We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ok budget hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
Ranked #52 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Reviewed March 22, 2013

it's saving grace it was cheap for one night. Not a patch on a Premier Inn though. Basic and clean, could do with gauze curtains on windows. We over looked the Novotel and couldn't have the bedroom curtains open as we had no privacy.
All in all an ok stay but not one that I'd particularly want to repeat.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank toniShanghai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisManchester, General Manager at Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Thank you for your very constrictive feedback.
I am very sorry that you found our hotel very basic. However, at the same time I am very happy that you have noticed how much attention we pay on our cleaning standards and to provide good value for money prices to our guests.

Many thanks again
Ioannis Koletakis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,707)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,064 - 1,070 of 1,707 reviews

Reviewed March 18, 2013

Average hotel on a exceptional location, close to Oxford Road Station, Convention centre, and number of city centre attractions. Rooms have been freshly painted and smelled chemical - I was given different room with some hesitation. I think one could do better in Manchester for the money so shop around.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank stalx310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisManchester, General Manager at Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Thank you for your feedback.

I was very sorry to hear that we checked you in a room that was still freshly painted but at the same time I am please to let you know that at ibis we are constantly try to update and spring clean our bedrooms in order to keep then at the highest possible standards.
Ones again thank you for your comment and looking forward to welcoming you back at the Ibis Manchester Centre very soon.

Kind Regards,
Ioannis Koletakis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

I paid £120 for one night. The hotel is quite basic. My room was clean but the carpets could really do with replacing as stained and dirty. In comparison to other chain hotels in the city centre of a similar price i would expect more for the price. i would choose a different hotel next time.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank D R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisManchester, General Manager at Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at the Ibis Manchester City Centre, but I was very disappointed to hear that we did not exceed your expectations. Please accept my sincerest apologies.

Ibis Hotels operate a flexible pricing policy, as with low cost airlines, the price depends very much on levels demands. This Policy allows us to promote very attractive prices on some days, but prices are higher on days when there is higher demand. This usually revolves around specific events in the area. As ever from a commercial perspective, price is always subject to supply and demand.

Once again thank you for taking the time to give the hotel your valuable feedback and look forward to welcoming you back at Ibis Manchester Centre in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Ioannis Koletakis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

Ideal for nights out and football stays. Very clean, great staff, value for money, we even sat at the bar drinking lattes after our night out. Excellent for transport links and the area has plenty to offer. The hotel was clean and welcoming

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ms B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisManchester, General Manager at Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Thank you for your very kind words. They are very much appreciated and my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed yourselves. I look forward to welcoming you back to Ibis Manchester Centre in the future.

Kind regards,

Ioannis Koletakis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Used the Ibis, Portland Street to attend a football match. It is very central and in an ideal location for the city centre pubs, shopping and Picadilly Station. The rooms are basic but clean and excellent value.

All in all, ideal hotel for attending the football or concert and so on in Manchester.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank doubledee_mufc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisManchester, General Manager at Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2013

Thank you very much for your review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit at Ibis Manchester Centre. I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,
Ioannis Koletakis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

There are a number of Ibis hotels in Manchester, situated around the city centre and we have used a few of them in the past. We have used the Portland Street Ibis in Manchester's city centre on a number of occasions and have always been satisfied.

The hotel does not have its own car park but the Piazza NCP Car Park is right beside the hotel, with the entrance in the narrow St James Street close by. The hotel can give you a discount voucher to reduce the cost of parking by about 50%.

Checking in did take a little time on the Saturday afternoon when we arrived: although there were three check-in desks, only one member of staff was on duty! However, before too long we were on our way up to the fourth floor and our room.

As usual, the room was clean, well decorated in the company colours and in a good state of maintenance. All of the rooms seem to be of a single design: of a generous size, with a bathroom cubicle in the corner by the door. There is no bath but the shower is so big you could have a party in it, if you felt so inclined!

The double bed is very large and perfectly warm and comfortable. There are no drawers for you clothes but there is adequate hanging and shelf space for a short stay. We certainly had no problems for our one night stop over.

There is a TV but these seem still to be, throughout the hotel chain, the old “square” type screens. I am surprised that Ibis still hasn't swapped these out for modern wide-screen ones. On the TV you can get not just the usual although somewhat restricted TV channels, but also films and even the Internet; a wireless keyboard is provided. All Internet services, whether on the TV or on your own PC, via wired or wireless connection, comes at an extra cost.

The room also has tea and coffee making facilities provided although the supply of tea bags is a little restricted. You can ask for extras at Reception though, if you run out. There is also a hair-dryer provided, in case you didn't bring one with you.

We were in Manchester to go out for a meal with our son and his girlfriend. On returning we decided to have a nightcap at the bar before retiring. This was a little bit of an odd experience: the bar attendant seemed a little confused and put out by there being no brandy glasses. She seemed unable to decide what to do until we told here that we really didn't mind what shape glass it came in! There was a reasonable range of drinks available. Be aware that if you have booked and paid for your room in advance on the company website, it isn't possible to charge extras to your room!

We enjoyed a very good night's sleep with no disturbances at all and woke refreshed and ready for breakfast. Breakfast is provided in the lobby beside Reception and is the usual buffet style. There is loads of choice available and you can have cereals, cold meats and cheeses or a full cooked English style breakfast, if you choose.

So, in general this was another pleasant experience with Ibis and this hotel in particular. We would still have no qualms about coming back here once again, next time we are in Manchester.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grahamft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisManchester, General Manager at Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2013

Thank you for your lovely review. I am always pleased to hear that we have been able to meet or exceed our guest’s expectations when they have been to stay time and time again. We work hard to try and remain consistent with our high standards so I am delighted to read your review.

For future reference, we do offer credit facilities at the hotel and we can take a credit card authorisation if you wish to charge items to your room. This applies to all reservations including pre-paid bookings.

I hope we remain your first choice in Manchester and will look forward to welcoming you back sometime soon.

With kind regards,
Ioannis Koletakis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

An excellent hotel, located within walking distance of everything I wanted to do and see. Having no restaurant enabled me to indulge by tastes for all things in the chinese food lines.
The staff were friendly, helpful and even when run off their feet unruffled

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank cochred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisManchester, General Manager at Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2013

Thank you for your very kind words. They are very much appreciated and my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed yourselves at ibis Manchester centre. I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Ioannis Koletakis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.3 mi away
ibis Manchester Centre Princess Street Hotel
0.8 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street
0.3 mi away
Ibis Styles Manchester Portland Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Manchester
Jurys Inn Manchester
#34 of 120 in Manchester
247 reviews
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street

Address: 96 Portland Street, Manchester M1 4GX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Price Range: $50 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street 2*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street is located in the centre of Manchester, close to all major attractions, as well as the shopping areas, nightlife and Old Trafford. The hotel offers 127 inviting, modern rooms with Free WiFi throughout. 24/7 Meal and Drinks Menu is available and the friendly bar is perfect for a nightcap. Piccadilly and Oxford Road stations are just a few minutes from the hotel. Reduced Parking rates available at Q-Park 75 St James Street, M1 4LX at the rear of the hotel The hotel is ideally located close to the Manchester Arena and Manchester Central, as well as the city centre Universities. Manchester International Airport is 17.1 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Accorhotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Manchester City Centre Hotel Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing