We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BIGGER THAN EXPECTED”
Review of Diamond Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Diamond Lodge
Ranked #66 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Reviewed February 19, 2014

Stayed for one night with my partner to attend a football match. Very comfortable room. Good choice for breakfast. The dining room could have done with a good clean though, very dirty around the skirtings and edges of the floor. Only one woman clearing tables so a bit of a wait as people vacated their tables.Good value. Had dinner in the restaurant, lovely meals and very good value.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clar1o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (442)
There are newer reviews for Diamond Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

305 - 311 of 442 reviews

Reviewed February 11, 2014

We stayed for one night in Feb 2014 as we were attending the dog track over the road. We weren't expecting very much and thought it was cheaper than getting a taxi home so gave it a try. The receptionist was very pleasant and allowed us to check in early and ordered us a taxi into Manchester City Centre which cost £7.00, the reception area was a bit tacky, with tired and well used furniture. However, the room on the 3rd floor was surprisingly spotless, and had everything we expected, including tea.coffee, Wall TV, and plenty of fresh towels.The hotel was quiet when we were there, as was the room, the only draw back was the firmness of the bed.The breakfast was very good with a good selection of self service items, although the woman in charge was a bit miserable. All in all, not bad, and we would stop there again.

Room Tip: 3rd floor was quiet, with great views of the big ad boards over the road.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank southy42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2014

Needed hotel for a couple of nights in Manchester, with a view to shopping at Trafford Centre. Looked at a number and many were extortinate price wise. Chose this hotel, initial impressions, railings around it gave appearance of a warehouse on a trading estate, but at least the car was safe. The water feature ? outside the entrance was a source of entertainment, better off without it. Reception, Bar, Restaurant all open plan, very bright with decor and furniture reminiscent of a works canteen. Room decor needed updating and it is noisy with the main road outside. Bathroom ok, plenty of towels. Hotel seemed very popular with contractors, not really a family type hotel. Used the bar, which shuts promptly at 11 no messing, only channel on the large TV is Sky Sports, not a problem personally. The Breakfast to be honest, was very good. Self service, eat as much as you want and it was good. Mainly aimed at Full English fans, but can't complain. Coffee was from a vending machine, so quality wasn't up too much. There are take away outlets on the major road alongside. Stayed midweek, so relatively quiet. Would be an excellent , hotel for football trips etc, probably would not stay again, but it will definitely be perfect for many people. Price very good.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LordHafod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

This hotel is very good ..the staff are very friendly and you get good service ..The food is good to ...You don't need to go out and find another restaurant and you get a good dinner in the nice dinning room ..very good price for the rooms and the food ..The only criticism I have that the hotel is a bit far away from the city centre ..the taxies charge all different prices which I didn't like ..

Room Tip: If you don't mind being quite far from the city centre go for the hotel !
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank robertah2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2013

A no-frills budget hotel. Needs a bit of redecoration in places and a bit grubby looking in general areas. Room was okay, usual tea and coffee facilities, biscuits, and tv. Beds were clean though there was a smell of urine in the bathroom - a good slosh round the floor with bleach would soon sort that out. No toiletries apart from foam soap so take your own. The breakfast was very good, plenty to choose from though the hot food was on the cool side, and we had an evening meal which was excellent and reasonably priced. The staff are very nice and helpful. I can recommend this hotel, anyone wanting a cheap sleep over, handy for the city, this is for you.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynaire M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Twenty-two of us stayed there (birthday celebration) for one Saturday night. Rooms ok, but when one looks closer a could scrub would be in order, especially in areas of the bathroom. Grout around the bath not cleaned properly for some time. Whilst it would appear that the rooms are cleaned regularly, it appears only to be the easily accessible areas. The room itself was ok, but I wouldn't have liked to look under the bed. It was fine for what we wanted, taxis into Manchester ok, especially as we were able to split the cost between a few of us. Breakfast ok, about what one would expect - nothing to write home about, but perfectly alright. Generally, the room was quite quiet, we were not aware of any noise from any other rooms. However, what we did hear was people walking along the corridors on the floor above. That said, if we needed an hotel again, convenient for Manchester and at a budget price, would stop here again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TaraHuddersfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

helpful staff, beds and rooms ok for a budget hotel the biggest problem being the noise. We stayed for friday and saturday night. Friday was ok, apart from the traffic but Saturday was horrendous. Screaming, shouting and very loud music coming from across the road. It went on for hours. The loud speakers from the track were pointed straight at our room. Pollution at its worst. My parter had a hmigrane so really spoiled our stay.
if you want a peaceful stay then choose another hotel. This one is at the wrong side of manchester.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank magic1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Manchester Sportcity
Travelodge Manchester Sportcity
#58 of 120 in Manchester
258 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester East
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Manchester Central Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Travelodge Manchester Upper Brook Street
1.8 mi away
Chancellors Hotel
Chancellors Hotel
#64 of 120 in Manchester
46 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diamond Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diamond Lodge

Address: Hyde Road | Belle Vue, Manchester M18 7BA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Price Range: $64 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Diamond Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Diamond Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing