We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget is the word!”
Review of Diamond Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Diamond Lodge
Ranked #63 of 121 Hotels in Manchester
Reviewed June 16, 2013

I have always tried to be very honest when writing up reviews for places we have been, so here goes with The Diamond Lodge:- Lets start with the GOOD points. This place is well situated for a city break/visit to Manchester, easy access via bus or train both less that 3 mins walk from hotel. Lots of free parking. Reception is spacious. Rooms are reasonable well equipped for a BUDGET hotel, with tea/coffee, nice clean quality towels, free WIFI, hairdryer TV, and soaps in the bathroom. Shower was powerful and hot water a plenty. Staff were OK, curt, no nonsense approach, nothing wrong with that. Extra Pillows in room. We ordered a takeaway from a Chinese just up the road to be delivered to the hotel, there is no snobbery about you eating in your room here. Now the not so good:- There was indeed a must smell as you go into reception, quite strong. It certainly wasn't in the rooms though. The rooms needed a deep clean. They were not filthy, more unloved. For example, the fins of the heater were thick with dust, the window ledge grimy, bathroom was ok, but did need a good clean also. There was no duvet, it was a sheet, tatty blue blanket and the counterpane on top, all had seen better days to be honest. As for the bed, it truly was the worst hotel bed I have EVER slept in ( well tried too), it was totally unforgiving, no " bounce" no comfort, it sort of just sank when you got into bed, like a space mattress with no oomph left in it. Terrible, horrible and left us aching after 2 nights. It was this that really was a deciding factor as to whether we would go back. No! We would not. There is a travel lodge just down the road and having stayed in Travel lodges in various locations, they have better beds and are cleaner. Yes there is noise from outside as Diamond lodge is situation on one of the main roads in/out of the city. It didn't bother us as such but I think some people would have a problem with this. There are rooms at the rear but then you over look the dog racing track so unsure what noise would come from there. The communal area where we had a drink from the bar was again tired, the heaters all filthy and patio doors all dirty at the bottom. Although included in the price we didn't have breakfast so can not comment on that. There is a Tesco and KFC, Subway etc 5 mins walk up the road but I would not recommend any one walk there, as there were some very suspect people out and about shouting and being quite aggressive. Drive there instead.
I would recommend a takeaway from Mings Chinese just up the road in Denton, they delivered and it was Excellent.
Diamond Lodge makes no bones about the fact it is a budget hotel. Whilst it has some good points, I do feel it is a little tired and lack lustre, it needs a good deep clean and most if all it needs new mattresses, my back is still hurting !

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank coweejuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (469)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

363 - 369 of 469 reviews

Reviewed June 12, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Diamond Lodge the first weekend in June as we were attending a gig at the Etihad Stadium.

The hotel was easy enough to find, plenty of parking and looked clean and respectable from outside.

We were greeted by two members of staff on checking in, we were given a number for a local taxi firm and a card with the hotels address on for our return trip.

The room was basic but clean. Tea, coffee and a kettle were provided, lots of clean towels in the bathroom and extra pillows, which was a huge plus in our eyes!

A taxi to Etihad was £7, however we walked back due to traffic and it only took 20 minutes and the hotel was easily traceable being it's next to a bingo house, cinema and greyhound stadium.

When returning to the hotel we waited for our room key, there was one member of staff serving at the bar and giving people their room keys, whilst I can appreciate he was over worked it did leave customers slightly disgruntled as most people had been to the same gig at ourselves and either wanted a drink or to get to bed.

The next morning we woke for breakfast only to find that all tables were full, people were waiting and the only spare tables hadn't yet been cleared. I did expect this being a rather large hotel and having such a small dining area. Unprepared to wait, we checked out and went to a near by Weatherspoons!

I would stay at this hotel again, just for price and being so close to the stadium, the only real disappointment was the breakfast and wait getting out key returned at night.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lisawortley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Booked a room here last year for a concert this weekend, booked early as alot of hotels were already booked up. Asked several times for a confirmation of the booking which never arrived. However, we booked here again prior to the concert booking for the rugby magic weekend. Checked they had the other booking and all was confirmed.
Staff were friendly on reception, this weekends stay the lady on reception was a little blunt and seemed to be over worked with bookings as there was a 20 minute queue.
As we had two stays here both rooms were found to have a strange musty smell. Rooms could do with a bit of a makeover as look a little dated and bedding was torn on one of our stays.
Rooms are basic but were clean and clean soft towels. Tea and coffee facilities and a decent tv.
Breakfast is included and plenty of choice for continental or fry up, cereals and fruit etc.
Not badly priced bar and on both stays the two night shift staff were very helpful and friendly, and were quick to stop anyone acting appropriately.
All in all not bad for a budget overnight stay, would use again as its great for the etihad stadium, approx 20 min walk. Free phone in reception for taxi aswell.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank woodieleeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Stayed here for a recent gig at the Ethiad Stadium as it is close by. Staff on reception were very polite and courteous completed with an easy check in. Room was clean and had a comfy bed, coffee and tea facilities were also present.
We had an internal facing room on the 1st floor (looking inwards to an outside seating area) just above reception which proved to be a little noisy. There were people smoking and talking below from about 4am!!
Breakfast was about average and dinning area had limited seating for a fully booked Hotel.
Overall it is good value.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mattib65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Room was clean as was bathroom and towels. Comfy clean beds, working hairdryer, tea & coffee making facilities in the room. The bloke on reception was friendly and helpful although his informal manner I felt could upset some customers. But were not easily offended and took his casual banter and swearing in good spirit. Breakfast was good and the bar prices were also very reasonable. Belle vue dog track is right across the road. We booked the hotel for a concert at Ethiad. Taxi into Manchester was £7 ish. Great location with car parking and good value.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Stayed there for 2 nights for the Magic rugby weekend, plenty of parking, we left our luggage and checked in later as we were early only problem was the room with luggage in was not locked. Walked to the Etihad about 20 min walk. A few takeaways nearby, great venue if going to the dog racing as it is just opposite, Breakfast was excellent good choice and plenty of food regularly topped up from cereal, cooked breakfast, fruit .yog and pastries e.t.c. Room was clean, could hear the traffic if the window was open, staff very helpful and friendly.Already booked again.

Room Tip: towards the back of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

we have stopped at this hotel 4 times now,jls concert,s and magic weekends(rugby league) included .good clean friendly hotel with a great breakfast included at a reasonable price.the hotel has a free carpark and a bus stop outside the hotel which mean's that you can park up and enjoy whatever it is that has brought you to manchester,the rail link into town is about 500 yard's away. (the bus is easier)
it's about 15/20 minute's walk to the etihad stadium (£7.30 taxi).
very reasonable bar and restaurant price's.
we can thouroughly reccomend this hotel ,and we will hopefully be using it again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank denisatesk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester East
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Manchester Sportcity
Travelodge Manchester Sportcity
#62 of 121 in Manchester
275 reviews
1.8 mi away
Chancellors Hotel
Chancellors Hotel
#57 of 121 in Manchester
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Manchester Central Park
2.2 mi away
Hallmark Inn Manchester South
Hallmark Inn Manchester South
#70 of 121 in Manchester
891 reviews
2 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diamond Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diamond Lodge

Address: Hyde Road | Belle Vue, Manchester M18 7BA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 121 Hotels in Manchester
Price Range: $66 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Diamond Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Diamond Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing