We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good central location and pleasant staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
Ranked #52 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Reviewed April 20, 2014

This hotel is very well placed for central Manchester and from an external noise point of view you wouldn't necessarily know you were in a city centre. The room and especially the pod style bathroom were very clean, the bed was comfy and for a busy hotel it was very quiet and peaceful. The staff were all very pleasant and breakfast was fine -a reasonable selection, real not plastic sausages and very nice French bread.
It is a budget hotel so not many frills (all in one shampoo / shower gel, only one towel each, limited clothes storage) but for the price was very good and ideal for a two night city break.

Room Tip: We were on the 4th floor looking out over the back of the hotel which may have been quieter than the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SJB45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisManchester, Guest Relations Manager at Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2014

Thank you for your kind comments I was delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you will visit us again in the very near future.

Kind Regards,
Clare Doyle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,708)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

840 - 846 of 1,708 reviews

Reviewed April 19, 2014

Couldn't complain to be honest.
We had a shoestring budget and this hotel works perfect.
Had a good night sleep and breakfast was ok.
Location wise was alright and there is a good Chinese restaurant nearby which serves nice dimsum and a pot of nice hot tea.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wen Jun L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisManchester, Guest Relations Manager at Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2014

Thank you for your wonderful feedback. I was very happy you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you in the very near future.

Kind Regards,
Clare Doyle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2014

Just come back from a one night stay and we were very pleased with the hotel. It was clean, had everything you could ask for. The pod style bathroom was an eye opener! The bed was very comfy. We had a room on the main road and didn't find this an issue at all. Very close to the gay village, lots of pubs on your doorstep. A good 20min walk from the wheel and the centre of manchester.
Overall, very pleased. No issues at all and would certainly return.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank elenahick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisManchester, Guest Relations Manager at Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2014

Thank you for your lovely feedback. I was delighted you had a comfortable night stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Kind Regards,
Clare Doyle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2014

I stayed here for a night on a business trip. Rate was good at £56 including breakfast so wasn't expecting much. Room was ok with weird stains on the carpet (floor 1) and had a disabled room, so lots of cords everywhere which were right near the light switches, so very easy to raise alarms by accident! Tea and a kettle provided in room, albeit with plastic spoons which is a bit weird.

Breakfast was fine, with cooked breakfast and cereals on offer.

Very close to train station, and if you want somewhere cheap to stay it does the job. Staff were friendly, and overall good for work trips. If I had to stay here for longer than a few nights, would probably stay at Mecure or Novotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank auditmunki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisManchester, General Manager at Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2014

Dear auditmunki,

Thank you for your feedback. We treat all of our comments with the utmost seriousness and appreciate all feedback. I'm pleased you had a good stay and hope we can welcome you back again in the future.

Kind regards,

Paul Upton | General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2014

Stayed last week - rooms basic and clean, my room overlooked Portland Street which was noisy (people and traffic). Staff pleasant and efficient, breakfast good, coffee machine on the blink but the guys on reception were very good making fresh coffee on demand.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fabatfiftyCambs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisManchester, General Manager at Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2014

Dear fabatfiftyCambs,

Thanks for your review. I am glad you had a good stay with us. See you on your next trip hopefully!

Kind regards,

Paul Upton | General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2014

I stayed here for a business conference for 3 nights in March. Friendly staff, clean rooms and comfortable bed were plus points. Breakfast was good with plenty of options.
Only negative was an extreme feeling of being ripped of when I was charged £1.50 for a standard Mars Bar which I needed in a hurry when my sugar levels went down.
I didn't use the bar for drinks so I don't know what the prices there were like but if the Mars is any kind of indicator.............
The hotel is in a central location and half price parking is available in a multi storey next to the hotel which is shared by Novotel and others.
A good visit

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisManchester, General Manager at Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2014

Dear Brian D,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit to the ibis Manchester Centre, Porltand Street. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we have noted your comments about the price of the chocolate bar, which we will forward to the relevant department for consideration.

Kind regards,

Paul Upton | General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2014

Good staff, clean and the rooms are fine, you know "what you pay for is what you get" type of budget room. Only on this occasion, I was totally ripped off. I stayed on Friday 3rd April for £83.00 (ouch) and Saturday 4th April for a whopping £145. When I responded to the Accor Hotels online customer satisfaction form, complaining of their very high prices, they replied that they were busy that weekend and their prices fell in line with similar hotels. My advice to Ibis is for them to stop copying their competitors and start differentiating themselves, in what is, a very competitive budget hotel market. Please remember this was a booking for a very, very basic room, on a room only basis. Although for a budget hotel it was OK, I would not recommend this hotel to my friends, business partners, or TripAdvisor travellers, all the while Ibis (or Accor) clearly have a strategy which is all about exorbitant profiteering, rather than giving their customers reasonable value. It's a shocking way to go about their business.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisManchester, General Manager at Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2014

Dear Peter L,

I am sorry that on this occasion that you were disappointed with the rate available during your stay. I treat all feedback with the utmost seriousness and as previously advised, we do closely monitor our rates in effort to offer the best value.

Kind regards,

Paul Upton | General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.3 mi away
ibis Manchester Centre Princess Street Hotel
0.8 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street
0.3 mi away
Ibis Styles Manchester Portland Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Manchester
Jurys Inn Manchester
#33 of 120 in Manchester
250 reviews
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street

Address: 96 Portland Street, Manchester M1 4GX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Price Range: $50 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street 2*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street is located in the centre of Manchester, close to all major attractions, as well as the shopping areas, nightlife and Old Trafford. The hotel offers 127 inviting, modern rooms with Free WiFi throughout. 24/7 Meal and Drinks Menu is available and the friendly bar is perfect for a nightcap. Piccadilly and Oxford Road stations are just a few minutes from the hotel. Reduced Parking rates available at Q-Park 75 St James Street, M1 4LX at the rear of the hotel The hotel is ideally located close to the Manchester Arena and Manchester Central, as well as the city centre Universities. Manchester International Airport is 17.1 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Accorhotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Manchester City Centre Hotel Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing