We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean & convenient for City”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Travelodge Manchester Central
Ranked #37 of 116 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Clean & convenient for City”
Reviewed February 26, 2014

My first and very brief overnight stay in Manchester Central Travelodge. Pleasant, efficient and fuss-free staff at reception. Full breakfast facilities available - Wetherspoons 100yds away much better value though.
Newly refurbished (indeed the builders and their mess were still there when I arrived, although the polite workman did apologise) and absolutely perfect for Manchester City Centre - perhaps too convenient for weekend revellers - but I stayed on a relatively quiet Tuesday and apart from the usual self-slamming doors was good.
A large building, my room being at the rear and somewhat overlooked by others, there was a rather intrusive and constant noise (fans or generators) emanating from a nearby commercial building. I am a very light sleeper though, so others may not notice it. The refurbished room itself was near-immaculate - new decor, comfy beds and pillows - and the basic facilities were all that were really needed for my stay.
I can never quite understand though why Travelodge's 'freeview' TV and especially radio channels are so restricted - no Film 4, Ch5, Radio 3, 4, 4extra or even commercial channels other than 'talksport' of all things. Very odd, given that they are all free of course!

Room Tip: If troubled by noise from commercial premises, avoid inward-facing rooms if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UK_Happy_Wanderer_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,059 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    411
    392
    159
    53
    44
See reviews for
199
386
59
122
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Merseyside
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2014

This travelodge is in a really good location if you're planning to visit Printworks, Deansgate or to do some shopping, but it is a bit of a walk from Northern Quarter and Piccadilly. The room was well decorated after the refurb. However there were still some issues that needed fixing. The bathroom door had to be slammed to be fully shut as the turning mechanism on the handle had broke. Furthermore , it was difficult to lock the room door, had to jiggle it about a fair bit. The lift was also fairly shabby. The bed, although advertised to give a perfect nights sleep wasn't great for me. This is the second travelodge I've stayed in after a refurb and I have struggled with the new mattresses. Although this may be a personal problem. On the plus side the building was very secure, with key card access after midnight. Unfortunately the staff were a little rude (slightly sneery), but nothing too problematic. Overall a good stay for the price (75 each for two nights).

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 202Fiona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014

This Travelodge has been renovated recently and has good clean rooms, comfortable bed and adequate bathroom. The bar and food on site looks ok but I always go out nearbye to eat and drink as loads of places very close. This hotel is ideal for the shops and close to the tram. I usually have meetings in the building next door so obvious choice. Lots of all day parking nearbye. It takes a good 10-12 minutes to walk from Picadilly station. Good site for Old Trafford or the City of Manchester stadium as these are tram ride away. I gave this 4 stars on value as it was only £39 having booked day before and often as low as £34 a night. No toiletries so make sure you have shampoo and shower gel.

Room Tip: Try and get room at rear as this only backs on the the BT Telephone exchange so bit quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redcar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

This hotel has recently spent a lot of money on the refurb making it a really nice place to stay. The rooms we had were huge, the beds were so comfy, bathroom was immaculate and the shower was good. The other areas were spotless too. The location is brill we were 5 mins round the corner from the MEN, up the road from all the shops, you need more thana day to explore Manchester.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Amanda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2014

This is a cheap and cheerful hotel providing a comfy bed and clean room in one of the best locations in Manchester! What else is there to stay!
They need to provide basic toiletries and install a hairdryer in the bathrooms and they will have a perfect formula. Fantastic value to price ratio.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Dantol13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2014

OK I'll start off by putting my cards on the table, this isn't the kind of hotel I'd choose to stay so it's difficult to give it a mark out of five. It's pretty much what I imagine a budget hotel to be so for that it gets good marks - it's centrally located and cheap.

We stayed here on a stag weekend late last year and for that purpose it's fine - cheap and easy to find after a long day. We weren't the only other group that had the same idea...which meant at nights it was pretty rowdy until very late. To be fair, I asked for a high room on check-in and the guy behind the desk said to beware because they put the stag and hen groups up on the higher floors at weekends and this seemed to be the case. There was all sorts of stuff going on in the corridor and the doors are very flimsy so everything sounds like it's in your room. Oddly enough though, the bar downstairs was deserted.

The rooms are sparse - there is somewhere to hang stuff and a bed...the bathroom comes with one wee bar of soap and a plastic cup. There's no free wi-fi and only a small TV for entertainment. But I guess most people don't come here for a 5-star experience.

Location is good, it's a stone's throw from the city centre and a safe walk.

Room Tip: If you're there at a weekend, ask to be as far away from the stag parties as you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Seat2K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
85 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2014

Booked two nights whilst visiting to go to Manchester United game 8th and 9th February. Great value at €140 for two nights considering game on. Great location very handy for city centre and 5 minutes walk to tram. Hotel immaculate cannot fault cleanliness. Staff very friendly. Negatives had food one night despite having had a few beers we ate for convenience. Not great at all cheap quality chicken in chicken burger, fish cooked beyond overdone. We had a gang of lads staying across from us loud and very drunk without volume control. Overall enjoyed my stay here. Manchester a great city extremely organised considering the amount of people in the city that weekend. Very impressed with the staff at the tram stops guiding people in the right direction on match day. Manchester has something for everyone.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Manchester Central Arena
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Manchester Piccadilly Hotel
1.8 mi away
Travelodge Manchester Upper Brook Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
0.1 mi away
Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel
0.7 mi away
Travelodge Manchester Ancoats
Travelodge Manchester Ancoats
#60 of 116 in Manchester
518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Manchester Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Manchester Central

Property: Travelodge Manchester Central
Address: 11 Blackfriars Street | Townbury House, Manchester M3 5AL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Family Hotel in Manchester
#38 Business Hotel in Manchester
#41 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Travelodge Manchester Central 2.5*
Number of rooms: 181
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, getaroom.com, LateRooms, HotelQuickly and Travelodge Hotels Ltd so you can book your Travelodge Manchester Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Manchester Central Hotel Manchester
Travel Lodge Manchester
Manchester Travelodge
Manchester Travel Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing