We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for.”
Review of Diamond Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Diamond Lodge
Ranked #66 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Reviewed April 26, 2014

Stayed here for one night. Check in was quick and straight forward. Staff pleasant enough. Got to room. Rooms and corridors were clean and tidy however there was a strong smell of what can only be described as musty damp throughout.

Rooms were perfectly adequate for our needs. A little noisy due to being next to a main road and greyhound racing stadium, but otherwise we slept very well. Beds were a little firm but not uncomfortably so.

Bar service was a little slow. But that was largely due to the fact the receptionist was also the barman, so service was split. Not a reflection on the staff, they did their best with what they were given.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie-Anne83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (442)
There are newer reviews for Diamond Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

294 - 300 of 442 reviews

Reviewed April 7, 2014

I have struggled to find just three plus points. They are (1) the receptionists were pleasant and efficient (2) there was plenty of hot water and (3) bar prices were reasonable (a pint of Carlsberg £3.30).

The minus points are: (1) having booked through Booking.com I could hardly miss a huge hoarding outside the hotel offering the same room & breakfast for £7 cheaper than I had paid online (2) everything creaked - doors, floors and windows (3) between the tiles at ground level in the bathroom was black filth (4) the shower was held together with tape (5) no shampoo (6) towels were so old and worn you could poke your finger through them (7) bed linen was stained, worn and washed out to paper thin (8) above the bar was a permanent notice advertising the opening hours as "noon to 12.30am" - the staff claimed the bar was only licensed until 11pm so it was shut at that time leaving around 10/12 very dissatisfied residents who had to accept what the staff said as correct. So why not remove the permanent notice and get rid of the confusion?

I believe I have given a fair review as all of the above is true for Room 221. Therefore, in all honesty I cannot recommend this hotel and because it was so appallingly bad I decided to forgo the possibility of another shocking experience by skipping the breakfast I had paid for and eating in Central Manchester. I will not be coming back to The Diamond Lodge and the irony is that the wi-fi password is "jewel" - I can assure anyone reading this, that a jewel it is certainly not.

Room Tip: First tip - don't stay here. Second tip - if you have to stay here, you must hunt down a good ro...
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spanishexile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2014

We had planned and booked to stay for two nights and only lasted one! The hotel stinks, it's the best way to describe the disgusting smell that permeates the whole building. The bed linen was horrific with stains on the sheets. The food inedible.
I would seriously recommend anyone considering staying at this place to think again.
To make matters even worse I didn't get any response after I wrote complaining about our stay. We have stayed in hotels all over the world and even the worst hotel we stayed in was 5 stars ahead of Diamond Lodge.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
Thank Samantha C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2014

We arrived for a relaxing weekend break in Manchester. The Car Park & Hotel are Okay, it started clean and tidy, but on our return at 21:00 on a Saturday night, there was around 100+
people drinking/smoking and playing football in the Car park, with NO respect for other guests or their property...Trip Advisor will not let me identify these people on discrimination grounds.
The 'few' staff tried to cope, but were overwhelmed - Kids running around until 04:30 in the morning, Kids being sick in the hallways - it carried on until passed 05:00.
After these 'Guests' departed, some normality returned.
The staff did a great job of clearing up.
The breakfasts good, and overall the price and room were also good.
I did speak with the owner on departure, she was very apologetic and said that although the hotel was always 'busy/full' on Football days, this particular weekend was 'worse' than they normally experience.
Some rooms face the A57 main road, which can be noisy with on average 3 emergency vehicles an hour with sirens going most of the day/night.
Would we stay again Yes but Not of a Football day...

Room Tip: Maybe choose a room not facing the main road
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoyGerstner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2014

No problem. Clean. Nice polite staff. Can't comment on food as didn't eat and missed breakfast bust smelt delicious. But it was right next to bell vue dogs (purpose for stay) and 5/10 minute taxi journey to the locks. Beer relatively normally prices. Good night

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Jenna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2014 via mobile

Room smelt of damp and urine. Mystery lumps and black stains on the floor. Breakfast looked like it was served some weeks ago. No duvets just thin military issue blankets that may have been part of a crime scene. Windows failed in keeping out sound or cold. Staff give a general nursing home ambiance.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
1  Thank Dada T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

Stayed here on Saturday night with some friends as we were having a night at the dogs. lovely and clean friendly staff and a really nice breakfast couldn't fault any of the hotel rooms were comfortable .A bit of noise in the early hours from people coming home from a night out but no more noise than I have heard in other hotels. Very good value for money .

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lill D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Manchester Sportcity
Travelodge Manchester Sportcity
#58 of 120 in Manchester
258 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester East
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Manchester Central Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Travelodge Manchester Upper Brook Street
1.8 mi away
Chancellors Hotel
Chancellors Hotel
#64 of 120 in Manchester
46 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diamond Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diamond Lodge

Address: Hyde Road | Belle Vue, Manchester M18 7BA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Price Range: $64 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Diamond Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Diamond Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing