We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time in Manchester.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
Ranked #52 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Reviewed May 7, 2014

The hotel is easy to get to from Piccadilly Station just jump on the purple route no 3 free metroshuttle it stops opposite the hotel.

I arrived late afternoon was checked in quickly and given all the information that I needed about the hotel. I have only ever stayed at the Ibis economy in Birmingham and this hotel was a pleasant surprise.

Room big and bright and quiet despite facing a busy street, lots of storage space. Was also quite comfortable despite lack of armchair.

Location wise was perfect was attending an event in Manchester's gay village which is a 5/10 minute walk, its around the corner from China Town and slightly further on the city's art gallery and Albert Square.

Has a Subway sandwich shop on the ground floor as well as an Indian restaurant and countless Chinese all you can eat buffets and restaurants also a very nice and hectic kebab shop perfect food after several pints.

The breakfast was good and filling didn't need to eat anything else till late afternoon.

Would stay there again.

The staff seemed to be genuinely friendly and were helpful

Room Tip: Not a room tip but I recommend the Wong Wong Chinese Bakery just around the corner as you turn left...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank stevoplymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisManchester, Guest Relations Manager at Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2014

Thank you for your fantastic comments. I was delighted you enjoyed your stay at Ibis Manchester Centre and look forward to welcoming you again in the very near future.

Kind Regards,
Clare Doyle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,707)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

831 - 837 of 1,707 reviews

Reviewed May 6, 2014

It was a nice hotel although it was only a 2-stars-hotel. The stay was comfortable, the staff were helpful, the wifi was excellent and the breakfast was good. Above all, its central location was so attractive.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
Thank Sherif F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisManchester, Guest Relations Manager at Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2014

Thank you for your kind comments. I was very happy you enjoyed your stay at Ibis Manchester Centre and hope you will visit us again in the very near future.

Kind Regards,
Clare Doyle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank timh64
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
IbisManchester, Guest Relations Manager at Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 27, 2014

Easy to find. Central location and very convenient. I have to say I enjoyed the lovely breakfast. Walking distance to shops and restaurants. The hotel was clean, tidy and the bed was very comfortable. Simple stay. Good for a couple of nights stay. Would recommend.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
Thank TheLuckyWonderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisManchester, General Manager at Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2014

Dear TheLuckyWonderer,

Thank you for your kind comments and compliments – I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Paul Upton | General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014

Ibis Portland Street is the right place to stay. infact i stayed with my whole family there. we had three bed rooms. Location wise the best. if you are coming in by flight it is just 20 mins by cab, if you catch the train it is 20 mins and at the station you get a free bus that drops you right in the front of the hotel. As for the rooms . they a of a good size. tea and coffee in the room,
the only problem was the street noise when the window is opened.
Otherwise if you need a hotel in Manchester the Ibis Portland is the best place to get in.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank sadiqstorm2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisManchester, Guest Relations Manager at Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2014

Thank you for your great feedback I was happy you enjoyed your stay and hope you will visit us again.

Kind Regards,
Clare Doyle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank pmevans
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
IbisManchester, Guest Relations Manager at Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 22, 2014

Overall: this place is a solid 4/5. Great value, clean, very comfortable beds and pillows. However, it lacks the amenities that the 'non-budget' hotel varieties might offer (e.g. irons). If this doesn't bother you, you'll find this hotel is a perfect fit.

THE GOOD: The location is perfect; right in the middle of the city, between the pubs and clubs on the canal, the old buildings on Oxford st., and the downtown shopping areas. My room was what you'd expect: clean, simple, and 'budget'. The bed was actually very comfortable, and the room was quiet (when the windows were closed, that is). Tea and instant coffee were provided along with a kettle, which was a nice surprise! The bathroom was also very clean.

THE BAD: My room (337) had poor internet reception, which was frustrating at times. I had to go down to the lobby a few times in order to send off important emails. There are no irons for the rooms, but instead there is a weird, shared, 'ironing room' on the 3rd floor that you have to carry yours clothes to, and wait in a cue in order to iron them. Also, if you plan to check-out of the hotel but leave your bag, it costs £2 for them to keep it for the day, which is annoying considering this is a free service 99% of the time. That being said, these aren't deal-breakers, just little annoyances.

OVERALL: 4/5. I would definitely stay here again. The rooms are utilitarian; sleep and shower and TV, but not much flash. So, for the price, it was a quiet, clean, safe, and comfortable space. Perfect if you plan to come as a single person or as a couple, and you'll be out and about seeing the city, and you need a comfortable place to crash at the end of the day. However, if you're going to spend a lot of time in the hotel room, this isn't really the place for you (poor internet reception, lack of amenities, no fitness centre or pool, etc.).

Room Tip: Room 337 had a poor internet connection. However, it was at the end of the hallway, so it was very q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CdnGlobeTrotter_84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisManchester, Guest Relations Manager at Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2014

Thank you for your great feedback. I was very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and that your stay was pleasant and comfortable.

In regards to our ironing facilities we offer a ironing room as more convenient for the guest as in past the ironing boards would either disappear or become damaged plus also for Health & Safety the Iron is controlled with an automatic cut off to avoid any damage.

With regards to the internet facilities I can only apologise for the inconvenience and can assure you that I have passed on your feedback to the internet provider who has looked into this matter.

Ibis has introduced over the past 6 months to all UK hotels to provide a charge for all left luggage upon check out of £2.00 per bag and this is for all guests subject to availability.

Once again thank you for your feedback and look forward to welcoming you again in the very near future.

Kind Regards,
Clare Doyle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.3 mi away
ibis Manchester Centre Princess Street Hotel
0.8 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street
0.3 mi away
Ibis Styles Manchester Portland Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Manchester
Jurys Inn Manchester
#33 of 120 in Manchester
248 reviews
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street

Address: 96 Portland Street, Manchester M1 4GX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Price Range: $50 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street 2*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street is located in the centre of Manchester, close to all major attractions, as well as the shopping areas, nightlife and Old Trafford. The hotel offers 127 inviting, modern rooms with Free WiFi throughout. 24/7 Meal and Drinks Menu is available and the friendly bar is perfect for a nightcap. Piccadilly and Oxford Road stations are just a few minutes from the hotel. Reduced Parking rates available at Q-Park 75 St James Street, M1 4LX at the rear of the hotel The hotel is ideally located close to the Manchester Arena and Manchester Central, as well as the city centre Universities. Manchester International Airport is 17.1 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Accorhotels.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Manchester City Centre Hotel Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing