We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
Ranked #52 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Reviewed June 23, 2014 via mobile

Fantastic location 2 mins walk from canal street and 5mins to piccadily gardens and shops restaurants allso very close to train station and within walking distance to Manchester arena use Q PARK CARPARK behind hotel wich would of cost £40 for 2days parking with discount from hotel was only £20 rooms were good great aircon nice beds staff very pleasant breakfast £7.99 buffet style smoking area at back of hotel and alcohol served till 2 am very clean tidy reception modern.. There is allso a shuttle bus u can get from piccadily station or near hotel for coronation Street tour £16.99 for the tour of the studios

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank deckham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisManchester, General Manager at Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2014

Dear deckham,

Thank you very much for your kind review. It is much appreciated and I can assure you that my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Kind regards,

Paul Upton | General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,665)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

766 - 772 of 1,665 reviews

Reviewed June 22, 2014

Stayed at the Ibis hotel last week. The hotel was clean, my room was good. The only thing wrong was that the mattress on the bed was like a sofa bed one which if you are only staying for a night is fine, unlike me who was staying for 4 nights. I had read a previous review saying take own towels glad I did as the towels in the room are small.

It is 10 min walk away from the City Centre, plenty to eat and drink nearby. I did eat in the hotel one night, service was very good, food was average. Breakfast however was very good, loads of choice.

Staff were helpful and friendly. All in all if staying at ibis its good for an night stay, I would prefer somewhere else for a weeks stay.

Room Tip: Pick a room at the back as it is fairly quiet and take your own towel for after your shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natalie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisManchester, General Manager at Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2014

Dear fishinglady73,

Thanks for your review. I am glad you had a good stay with us. See you on your next trip hopefully!

Kind regards,

Paul Upton | General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2014

Central Manchester hotel, 10 minutes walk from Piccadilly station. Plenty to eat and drink nearby.My room was a bit noisy on the front - Portland Street is a busy road, but the room was clean and spacious enough, if a bit hot in the night. The staff were helpful and friendly. The breakfast was a good surprise, I wasn't expecting an English buffet. Other budget hotels ought to be able to provide the same. For the price this was a good hotel

Room Tip: If you are offered a quiet room take it. The rooms to the back of the hotel are the quietest
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kevin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisManchester, General Manager at Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2014

Dear Kevin W,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit. I look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Paul Upton | General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2014

IBIS budget hotel was found to be excellent - location perfect, service great, staff very friendly - ask from the staff a card for the chip taxi company! Good price too for central Manchester. Would definitely stay here again‎

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ronen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisManchester, General Manager at Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2014

Dear Ronen J,

Thank you very much for your kind review. It is much appreciated and I can assure you that my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Kind regards,

Paul Upton | General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2014

Great location with friendly staff. Short walk from train station also Coronation street tour studios which we were visiting..clean rooms,comfortable bed, excellent breakfast.. We couldn't have asked for much more.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank ginnyreid5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisManchester, General Manager at Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2014

Dear ginnyreid5,

Thank you for your kind comments and compliments – I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Paul Upton | General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2014

The wife and I stayed in the Ibis in Portland Road Manchester, We both agreed the hotel was the worst we had ever stayed in, no remote for the TV, the air cooler stopped working during the night and the room was so warm is was hard to get a good sleep, never again, when we checked out, I had to ask for my deposit back, they didn't check the room before giving it back, could this be why there was no TV remote when we checked in?
Told us we would get half price parking at the rear of the hotel, never happened

Room Tip: stay clear
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisManchester, General Manager at Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2014

Dear mike S,

Once again, I am sorry that on this occasion that you were disappointed with your stay. I treat all feedback with the utmost seriousness and can confirm we have completed an investigation in to this matter further to you contacting us recently. My team are available 24/7 and will always be happy to assist with any issues to resolve them at the time for you too.

Kind regards,

Paul Upton | General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2014

The rooms are clean and comfortable but have not been designed with females in mind. The shelf under the window is perfect for applying make up, the power point there is ideal for A hairdryer but unfortunately there is no mirror! It is at the opposite side of the room. The staff were all great, as was the breakfast. It is ideally situated. I would go back but remember to pack a mirror.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scoda15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisManchester, General Manager at Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2014

Dear scoda15,

Thank you very much for your kind review. It is much appreciated and I can assure you that my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Kind regards,

Paul Upton | General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.3 mi away
ibis Manchester Centre Princess Street Hotel
0.8 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street
0.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Manchester
Jurys Inn Manchester
#55 of 120 in Manchester
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ibis Styles Manchester Portland Street
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester East
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street

Address: 96 Portland Street, Manchester M1 4GX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Price Range: $52 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street 2*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street is located in the centre of Manchester, close to all major attractions, as well as the shopping areas, nightlife and Old Trafford. The hotel offers 127 inviting, modern rooms with Free WiFi throughout. 24/7 Meal and Drinks Menu is available and the friendly bar is perfect for a nightcap. Piccadilly and Oxford Road stations are just a few minutes from the hotel. Reduced Parking rates available at Q-Park 75 St James Street, M1 4LX at the rear of the hotel The hotel is ideally located close to the Manchester Arena and Manchester Central, as well as the city centre Universities. Manchester International Airport is 17.1 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Manchester City Centre Hotel Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing