We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“culture” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Victoria Baths

Victoria Baths
Ranked #29 of 171 things to do in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The historic Victoria Baths hold open days, usually on the first Sunday of each month from April to November, and guided building tours every Wednesday at 2pm. You can see the incredible stained glass and tile work, along with the three swimming pool areas. The Baths are undergoing restoration.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“culture”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

Well worth a visit to marvel at what our victorian forefathers were good at. Civic pride meant everything, it had to be bigger, better and more flamboyant than other similars.
Our Manchester council did not fail with these baths.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Art242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    50
    11
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bollington
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“First of many visits”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

Despite visiting and now living in the Manchester area this was our first visit to Victoria Baths. What a wonderful place, full of history, beautiful tiling, stained glass and mosaics. The place oozes charm and dedication and you can almost hear the echoes of the voices of the swimmers. Even better are the knowledgeable and enthusiastic guides. This is a MUST SEE attraction

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank BollingtonSpy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“"My younger Days"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

I loved these Swimming Baths along with most of the children in this area!Still one of the oldest recreation sites in Manchester and was the home to South Manchester Swimming club and gala events! A posh gentlemans retreat to the Turkish baths along with a massage and laundry facilities were attached to the building also.Under restoration at the moment but visitors are welcomed.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank UnitedKingdomStella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury
Level Contributor
100 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Childhood revisited”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

As a child we spent most of our school holidays in the Victoria swimming baths, and then they closed, due to restoration it was interesting to visit and brought back memories of a wonderful childhood.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Easey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Brilliant place to visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

We've been here many times, and each time you can see how much more work has gone into the building. The staff are helpful, and there's always something new to see. Highly recommended for an individual or group visit.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Seddon28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Victoria Baths also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Victoria Baths? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing