We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just right”
Review of Tatton Arms

Tatton Arms
Ranked #39 of 2,279 Restaurants in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $16
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Retford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Just right”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We were desperate for food before taking our flight at Manchester airport and, after a drive around for a little while, we were lucky enough to find this little gem. We are both vegetarian and the selection was great. The food came quickly, which was important when you are on the way to the airport, but was still delicious. The service was good and we will definitely go again next time we catch a plane from Manchester.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lesley h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TattonArms, Manager at Tatton Arms, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Thanks so much for your kind review, we do try to accommodate all of our customers needs and i feel, like yourself, we offer a nice selection of vegetarian options. As all of our meals are freshly prepared to order and we can create dishes to suit you, so even if you do not find what you fancy on our menu or specials board, mention it to one of our staff and they will ask the chef for further options that can be made for you. The chefs, as few days ago made a three cheese and herb pasta dish for a customer, so if we can do it......we will do it. We look forward to your next holiday and to your visit. Regards Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,195 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    893
    158
    58
    33
    53
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“rose mary”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

i have eaten at the tatton 5 or 6 times now . i went in with 5 friends. lovely friendly atmosphere
happy attentive staff and great food at a reasonable price .
would recommend . richard the manager always looks after us and is happy to have a laugh and a joke.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rose mary b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TattonArms, Manager at Tatton Arms, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
The main part of our job, especially mine, is to ensure that your are well looked after and that you are made to feel relaxed and enjoy your visit. I am proud to look at Trip Advisor and see that that from the 126 reviews, 105 customers feel that the visit was excellent or very good. It comes down to the old saying "you cannot please everyone" but this will not stop Karen, myself and the team trying. I look forward to seeing you soon, thanks for your kind review. Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan UK
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent food, excellent staff”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

The pub has a friendly and welcoming feel. The staff are friendly and attentive. The food was excellent and well priced. Would definitely recommend the place to anyone.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Yozzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TattonArms, Manager at Tatton Arms, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
A very kind review, i am pleased that we did what it says on the tin, friendly, attentive, great food, well priced and above all a great recommendation. Thank you so much. Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic Restaurant and even better food.”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

We come here on for lunch at least once a week if not twice as you can always be sure to get excellent service and a hearty lunchtime meal. The food is always top notch and you cannot fault it. The best meal I have had so far is the Thai Curry, still working my way through the menu and I have not been disappointed yet. Staff very friendly and attentive and it's nice when they remember who you are!

Would highly recommend.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Claire_23xx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TattonArms, Manager at Tatton Arms, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
We have quite a following of regular customers who appreciate what we offer, including yourselves and we do try to remember names, though with my memory, this isnt always the case. I am pleased that you have left a review highlighting our staff attentiveness, we do try to make everyone feel at home, from regular customer and new ones and you are right about the Thai curry, because this is made to order and is made the same way every time, it can be manipulated to your way, if you don't fancy chicken have king prawn or a vegetable Thai curry. Simplicity at its best!! Thanks for your kind review. Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing pub♡♥♡♥”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

I had my 40th birthday party at the tatton arms, the room is free to hire as well,the food was amazing the staff were amazing and friendly all my family and friends had a fantastic night, they also had live entertainment on the night to so i could not have asked for a better birthday party, and the landlady Karen was fantastic making sure everything was ok and we were all having a good time, all in all i could have not asked for a better 40th party. Thank you Karen and all your amazing staff, jodie, richard, amanda, mark, lauren, james, eve, hope i have not missed anyone out,and not forgetting the chefs who made my wonderful food..would definitely recommend the tatton arms to all my family and friends, see you for my 41st birthday♡♥...

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank colo40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TattonArms, Manager at Tatton Arms, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
It is our pleasure to offer our services when you have a celebration such as your 40th birthday, you have everything rolled in to one, the bar, buffet, live music and the staff who look after you and your guests to ensure that you have a great celebration. As Karen was the manager on duty that evening, she would have ensured that whatever you thought about, she would have thought about it first and made preparations that your evening went without a hitch. I am so pleased that everything came together for you and we look forward to your next birthday. Regards Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tatton Arms also viewed

Ringway, Greater Manchester
 
Styal, Cheshire
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Tatton Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing