We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,604)
Filter reviews
1,605 results
Traveler rating
630
703
207
46
19
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
630
703
207
46
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnorthern quartercity centrescrambled egg and beansstayed hereminute walksofa bedbreakfast was includedlarge showerfree wifithe breakfast areayogurtcar parkvictoria stationmodern hotelsat navwould stay againprint works
Filter
Updating list...
1,445 - 1,450 of 1,605 reviews
Reviewed November 18, 2011

Positives... The hotel has only been open for a few weeks so nice a clean and tidy, The staff on the reception were friendly and helpful. The room was clean and tidy. A few reviewers have mentioned the low lighting in the bathroom, I think they have used energy saving bulbs so they take a while to brighten up.

Negatives.... Breakfast was chaos, I came down at 10 am and it looked like Armageddon. Lots of tables were full of trays that needed clearing away, Most things like beans, Milk, White bread had run out so you had to ask for replenishment. I think they probably need more staff in that area when the hotel is so full.

The TV in the room was at the opposite end of the room to the bed and you couldn't swivel it so you watch it in bed, bit a design mistake there i think !

Overall a very pleasant experience.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HatNailer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2011

Stayed at the Holiday Inn express on a recent visit to Manchester to see a gig at the nearby MEN arena.The hotel was very modern inside,with very bright decor,the rooms we're very clean,with a decent bathroom that contained a large shower area.

Breakfast in the Morning was the usual choice of English,or continental,although it must be the first hotel i have ever had breakfast in that didn't serve bacon! Although the hotel does not have a car park,you will find parking just round the corner,we left our car there for almost 24 hours at the cost of £4.80

This hotel is in the perfect location for anyone wanting to visit the MEN arena,or even the printworks,walk 5 minutes in the other direction,and you are in the main shopping area in Manchester,theirs also some nice little shops just down the road from the hotel.

Clean,convenient,and decently priced.We will book this hotel again.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scowy68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2011

Booked in for one night (15th November) as we were going to see the Red Hot Chilli Peppers at the MEN, we've stayed in Manchester before and used the 2 Travellodge City Centre hotels (Ancoats and Deansgate) and this puts them both to shame.

Its brilliantly clean throughout the hotel and very modern. Reception staff helpful and got us seen to very quickly. The room we stayed in was very clean and the bed was the most comfortable hotel bed we've stayed in for a long time. The bathroom was very clean and the shower was brilliant, only bad point was the kettle was in a bit of an alcove (you need a bit more room to make a cuppa).

Breakfast selection was great, not much in the way of warm choices (beans, sausage and scrambled eggs) but what there was could not be faulted. Nice choice of cereals and the tea/coffee machines were brilliant. And the rolling toaster actually toasted the bread properly, it only had to go through once!!!

We'd definitely stay here again, hope the keep the very reasonable rates (£60 per night) as the hotel gets more popular.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2011

I booked this on line for my partners birthday as we were going seeing Lee Evans at the men. I asked for a nice room with a nice view, we got a lovely room with floor to ceiling windows over looking the square i was really pleased. The rooms are clean and fresh and have everything you need. Plenty of pillows kindly labelled soft or firm so you can choose.

The location is fantastic its just out the way so you don't hear any noise but close enough to walk everywhere, we didn't need to get any taxi's. The staff were very polite, the bar was reasonably priced and breakfast was included, n yes it might be basic but not many hotels include a breakfast for free, i was quite happy with sausage, beans, scrambled egg, and a croissant with jam.

If i'm staying in manchester again i won't be looking at any other hotels this is perfect for me!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with floor to ceiling windows
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yvette R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2011

Very nice location.
No safe deposit in the rooms. Don't put enough sugar with tea/coffee maker (only one!).

Room Tip: There is safe deposit boxes in the reception you could use it.
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AbdullahAltamimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews