We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never fails.”
Review of Bistro West 156

Bistro West 156
Ranked #57 of 2,261 Restaurants in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $38
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Bistro West 156 restaurant is a shining star in the thriving restaurant scene on Burton Road in Manchester���s West Didsbury, a quirky corner that���s a foodie heaven not all that far from where the M60 and the M56 part company. Bistro West 156���s pocket-friendly traditional cooking cuts out all the malarkey to deliver modern British cuisine, the real food that loyal fans adore. The rustic dining room with its granite topped tables, blackboard specials and changing local art displays sets a relaxed tone for easy lunches and suppers. While the food may be fine dining level, the ambience is bistro informal from terrific breakfasts right through to the last sip of dessert wine. Everything is homemade, and customer favourites include superbly cooked comfort classics like fish pie, chicken Kiev and Bistro West 156���s very own melting chocolate pudding. You will succumb. The warm welcome and tables outside entice you to linger.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Never fails.”
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Bistro 156 is my favourite restaurant in Manchester. The venue has a small number of covers with a select group of staff. This means that you get attentive but not intrusive service.

The food is always excellent. This applies equally for both the early evening set menu and the later a la carte. The number of dishes on offer is small but this heps manage the quality, with more time clearly paid to a small number of good dishes, rather than many mediocre dishes. The steak in particular is excellent.

My only slight complaint would be that because the restuarant is small the constant door opening can get irritating and it can feel slightly full at busy periods. These are onyl minor points however and do not stop me fully recommending this restaurant.

Within the setting of West Didsbury it also provides many excellent options for pre and/or post drinks.

Book, go and enjoy.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jamie2jibazak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    271
    59
    16
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
352 reviews
182 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
“lunchtime menu”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

With my wife we visited this restaurant for the first time, for Saturday lunch. The menu was very impressive and prices almost too reasonable. Its busy and probably not that comfortable, but the friendly service and food makes it impressive overall. Try the soup and sandwich choice, its top quality and incredible value. We must try this bistro one evening.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank george g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Big Bistro Love.”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We always have an amazing meal here, my favourite restaurant in Manchester. Great food, prices and atmosphere.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Biscuit_Bec045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Enjoyable, but could have been better”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

I'd heard lots of great reports about this restaurant, so was looking forward to a visit. Small but homely, and magazines & books to peruse, which was a nice touch. The food choice was really good, and my main course chicken kiev was delicious. However, my starter had burned bruschetta, and whilst I actually like this taste, I did think the chef could have easily recified this. Personally, I would also like a little more choice of wine that can be purchased by the glass, or even a half bottle carafe, rather than the bottle. Had it not been for the starter, I would have rated this restaurant 4. I would go back again, as many of the other dishes on offer made my mouth water just reading the menu.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kaffeeundkuchenbitte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A local favourate”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

The Bistro is a very small intimate restraint which is much of it’s charm. As a result though – I would always recommend booking.

I visited midweek in a party of 4, it was lovely. I’d go for the set menu as it is lovely choice and fantastic value. We were also big fans of the wine list with all our parties varied tastes met.

The thing that stands out is the food – really good, actual bistro food in the appropriate sized portions.

I just wish they weren’t closed on Sundays!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BayBeeSham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro West 156 also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Bistro West 156? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing