We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really excellent”
Review of Phetpailin

Phetpailin
Ranked #298 of 2,296 Restaurants in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $45
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: This is an unlicensed restuarant but we do let the customers to BRING THEIR OWN ALCOHOL with no corkage charge.
Chipping Norton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Really excellent”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

I don't often choose Thai food but a friend persuaded me to go with a group and I was not disappointed. The food was very authentic and quite delicious. The staff were friendly (although there was really only one waiter in this fairly small restaurant, and the service was fairly slow, so you need to be ready to enjoy a long meal). Definitely recommended. Bring your own - the Co-operative on Piccadilly Gardens nearby sells their excellent Gold Miner beer from the Freeminer microbewery in the Forest of Dean - a great accompaniment!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Co-operator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    55
    14
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“food fantastic! Better than Chaophraya”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

I've been here lots of times so thought i should write a review. It doesn't look like it will be as good as it is. Somewhere like Chaophraya has the looks and it does do good food but its expensive.
Phetpailin also does great food but is much better value for money. Always friendly and even always have no issues at all with my nut allergy which can be a problem at some thai places.
The fact it is BYO is an added bonus as the money you save buying it yourself means you can splash out on great wine thats about a third of what you would pay if you bought it off the menu.
Thai green curry here is gorgeous!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank imiller1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upernavik, Vestgronland, Greenland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great Food, BYOB and relatively inexpensive”
Reviewed January 12, 2013

After picking up a couple of decent bottles of vino from Hanging Ditch (located near the cathedral), we headed to this place on the recommendation of a friend who was due to attend the following week for a Christmas meal with work colleagues.

All in all, we were not disappointed with the food on offer and the experience was overall, a very pleasant and positive one.

The ambience of the restaurant is pleasant enough, with the usual Thai paraphernalia placed around the restaurant along with various greenery, although this does make it feel a touch more claustrophobic with the premises being relatively long and narrow as it is. With the restaurant busy or 'ticking over', you can still hold a conversation without too much raising of voices, again, another positive.

The food was very very good, all presented very well and cooked perfectly. The dishes our party ordered ranged from sharing platters of spring rolls, bite size entrees and dips to excellent Peanut (penang) Curries with King Prawns and the 'Weeping Tiger' (sirloin steak sliced and cooked with spices, beanspouts and other vegetables). All the food was delivered in a timely manner and with a friendly smile. We had expected some fuss over the wine we brought, but a cooler was brought without fuss for both bottles.

I would definitely recommend this place for a visit, the pricing was reasonable for all dishes, plus being able to bring your own drinks means it works out a lot cheaper to pair beer or wine with your meal should you want to give the soft drinks a miss.

One minor quibble was that over the charge we incurred for asking to take some leftovers (of which there were a reasonable amount - portion sizes are fairly generous!) away. A surcharge of 50p per plastic tub was added to our bill, which while no great shakes in the grand scheme of things, is a pretty poor touch considering the restaurant had scored highly for everything else in our evening. I would suggest this is scrapped in the interests of their reputation.

Short of ideas? You could do far worse than giving this place a visit, just remember to bring your own drinks!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Pedro_Cotzier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Don't forget the beer”
Reviewed December 21, 2012 via mobile

Went here yesterday after reading the reviews.
Defently a good choice
Food was very tasty not quite with the depth of flavours that you get in Thailand.
Decor is a bit dated but the staff were very nice as it was the first time we had been didn't realise they didn't sell beer, told us where the shop was and bonus no corking tax.
£34 total bill two starters two mains one rice and a dessert
Will be visiting again

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank queenc268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A great , affordable Thai restaurant”
Reviewed December 21, 2012

We originally stumbled across this place by accident and have been back several times since. The food and service are both excellent and very reasonably priced.

This restaurant does not have an alcohol licence but they allow you to bring your own alcohol in without a corkage charge, so it makes for a pretty inexpensive night compared to most restaurants in Manchester (There is a Sainsbury's round the corner on Mosley St , 2 mins walk).

This has become our favourite Thai restaurant in Manchester. Give it a try - it's a real gem.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jeremyjcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Phetpailin also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Denton, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Phetpailin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing