31 of 118 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Lier, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
366 reviews
195 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Excellent and modern hotel at a quiet location”
Reviewed July 13, 2012

Excellent and modern hotel at a quiet location, but not far from the centre either (it is only a 15 minutes walk from Manchester Piccadilly Station). Very friendly personnel. Modern, big rooms. Breakfast is excellent as well. This hotel offers very good value for money.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BelgianWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicja T, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester City Centre Arena, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Thank you for your positive review and the 5 star rating! I’m glad you enjoyed your stay with us, liked the room and breakfast. I will make sure your nice comments about our staff are passed onto the team.
Thank you again and we hope to welcome you again soon.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,423 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    568
    632
    169
    43
    11
See reviews for
213
467
57
247
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester UK
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Stayed here for a weekend nightout in the Northern Quarter. Location excellent, just a couple of minutes walk to restaurants and bars. Close to Printworks, the MEN arena and shopping. Staff friendly and rooms quiet and pleasant. Good buffet breakfast included in the price. Haven`t had the chance to stay again because it is often fully booked!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LesleyManchesterUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicja T, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester City Centre Arena, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Thank you for your review and positive comment on our staff, rooms and breakfast. I’m glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you again soon.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We stayed here for a concert at the MEN. It couldn't be handier. Within walking distance to all the city centre attractions. Clean rooms and helpful staff. Maybe if you were staying for more than a few nights you would want additional facilities - no room service, however for a couple of nights it does a great job at a good price.only criticism, it would be good if they had more bar staff after a concert. Gave up waiting in the end.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WeeLynn1664
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicja T, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester City Centre Arena, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Thank you for posting your review and positive comments on our staff, location and cleanliness.
We’re glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you again soon.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cumbria
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Lovely, fairly new hotel in a central location. Parking in multi storey across the road which was easy to find. Dont try to stop in front of the hotel as its quite awkward. Still not sure if you actually can!!! This is a no nonsense hotel with no fancy lounge areas, just a basic canteen style area for breakfast. However the rooms are very good quality, similar to the usual Holiday Inn style. Staff very heloful and friendly.

The breakfasts are included free of charge. This must explain why they are not particularly good. However, it was filling and did the job. Don't expect too much here though. Coffee is nice. Overall would stay here again if the price was right.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goldenlionCumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicja T, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester City Centre Arena, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Thank you for posting your review and positive comment on our staff and the quality of bedrooms.
I was disappointed to hear that you did not like the breakfast we offer. If any items were not to high standards we wish to maintain, or not replenished frequently, I sincerely apologise. The breakfast area can get a little busy during peak times, especially at weekends, but we always ensure enough staff are on to deal with the demand and ensure breakfast experience runs smoothly for our guests. Once again, please accept my apology if that was not the case during your stay.
Thank you and we hope to welcome you again soon.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

This three night stay went very well for my research trip to Manchester. I got off my bus at the Shudehill Bus Interchange and was in the hotel in about two minutes. The staff were busy during my stay, but all were pleasant and provided great service. As for the hotel room itself, it was perfectly clean, no problems there. Yes, the bathroom was a little dimly lit, but your eyes adjust and I found no cleaning issues there either. As for the breakfast, I could not complain about the food, especially since it is complementary. Yes, the eggs and sausages don't look that appealing, but they tasted fine. They had plenty of other cold breakfast food options anyway including fresh fruit, yougurt, cereal, and four bread options. The hotel was in an absolute perfect location for me to walk everywhere, and High Street provided plenty of dining choices nearby when I was finished with my research for the day. The Arndale Shopping Center is right off of Shudehill to offer loads of shopping as well. The only two negative things that I could mention are that I had no fitted sheet on the bed (just a mattress cover), and I did have to pick through the silverware at breakfast which was cleaned but some still had "leftovers" on them. These things, however, could not ruin an otherwise perfect trip. Glad I stayed here and would do so again if I am in Manchester.

Room Tip: Stayed on the top floor, and had a good view of the city and perfectly quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirk H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicja T, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester City Centre Arena, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Thank you for your thorough review and the 5 star rating! I’m glad you enjoyed your stay with us and found the location suitable for your needs. I will make sure your positive comments on our staff and cleanliness are passed onto the team.
Thank you again and we hope to welcome you again soon.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, UK
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012

5 of us all stayed in the Holiday Inn Express a few weeks ago, value for money wise it was one of the best I have stayed in.

The location of it is excellet, its just behind Printworks and on the Northern Quarter. About 5 minute walk from the Arndale shopping centre.

The staff here were excellent aswell, really accomodated us when we needed an extra bed in the room and didnt charge us aswell.

You wont find a better hotel in Manchester for price/location.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jordanblackpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicja T, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester City Centre Arena, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Thank you for your positive review and a 5 star rating!
Thank you for the nice comments about our staff, I will pass them onto the team. Our aim is to deliver excellent service and a pleasant experience away from home, so all feedback is always taken on board and very much appreciated as it helps us improve.
Once again, thank you for taking your time to post your review and we hope to welcome you again soon!
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staveley
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Great location for city centre shopping, restaurants and theatre. Modern, well appointed and quiet bedrooms. The bar is a bit souless and probably best to avoid the sausages at breakfast but a good base at a sensible price. We managed to park for free outside of the hotel entrance but yellow lines are on their way!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicja T, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester City Centre Arena, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I’m glad that you enjoyed your stay and found the location convenient for your trip to Manchester.
Just to advise you for any future stays, there are 2 car parks available within 3-4 minute’s walk from the hotel, NCP car park charged at £15 for 24h and an open space Euro Car Park charged at £4.80 for 24h.
Once again, thank you for your comments and we hope to welcome you again soon.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester East
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester CC-Oxford Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.9 mi away
Jurys Inn Manchester
Jurys Inn Manchester
#35 of 118 in Manchester
2,807 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Manchester City Centre Arena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Manchester City Centre Arena

Property: Holiday Inn Express Manchester City Centre Arena
Address: Goadsby Street off Swan Street, Manchester M4 5JY, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 118 Hotels in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Manchester City Centre Arena 3*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern and contemporary Holiday Inn Express Hotel Manchester City Centre Arena is situated right in the heart of Manchester. The Manchester Arena, Printworks, Arndale Centre, Selfridges, Harvey Nichols & Football Museum are just a few minutes walk from the Manchester Hotel. Located in the vibrant Northern Quarter with its cosmopolitan mix of boutique shops, captivating nightlife, fashion designers, creative agencies, art galleries, home to the iconic Afflecks Palace, popular cafes, bars and restaurants, the northern quarter is the cultural heart of Manchester. The Manchester Central convention complex, Man Utd and Man City Football Stadiums are all within easy reach. Ideally located for the business and leisure traveller the Manchester hotel provides you with the gateway to what the city has to offer. Please note you can use Printworks NCP parking and it costs £15 per 24hrs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Manchester City Centre Arena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing